Customer Reviews


365 Reviews
5 star:
 (320)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BLU RAY REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Green Mile probably not that same opinion as most but I actually enjoy this better than Darabont's other epic, The Shawshank Redemption. It should have won Oscars but didn't down to 2000 being a lucrative year of classy movies. For instance, if this film was out last year, Avatar and The Hurt Locker wouldn't have had a lookin'. Michael Clarke Duncan, in his first...
Published on 16 April 2010 by The usual suspect

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Loved the DVD - Hoped the Blu Ray would be better - but found the picture very dark through-out and had to watch the disc with most visual enhancing settings switched off, just to get some contrast in most scenes. I tried to disc in various players (including PC) wth the same result.
Published on 29 Sept. 2012 by Stephen J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BLU RAY REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 16 April 2010
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Green Mile probably not that same opinion as most but I actually enjoy this better than Darabont's other epic, The Shawshank Redemption. It should have won Oscars but didn't down to 2000 being a lucrative year of classy movies. For instance, if this film was out last year, Avatar and The Hurt Locker wouldn't have had a lookin'. Michael Clarke Duncan, in his first major role was robbed of a best supporting actor Oscar really (Michael Caine was just being Michael Caine).

For the HD part, I can report that it's a great transfer! I've never noticed just how much all the actors were sweating until now - the detail level is that much higher. Mr Jingles looks fantastic - on the same level as Peter Jacksons King Kong in detail. Some of the limitted amount of outdoor scenes away from 'The Mile' aren't top quality but still the vast majority of the quality is excellent. The extra's are SD from the DVD - it's well worth watching how they did Mr Jingles in the days before CGI took over, it's a refreshing change. Audio on the DVD was great and it's great here also but The Green Mile isn't a movie for audio muscle. As long as the dialogue is clear that's all we really need. The thunder and lightning clap is the only place HD audio comes into play.

Region Free

Audio: Dolby TrueHD English; DD 5.1 English, French, Castilian Spanish, German, Italian; Dolby Surround Portuguese and Turkish

Subs: English; Portuguese; Castilian Spanish; Complex Chinese; Dutch; Danish; Finnish; French; German; Greek; Italian; Korean; Latin Spanish; Norwegian; Swedish; Thai; Turkish and a partridge in a pear tree...

Run time: 188mins of brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun. 2007
By 
H. Neilson "macbiggles" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superb movie, subtle, and based on character interactions; that's not to say that "nothing haoppens", but don't expect explosions and car chases! Very fine acting all around.

I have to take issue with a previous reviewer - the 2-disc SE is very good, their are extras on both discs and the film is deliberately split across the two discs so as to increase the bitrate and hence improve the picture quality. Yes, you can cram 4 hours' worth of video material onto one DVD but the quality would be a bit naff - with a long movie like this, or like Peter Jackson's King Kong remake, splitting the feature gives much sharper picture detail ... surely a good thing?

Excellent release of a brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly brilliant, 5 Mar. 2003
By 
Mr Ian Giles (Chepstow, Monmouthshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
When I got this DVD I was dreading sitting through the best part of 3 hours of dreary, dull America in the depression, how wrong could I have been. I was gripped from the very beginning, all of the actors, not just Tom Hanks, made their characters totally believable. The storyline is simply magic, in more ways than one! And is dealt with superbly. Paul, Hanks' Character has, at one stage a severe bladder infection and you can almost feel his pain and discomfort.
You can also feel the fear and dread of the prisoners when they have to face the 'Chair'. the compassion shown by the warders only highlights the awfull reality of the execution, though one of them is, shall we say, a little over cooked!
As the secret of John Coffey is slowly revealed you become more and more gripped by the film, I didn't want this film to end, three hours may seem a long time for a film but I could have sat through six hours of this if I could.
I feel that the music used deserves a mention too, the soundtrack is wonderfully understated and counterpoints the acting beautifully.
For me this is a film I will watch again and again, buy this film and enjoy, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot disappoint the human soul, 1 Feb. 2002
This was fantastic - and I'd only expected some drivvel from Stephen King about strange, scary beasties ands mad people 'out to get you'...but oh my God, this was such a great evening's entertainrment (as G dabbya Bush would type -oops!) I would recommend it MOST to people who, like me, normally snub Tom Hanks an' his weepin'. The actual STORY here is so gripping, I can see King's wisdom in publishing the book Dickens-like - in instalments. I couldn't have managed between chapters; as soon as you watch the first few minutes, you're hooked. All the actors playing the prison guards are incredible - for a lot of the screen time it mirrors a piece of intimate theatre, reeling you in and then it will give you that wonderful feeling of freedom with expansive, rolling shots of the great outdoors, plus some long scenes.
You never feel like it's dragging, you never feel bored, or confused, and I am SO annoyed I didn't get to see it at the pictures. Tolerate no talking from adults or interruptions from children under any circumstances for this one.
Catch it as it was 'meant' to be seen, before the network telly lot get their choppers out.
warning: don't nibble when the Frenchman gets it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Nov. 2006
By 
S. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
2 Hours of quality extras and a SUPERB commentary by Frank Darabon [...]! Puts the original DVD release to shame. Don't hesitate....just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Steven king adaptation., 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
An abundantly loyal Stephen King adaptation (something of a rarity) that manages to balance a ton of heart and an equal amount of weirdness without getting the two hopelessly tangled along the way.

It can be blunt and telegraphed at times, it's seriously overlong at just past three hours, and the dialog has moments of real weakness, but it's able to counter all that with a serious knack for tension, a truckload of bittersweet feelings and some fantastic central performances.

Tom Hanks and Michael Clarke Duncan are the most visible, and work an easy connection with the cameras in two deeply sympathetic roles, but Sam Rockwell also hands in a terrific part as a give-no-damns lunatic whose wild, vicious, unhinged attitude works in strong contrast to his cellmates' general resignation.

Tough to watch in places, especially as the mile's population begins to dwindle, but generally arresting and intensely emotional - there isn't anything else quite like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours seem like 30 minutes., 31 Aug. 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A totally enthralling film. Superb characters, superb story and, as ever, a dash of science fiction sprinkled in from Stephen King (when doesn't he add this to his tales?). And even though John Coffey had this healing power and Paul Edgecombe (Hanks) had proof Coffey didn't murder the two sisters, Coffey was tired of his life and powers and elected to be executed by 'old sparkey.' In the book another great clue to Coffey's innocence was present, yet missing from the film. They found the girl's lunch packs, (food inside linnen cloth wraps tied in a knot at the top to keep it in), and realised a sauasage was missing. Coffey wore no shoes, and when Edgecombe asked why, was told "Can't tie the laces, Boss." So if Coffey was guilty, how did he untie the linen wrap, eat the sauasage and re-tie it? But the movie works just as well without this small point and the time simply slips away watching it, and if you get through it with no emotional charge going through you then you must be dead already - a real tear-jerker yet a beautiful tale of man's humanity to man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long journey but utterly worth it., 6 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is delightfully enriching, which is a skill in itself given the truly dreadful setting and happenings.
The journey is one of battered souls, both prisoners and guards, battered out of normal human responses by circumstance and cynacism. It is set in depression struck Louisianna.
John Coffey and his great gift challenge many assumptions and bring hope were it would ordinarily be lost, curing sickness, giving life when none could hope for it and ultimately righting wrongs and evil doing.
For John his gift is a double edged sword for with it's truth it brings horror and with it's empathy it leaves no room for his own emotional world. Part of John's journey is not simply to share his gift but show it's warts and to convey his need to escape it, but here lies the dilemma for the guards and for Edgecombe in particular. In granting John his escape is he condemming himself and his colleagues? and if so what to?
A truly amazing drama and a great working of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! If it's the last thing you do, watch this film., 1 Feb. 2001
By 
A. Hawkins (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I cannot believe I have just seen that. I moaned at the wife when she bought it. 'Chick Flick' I said. It will keep me awake for days. Prepare to cry like a baby. Watch this film. Do it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning & Gripping, 27 Dec. 2000
By 
railton@talk21.com (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
You forget almost straight away that you will be there for three and a bit hours. After seeing it 8 times at the flicks, I can honestly say, that there is something new in it every time. Not as good as the book, I must admit the director does the story justice in every way possible. This film will make you cry, laugh and feel hatred. Excellent endng with the closing comment "Our own green mile can seem so long." So true, we never know what is infront of us all. Congratulations to the cast and crew. I am a firm believer that miracles do happen. This maybe a film, but watch it and it will make you sit up and think. Some strong issues tackled in the three hours. Miracles? Capital Punishment? You decide. But I would reccomend it to anyone who wants to see a good film. This was one of the first DVD's I bought, and I would buy it again if this one screwed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Mile [DVD] [1999]
The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] by Frank Darabont (DVD - 2000)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews