Customer Reviews


350 Reviews
5 star:
 (307)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BLU RAY REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Green Mile probably not that same opinion as most but I actually enjoy this better than Darabont's other epic, The Shawshank Redemption. It should have won Oscars but didn't down to 2000 being a lucrative year of classy movies. For instance, if this film was out last year, Avatar and The Hurt Locker wouldn't have had a lookin'. Michael Clarke Duncan, in his first...
Published on 16 April 2010 by The usual suspect

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Loved the DVD - Hoped the Blu Ray would be better - but found the picture very dark through-out and had to watch the disc with most visual enhancing settings switched off, just to get some contrast in most scenes. I tried to disc in various players (including PC) wth the same result.
Published on 29 Sep 2012 by Stephen J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BLU RAY REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 16 April 2010
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Green Mile probably not that same opinion as most but I actually enjoy this better than Darabont's other epic, The Shawshank Redemption. It should have won Oscars but didn't down to 2000 being a lucrative year of classy movies. For instance, if this film was out last year, Avatar and The Hurt Locker wouldn't have had a lookin'. Michael Clarke Duncan, in his first major role was robbed of a best supporting actor Oscar really (Michael Caine was just being Michael Caine).

For the HD part, I can report that it's a great transfer! I've never noticed just how much all the actors were sweating until now - the detail level is that much higher. Mr Jingles looks fantastic - on the same level as Peter Jacksons King Kong in detail. Some of the limitted amount of outdoor scenes away from 'The Mile' aren't top quality but still the vast majority of the quality is excellent. The extra's are SD from the DVD - it's well worth watching how they did Mr Jingles in the days before CGI took over, it's a refreshing change. Audio on the DVD was great and it's great here also but The Green Mile isn't a movie for audio muscle. As long as the dialogue is clear that's all we really need. The thunder and lightning clap is the only place HD audio comes into play.

Region Free

Audio: Dolby TrueHD English; DD 5.1 English, French, Castilian Spanish, German, Italian; Dolby Surround Portuguese and Turkish

Subs: English; Portuguese; Castilian Spanish; Complex Chinese; Dutch; Danish; Finnish; French; German; Greek; Italian; Korean; Latin Spanish; Norwegian; Swedish; Thai; Turkish and a partridge in a pear tree...

Run time: 188mins of brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours seem like 30 minutes., 31 Aug 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A totally enthralling film. Superb characters, superb story and, as ever, a dash of science fiction sprinkled in from Stephen King (when doesn't he add this to his tales?). And even though John Coffey had this healing power and Paul Edgecombe (Hanks) had proof Coffey didn't murder the two sisters, Coffey was tired of his life and powers and elected to be executed by 'old sparkey.' In the book another great clue to Coffey's innocence was present, yet missing from the film. They found the girl's lunch packs, (food inside linnen cloth wraps tied in a knot at the top to keep it in), and realised a sauasage was missing. Coffey wore no shoes, and when Edgecombe asked why, was told "Can't tie the laces, Boss." So if Coffey was guilty, how did he untie the linen wrap, eat the sauasage and re-tie it? But the movie works just as well without this small point and the time simply slips away watching it, and if you get through it with no emotional charge going through you then you must be dead already - a real tear-jerker yet a beautiful tale of man's humanity to man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun 2007
By 
H. Neilson "macbiggles" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superb movie, subtle, and based on character interactions; that's not to say that "nothing haoppens", but don't expect explosions and car chases! Very fine acting all around.

I have to take issue with a previous reviewer - the 2-disc SE is very good, their are extras on both discs and the film is deliberately split across the two discs so as to increase the bitrate and hence improve the picture quality. Yes, you can cram 4 hours' worth of video material onto one DVD but the quality would be a bit naff - with a long movie like this, or like Peter Jackson's King Kong remake, splitting the feature gives much sharper picture detail ... surely a good thing?

Excellent release of a brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful and breathtaking, with a dash of humour mixed in - mesmerising, 8 May 2007
By 
Charles Edge "A real critic" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The Green Mile is a film with a marvellous and I think important story. With some of the most poignant sentiments seen in film regarding forgiveness and the fear of death and judgement this is a masterpiece of modern cinema, with a soul that never fails to capture the audience.

From the book by Stephen King, the Green Mile is set in post-depression United States and tells the story of six prison guards on death row and their extraordinary encounter with a mysterious felon named John Coffey. The gruesome crime this gigantic man was convicted of seems to head guard Paul Edgecomb (Tom Hanks) and his deputies unfitting of the gentle giant they come to know. As the story seemlessly progresses the mystery around this docile felon is unveiled and Edgecomb is faced with a fearful decision.

This film wonderfully reflects the iniquity of the world and the pain which was so widely caused. The final scenes will be imprinted upon your memory as some of the most powerful scenes even to grace the silver screen, with an end which will chill you to your core.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly brilliant, 5 Mar 2003
By 
Mr Ian Giles (Chepstow, Monmouthshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
When I got this DVD I was dreading sitting through the best part of 3 hours of dreary, dull America in the depression, how wrong could I have been. I was gripped from the very beginning, all of the actors, not just Tom Hanks, made their characters totally believable. The storyline is simply magic, in more ways than one! And is dealt with superbly. Paul, Hanks' Character has, at one stage a severe bladder infection and you can almost feel his pain and discomfort.
You can also feel the fear and dread of the prisoners when they have to face the 'Chair'. the compassion shown by the warders only highlights the awfull reality of the execution, though one of them is, shall we say, a little over cooked!
As the secret of John Coffey is slowly revealed you become more and more gripped by the film, I didn't want this film to end, three hours may seem a long time for a film but I could have sat through six hours of this if I could.
I feel that the music used deserves a mention too, the soundtrack is wonderfully understated and counterpoints the acting beautifully.
For me this is a film I will watch again and again, buy this film and enjoy, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars box of tissues required, 12 Feb 2001
I read the book first, not normally a good idea, but did not know of the making of the film at the time. I was already trying to cast the film and got stuck with John Coffey, I could not think of one person that could possibly make him come to life, of course I was wrong as we have now discovered. I cried at the end of the book, when I went and saw the film, there was not a dry eye in the house but when I watched it on video at home the flood gates opened, I was actually choking. The film leaves out some little details that, although you wouldn't notice if you hadn't read the book, makes the story more of a saga, problem is too have included them would have added hour on film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breakthrough, 21 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Just when i thought i felt no human emotion, this film came along, the only film (besides THAT scene in BAMBI) that has ever made me cry. You have to give it to the directors, the actors, the script writers etc etc, theyve constructed a great realisation of a great book. An innocent man on death row, all the prison guards know that he's innocent, he knows he's innocent. He has the power to remove all pain from a persons body, which triggered me into thinking that this is essentially a modern day Jesus - sacrificing himself re-enactmant. Just this time round, Jesus is black. This is an amazing film, you really begin to care about how the characters feel, and thats something you don't get from most films, if they die, you dont care, but in this film, you really can sympathise with all the characters, apart from one, of course. the lovable rogue.
This is a great film that i encourage everyone to at least watch, if not, buy. It made me cry, you don't want the guy to die at the end, but you know he has no option. Modern Day Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is what you call a movie!!!, 16 Aug 2001
It has to be said, that long films seem very daunting, and usually - they are. The Green Mile however, proves otherwise. The incredible story, which is taken directly from the Stephen King novel, is an magnificant triumph which engrosses the viewer from beginning to end. This is King in his absolute prime.
As for the visual adaptation? It is the most utterly beautiful movie I have ever clapped eyes on. In the words of the director: "This movie really takes me on a journey". The characters are portrayed in absolute perfect form by a full star cast, with each one giving a unique, spot-on performance.
Frank Darabont really knows how to weave each tiny sub-plot into film, which is rather a rarety. The novel's emotion is completely expressed, so if you are watching the film after reading the book, you will not be dissapointed. I also have to give credit for Thomas Newman's brilliant sound score.
This is a sad, scary, funny, mystical movie, which deserves every single credit it is given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not enough stars to rate this film, 27 May 2003
By 
Jenny (Dukinfield, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It would take all the stars in the sky to measure how enjoyable, emotive, shocking, heartstopping, funny and mind occupying this film is. I thoroughly enjoyed, as well as wept my heart out, to this film. The emotions extracted from you throughout this film are provided by the magnificent talents of the director Frank Darabont and numerous mesmerising actors. Frank Darabont preformed a miracle as Screen Writer when interpreting Stephen King's novel. I forget how a few simple words can give you goosebumps when written, and said, in just the right way.
Each character has their personality and traits highlighted, some good, some bad and some very very bad. All the actors constantly unveil their talent by making the audience understand completely how their characters are feeling and what their intent is.
This story incorporates the present day and memories from the 1930s as Paul Edgecomb's (Hanks) intense tale unfolds. The scenes of the outside prison, the cells and of course 'old sparky' where the prisoner's are executed are so cleverly filmed from an amazing set. Look out for a range of brilliant camera angles, which even to my untrained eye looked clever.
Of course this film contains those emotion packed narrative speeches by the principle chararter, but don't assume they will be tacky and unheartfelt as this would be the biggest misjudgement you could make. Each word is relevent and is expressed so genuinely.
Lastly I defy anyone not to recognise the acting talent displayed in this fine film, especially from Sam Rockwell (William 'Wild Bill' Wharton) who's cheeky behaviour is both funny as well as cringingly awful, and Doug Hutchison (Percy Wetmore) who displays such intense feeling and attitude ranging from his arrogance, naivity, obsessiveness, fear and embarassment during the story.
Please do yourself a favour and when you think you're ready to be blown away from every angle and have all your emotions tried and tested, then please please make an effort to watch this film. You will not be disappointed... unless you have no heart.
Only after you've watched it will you too realise that there are just not enough stars in the sky for this unforgettable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars green mile review, 13 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Without doubt the green mile is the best film i have ever seen. But its more than that It is the kind of film that makes you question your own views and opinions . It is beautifuly written and every actor puts in a powerfull perfotmance. I could watch this film again and again without it ever losing apeal. It truely is a masterpiece that touches on every emotion, it combines humour and desperate sadness seamlessly which given the subject matter is surely a work of genius. it makes you laugh and cry throughout. TOM HANKS as in any performance is brilliant. I have enjoyed many films but this one I truely love
It is stunning and a credit to everyone involved
I challenge anyone to watch this film and not be moved by it power and in awe of its brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Mile [DVD] [1999]
The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] by Frank Darabont (DVD - 2000)
£4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews