Customer Reviews


409 Reviews
5 star:
 (359)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BLU RAY REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Green Mile probably not that same opinion as most but I actually enjoy this better than Darabont's other epic, The Shawshank Redemption. It should have won Oscars but didn't down to 2000 being a lucrative year of classy movies. For instance, if this film was out last year, Avatar and The Hurt Locker wouldn't have had a lookin'. Michael Clarke Duncan, in his first...
Published on 16 April 2010 by The usual suspect

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Loved the DVD - Hoped the Blu Ray would be better - but found the picture very dark through-out and had to watch the disc with most visual enhancing settings switched off, just to get some contrast in most scenes. I tried to disc in various players (including PC) wth the same result.
Published on 29 Sept. 2012 by Stephen J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BLU RAY REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 16 April 2010
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Green Mile probably not that same opinion as most but I actually enjoy this better than Darabont's other epic, The Shawshank Redemption. It should have won Oscars but didn't down to 2000 being a lucrative year of classy movies. For instance, if this film was out last year, Avatar and The Hurt Locker wouldn't have had a lookin'. Michael Clarke Duncan, in his first major role was robbed of a best supporting actor Oscar really (Michael Caine was just being Michael Caine).

For the HD part, I can report that it's a great transfer! I've never noticed just how much all the actors were sweating until now - the detail level is that much higher. Mr Jingles looks fantastic - on the same level as Peter Jacksons King Kong in detail. Some of the limitted amount of outdoor scenes away from 'The Mile' aren't top quality but still the vast majority of the quality is excellent. The extra's are SD from the DVD - it's well worth watching how they did Mr Jingles in the days before CGI took over, it's a refreshing change. Audio on the DVD was great and it's great here also but The Green Mile isn't a movie for audio muscle. As long as the dialogue is clear that's all we really need. The thunder and lightning clap is the only place HD audio comes into play.

Region Free

Audio: Dolby TrueHD English; DD 5.1 English, French, Castilian Spanish, German, Italian; Dolby Surround Portuguese and Turkish

Subs: English; Portuguese; Castilian Spanish; Complex Chinese; Dutch; Danish; Finnish; French; German; Greek; Italian; Korean; Latin Spanish; Norwegian; Swedish; Thai; Turkish and a partridge in a pear tree...

Run time: 188mins of brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'AN OUTSTANDING MOVIE EXPIERIENCE', 5 May 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
this is another one of my re-visited classic's, though 1999'
perhaps a relatively recent movie gem.
now living in a residential home, former prison officer 'Paul
Edgecomb' was in charge of prisoners on 'death-row' at 'Cold
Mountain' penitentiary in the mid-thirties,'Paul' recalls with a fellow
resident his experience of the time 'John Coffey' who had apparently
killed two young sisters, becomes a prisoner on death-row.
'Paul' had been in much discomfort with a urine infection, the
new resident on death-row recognises 'Paul has a problem, 'John'
grabs hold of 'Paul' through the bars on his cell, a short while
later letting go, 'Paul's' problem is no more.
'John Coffey' appears to posses unexplainable powers.
'Paul Edgecomb' begins to question whether or not this gentle giant
could have committed the crime that had put him on death-row'
'John' appears to only have good intentions, along with his
remarkable gift.
a terrific story that develops into a very moving experience.
the film does include several horrific sequences.
those of you that have seen it will know just how good it is,
certainly worth watching again, those that have yet to see it,
the film is genuinely worth taking time-out to watch.
'justice for some but not for all........it truly is.......
Quite a Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Steven king adaptation., 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
An abundantly loyal Stephen King adaptation (something of a rarity) that manages to balance a ton of heart and an equal amount of weirdness without getting the two hopelessly tangled along the way.

It can be blunt and telegraphed at times, it's seriously overlong at just past three hours, and the dialog has moments of real weakness, but it's able to counter all that with a serious knack for tension, a truckload of bittersweet feelings and some fantastic central performances.

Tom Hanks and Michael Clarke Duncan are the most visible, and work an easy connection with the cameras in two deeply sympathetic roles, but Sam Rockwell also hands in a terrific part as a give-no-damns lunatic whose wild, vicious, unhinged attitude works in strong contrast to his cellmates' general resignation.

Tough to watch in places, especially as the mile's population begins to dwindle, but generally arresting and intensely emotional - there isn't anything else quite like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Green Mile, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This DVD is perhaps one of the all time greats.I have been a fan of Tom Hanks for many years,and have found him to be one of the most versatile,and talented actors I have had the pleasure to watch,he reminds me very much of our very own David Jason whom I first saw in a play in the west end called 'No sex please were British'which is a comedy.I recognised then a person who obviously had read his script well and actually becomes the character he portrays.Tom Hanks has these same qualities and this is what makes him such a compelling actor to watch,from comedy to drama.
I would recommend all his films to any 16-90 year old person simply for the range of his films and the absolute enjoyment of seeing a truly great actor at work from Forest Gump right through to The saving of Private Ryan.
I'd like to thank Amazon.co.uk for their excellent and straight forward service and also their range of dvds and books,being new to the internet I was dubious of buying online and giving out my banking details but Amazon put me at ease,and I now look for ward to using them again.
yours
D Valpy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous. Tear jerker., 7 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I have read the book and I always prefer books to films. However on this occasion the film truly surpassed my expectations. Excellent acting and you so wanted a diff ending for Coffey. Some great well known actors in the film. Truly enjoyable. Yes its long at over 3hrs, but send kids to bed early, switch off phone and curl up on sofa with box of tissues and enjoy.

I wont tell you the story- other reviewers have done that. It does explore the characters well. Some you will love, some you will hate. Everybody gets what they deserve except Coffey. He is a 'simple' man but touches the lives of all on the green mile. I liked to think of him as an angel thats just in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Its different from Shawshank. They often get thrown in together as 'the prison films'. Each film is unquestionably magnificent but completely different. It would be like comparing Deerhunter and Forest Gump as 'vietnam war films'

If you watch this film and cant rate it 4 or more stars, then you have no heart or soul. And had better stick to Jeremy Kyle....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long journey but utterly worth it., 6 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is delightfully enriching, which is a skill in itself given the truly dreadful setting and happenings.
The journey is one of battered souls, both prisoners and guards, battered out of normal human responses by circumstance and cynacism. It is set in depression struck Louisianna.
John Coffey and his great gift challenge many assumptions and bring hope were it would ordinarily be lost, curing sickness, giving life when none could hope for it and ultimately righting wrongs and evil doing.
For John his gift is a double edged sword for with it's truth it brings horror and with it's empathy it leaves no room for his own emotional world. Part of John's journey is not simply to share his gift but show it's warts and to convey his need to escape it, but here lies the dilemma for the guards and for Edgecombe in particular. In granting John his escape is he condemming himself and his colleagues? and if so what to?
A truly amazing drama and a great working of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary film - one of the best I have ever seen!, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
David P. Daish (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is an immensely powerful film on so many levels.

In spite of its 3 hour length, it not once gets boring or drags. Although the subject matter is grim, life on Death Row in the 1930s depression, this film manages to be funny, tragic, touching, horrific and heartwarming through it's many remarkable scenes.

The acting is first-rate, all the characters have depth and maintain interest throughout. Marvellous sharp screenplay.

Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent 5 stars no doubt, 23 April 2002
this film was excellently portrayed, beautifully acted, funny, moving, and any other words you can think of to describe a truly magnificent film.
Hanks is first class as is all other actors playing their characters, the characters in turn are also second to none but that would be the credit to the amazing Stephen King. The special effects are quality and there is no weaknesses throughout the whole film. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun. 2007
By 
H. Neilson "macbiggles" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superb movie, subtle, and based on character interactions; that's not to say that "nothing haoppens", but don't expect explosions and car chases! Very fine acting all around.

I have to take issue with a previous reviewer - the 2-disc SE is very good, their are extras on both discs and the film is deliberately split across the two discs so as to increase the bitrate and hence improve the picture quality. Yes, you can cram 4 hours' worth of video material onto one DVD but the quality would be a bit naff - with a long movie like this, or like Peter Jackson's King Kong remake, splitting the feature gives much sharper picture detail ... surely a good thing?

Excellent release of a brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly brilliant, 5 Mar. 2003
By 
Mr Ian Giles (Chepstow, Monmouthshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
When I got this DVD I was dreading sitting through the best part of 3 hours of dreary, dull America in the depression, how wrong could I have been. I was gripped from the very beginning, all of the actors, not just Tom Hanks, made their characters totally believable. The storyline is simply magic, in more ways than one! And is dealt with superbly. Paul, Hanks' Character has, at one stage a severe bladder infection and you can almost feel his pain and discomfort.
You can also feel the fear and dread of the prisoners when they have to face the 'Chair'. the compassion shown by the warders only highlights the awfull reality of the execution, though one of them is, shall we say, a little over cooked!
As the secret of John Coffey is slowly revealed you become more and more gripped by the film, I didn't want this film to end, three hours may seem a long time for a film but I could have sat through six hours of this if I could.
I feel that the music used deserves a mention too, the soundtrack is wonderfully understated and counterpoints the acting beautifully.
For me this is a film I will watch again and again, buy this film and enjoy, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Mile [DVD] [1999]
The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] by Frank Darabont (DVD - 2000)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews