Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenge Met
There are only two full-length ballets of the Le Corsaire , one by the Kirov and the other by ABT. Both tell the story in different ways and the dances are beautiful with either choice, but I hesitatingly say the ABT is better by a hair. It is well worth acquiring both.. Sometimes I prefer one, and at other times the other. The sound quality - very important to me - is...
Published on 2 Aug. 2008 by V. Arni

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They are great *****
Changed my mind - The performance at EnO April 2009 was wonderful give it ***** They have won me over
Published on 7 Sept. 2008 by Arthur Wyatt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenge Met, 2 Aug. 2008
By 
V. Arni "Ipsofacto" (New Delhi, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
There are only two full-length ballets of the Le Corsaire , one by the Kirov and the other by ABT. Both tell the story in different ways and the dances are beautiful with either choice, but I hesitatingly say the ABT is better by a hair. It is well worth acquiring both.. Sometimes I prefer one, and at other times the other. The sound quality - very important to me - is excellent on both versions as are the costumes. The costumes are more brilliant in the PAL version than the Kirov in NTSC. Those who wish to buy this production should note that in the US, the DVD is not available in the market other than with market-sellers who price it as some US$400! It makes one think there is something more in the DVD available in NTSC in the US to justify this atrocious pricing but I am not aware of what it is. The dances are varied and there isnt a tiring moment if one sits to enjoy the ballet. The Kirov has better-looking balllerinas and the story-line looks balanced and more authentic. Along with the Bolshoi Swan Lake (now readily available), this is a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific performance and production in a good presentation for 1999, 3 April 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The Corsair ballet (Le Corsaire) started in 1856 with music by Adam. A new version (production) had to be created in 1867 as a result of fire damage which destroyed the original backdrops and costumes and at that point the music of other composers started to be added as lasting supplements to Adam's score. In this case a total of 5 composers' work is utilised. These are Adam, Delibes, Pugni, Duke Peter von Oldenburg and Riccardo Drigo. This particular production is based on the 1973 Kirov version which in turn was based on Petipa's choreography. (All this information is taken from the much fuller sleeve notes supplied with the disc).

The complete plot is as complicated. The basic plot however is simple - pirate meets slave girl, they fall in love, he rescues her and they live happily ever after. However, other complications are added including a treacherous pirate colleague, attempted murder, a poisonous flower and a shipwreck to name but a few diversions!

This production includes some amusing attempts to describe the plot by both members of the cast and company before each act as well as members of the audience after each act. There is, deliberately, very little comprehension exhibited and this is finally summed up as `this ballet is not about the plot, it is about the dancing!' One can only agree.

The dancing is indeed spectacular and the virtuosity of this entire company is outstanding. The dancers are also clearly having a wonderful time. This sense of fun communicates strongly to the extremely large and packed audience who rise to give a standing ovation on more than one occasion. The Act 2 solo dancing by Conrad's slave in particular is quite extraordinary in its sustained skill and athleticism and is appreciated as such, not only at that time, but also at the final curtain.

The costumes for the ballerinas and female corps de ballet are particularly pretty and the slave girls are made to be irresistible! The men are mainly dressed as pirates and also enjoy themselves hugely in this make-believe world.

The camera work captures all of this very well but is clearly pre-HD and the screen needs to be set at a fair viewing distance to avoid pixilation of the longer shot images. The sound is presented in good stereo only but this conveys the high standard of the orchestral support perfectly well. The recording was made in 1999.

The production and the dancing is worth an easy 5 stars but the compromises now apparent in the imaging and sound options, as described above, compared to present day standards must now require a drop of one star to 4. Very enjoyable though and still a real challenge to any future issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Corsaire by American Ballet Theatre, 26 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Amazon excelled themselves in getting a copy of this DVD, ordered Friday evening, on Monday morning.
The DVD is very attractively packaged and is a great improvement on the old video. Overall a marvellous live production of Le Corsaire from American Ballet Theatre.
The costumes are especially attractive and adventurous - without straying too far from traditional ballet.
As the narrator, on the DVD, says the convoluted (but essentially very simple) story is not important and it is the dancing and music that matter.
The dancing is varied and excellent, full of beauty charm and grace from the ballerinas. This is not a Nutcracker but the dancing often strays into that sort of territory.
The music is credited to five composers but, if I had to describe it, sounds like Delibes ballet music. The sound quality on the DVD, apparently live, is very clear and would not be out of place on separate CD of its own.
Interviews with the dancers and others helps to draw you into the ballet and the occasion. Its comforting and amusing to find that even Julie Kent (Medora) cannot remember all the ins and outs of the plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great ballet, 9 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A superb version - dancing absolutely spectacular; the interviews were fun and tongue-in-cheek.
Corella, Stiefel and Malakov in fine form, as was Julie Kent. A delight to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They are great *****, 7 Sept. 2008
By 
Arthur Wyatt (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Changed my mind - The performance at EnO April 2009 was wonderful give it ***** They have won me over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD unplayable, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was no use to me as it was for the wrong region to play in this country. Region 1 is for the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Corsaire [DVD] [2000]
Le Corsaire [DVD] [2000] by Julie Kent (DVD - 2000)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews