Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful!!!
This has got to be my favourite Anime! It’s got everything you would expect from Japanimation – it's fast, colourful and has a larger-than-life story line (saving the world, no less). The dark, dreamlike images are perfectly complemented by the soundtrack, the pictures are breathtakingly beautiful and the animation is among the best I have seen. And I just...
Published on 27 Feb. 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment
Having watched the series of X (which is amazing, but sadly hasn't been brought out on region 2), I thought I'd invest in the film version, especially as it was only £3.50 and I could have it as a treat after finishing a pretty lengthy exam.
It wasn't as rewarding as I hoped for. The characters, which I had come to know and love throughout the series, were now...
Published on 6 Jun. 2008 by dibbster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful!!!, 27 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be my favourite Anime! It’s got everything you would expect from Japanimation – it's fast, colourful and has a larger-than-life story line (saving the world, no less). The dark, dreamlike images are perfectly complemented by the soundtrack, the pictures are breathtakingly beautiful and the animation is among the best I have seen. And I just love the very Japanese look of the characters!
I don’t agree with the other reviewers that it is hard to keep track of the story line - I didn’t have this problem at all. Sure, it’s a bit of a challenge but that’s half the fun. When watching Anime, don’t expect Western-style characters and an easy-peasy, spoon-fed story. If that’s what you want, Anime is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment, 6 Jun. 2008
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the series of X (which is amazing, but sadly hasn't been brought out on region 2), I thought I'd invest in the film version, especially as it was only £3.50 and I could have it as a treat after finishing a pretty lengthy exam.
It wasn't as rewarding as I hoped for. The characters, which I had come to know and love throughout the series, were now paper-thin and the plot was weak. Understandably with so many characters they couldn't go into all of their backstories, but, given that the film is a pale 93 mins, they could have well fleshed some of them out. The odd pacing and plot holes means the viewer is left just as bemused as Kamui is. If I hadn't seen the series, I would've been completely lost! Furthermore, the animation is pretty shoddy considering it was only made in 1996. Anime like Akira and My Neighbour Totoro were made in the 80s and look far better. The subtitling on the X film is quite cringing at points too.
I'm not sure how to recommend how to watch this film. If you watch it without any prior knowledge, you probably won't want to watch the series and if you watch the series first then the film will just annoy you. I'd suggest you just watch the series: its very engaging with a detailed cast of characters, a fairly complex storyline and a mix of shojo-style animation with themes similar to seinen-style works. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Way too dull., 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
X The Movie is an abbreviated retelling of the long-running manga series (X/1999) by the famed manga team CLAMP. It's confusing and underdeveloped as a standalone story and the characters weren't that interesting cause you basically don't know that much about them. Having seen neither the manga nor later TV adaptation, I really had no idea what to expect past CLAMP's reputation. The film opens with one bizarre dream sequence that gets you hooked even though you have no idea what's going on, but then it quickly goes down hill. It then proceeds to roughly explain the situation (straightforward "save the world though dramatic angst" stuff) and eventually thoroughly concludes it, but in the end I was left feeling that it was all a little pointless. There's plenty of plot and characterization, but I can't say I thought much of either. This movie is horrible. It is so bad that it's entertaining, ****Spoiler Alert****** so many characters appear only to be killed off in the next few minutes and the English dub was horrendous and laughable. The only good thing I could say about this anime was that the animation looked very nice and fluid, but again the film seemed quite pointless, dull and shallow which is a shame cause I really like CLAMP's other works like Magic Knight Rayearth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Acquired Taste, but worth it, 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Robert Ferguson (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A few warnings on this one:
1 - Stay away from the English Dub! For some reason, translators think that western audiences need all the help they can get, and try to alter the dialogue accordingly. Thus we get a phantom line of dialogue from the main character's mother, explaining the backgrounds and motives of the main characters, which is completely unnecessary. That Said...

2 - Do some homework. The complex plot of a long Manga series (which is, as yet uncompleted) gets roughly summarized into a feature film, and as such some elements are lost. Some releases have a set of character Bios, and it's worth reading these before you watch the movie.

Ultimately this isn't a barrel-of-laughs film, and the meaningful, less than happy ending won't be fore everyone. That said, the tragic elements and glorious, angst-ridden gore will more than reward the discerning viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars x yay or nay, 20 Aug. 2009
By 
S. Mountford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
This anime is beautifully animated with great special effects and even though it is over ten years old the animation still holds up today. This product is essential to any CLAMP fan. As it offers a possible ending to the x series. Although, its only about 2 hours long so it lacks the depth of character that the manga possessed. This film concentrates more on the characters of Kamui and Fuma. The ending is...well its a definate Clamp ending to say the least but i did feelt slightly slapped in the face afterwards lol. If you are looking for a film that will provide entertainment and you appreciate fine animation then buy this film.If however you want a complex, complelling story line then i would be more enclined to suggest for you to read the manga or watch teh anime series as the series is closer to the original Clamp story and it has a different ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End Of The World, 28 Sept. 2001
This review is from: X [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is amazing especially the attention to detail in the backgrounds.The storyline is good and the character design is good.The only bad point is that it it very depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragons vs Religion?, 2 Jan. 2005
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
The title its self explains the movie. 'X' is a bizarre title as bizarre as the movie. In a nutshell the whole movie is good vs evil..... but with a slight twist, there are two sides the dragons of the earth - these want to destroy mankind, they believe by destroying mankind that the earth will be saved. The other group are the dragons of heaven - they believe that mankind should be saved.
Both have valid reasons and both make good points, it is a more of a debate about the 'real' world than anything, telling people that the earth needs to be saved and will probably be destroyed if we don't start recycling (before George W Bush got in power). The movie is very dream like and is surreal. There is a lot of violence (like all manga), some scenes that question religion hence the title but im not going to give it away, all in all this movie should be watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars one spiler in hear but is warning next to it so can skip it., 5 Feb. 2015
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
Seen region 2 of this and got to say its terrible sorry but is I mean SPOILER warning = Everyone vertually dies.

Just not very good its a shame really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie, 10 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those anime movies that will by its nature create two camps - the ones who love it and the ones who hate it.

I liked it very much. The story is interesting, touching on many many concepts without trying to develop any too much and the tricky bit, without getting overwhelmed by it.

Visually it is beautiful.

And at this price, well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bad film, 17 Jan. 2014
This review is from: X [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
From the looks of things, this could have been great (similar to Elfen Lied), if only it had been longer and done a bit better.

I've heard the series is good. This film however, after the 'wtf?' beginning and then actually hoping (seeming) it would be pretty good - it doesn't deliver.

Deserves no more than 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X [1996] [DVD]
X [1996] [DVD] by Rintaro (DVD - 2000)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews