Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nasty,Abrasive,Amyl-Nitrate,Fast Flashing Lights & Beautiful, 15 Mar 2001
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
If you love your HARD techno then get this.This can be very 'GRITTING TEETH' stuff but i really was blown away.If like me you love you music any style then you will want this.I've read some of the reviews here where some people say it may be hard listening.So when i was thinking of buying this i was a bit wary (i knew what to expect but was still a bit unsure),but i thought what the heck go for it.I'm glad i did i absolutely love this now.You can imagine this going down a storm in the techno clubs.This guy,at the time of these recording was(and still is!)ahead of his time.This is a real breath of fresh air,what with all the 'Pumping Trance/Hard House'getting very very boring at the moment.Oh and by the way,it sounds great in the car as well.JUST BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 4 Aug 2004
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
Bizarre. Almost inaccessible. Great.
The first time I listened to this was through headphones in the street. The most remarkable booming moved in over the top of Isopropanol and I thought "Blimey these headphones are good."
It was a train going past... Only with Aphex Twin can you mistake a train three feet away for music.
Unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check sanity at the door, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
This album's not for the faint-hearted, no way. I'd say there's around two, MAYBE three songs that seem accessible to your everyday person. Luckily this man couldn't gives a monkeys toss about pleasing everyone, and it more than shows in these 12 tracks (the final two performed under one of many future aliases)

The opener "Digeridoo" gets things off to a fairly hardcore start, but songs like the sinister "Tamphex", "Phlange Phace" and "Dodeccaheedron" actually take the album further and further into madness territory. Which I love don't get me wrong. It's just that even for me I find the whole album a bit hard to digest in one sitting.

"Digeridoo", "Polynomial C", "Analogue Bubblebath" and "Metapharstic" are obvious winners and keepers for me and for someone who likes to listen to stuff that's not outside the box, but miles down at the half-way line, definitely give this one a whirl. She's a tough listen though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Aphex that you should own, 16 Feb 2006
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
With the 'Singles Collection', which I also reviewed, this is a must for all Richard D James fans.
'Digeridoo' is included in its original and live versions and is an early example of his astounding synthesizer talent as is 'Polynomial-C'.
Some of the track listing of this album reads like a medicine cabinet and that may or may not be a reference to James' health problems as a child.
Also included is 'Tamphex' which contains a looping sample of a British 80s Tampax commercial "Are you one of those girls for whom time stands still once a month?"
Any owners of releases by other RDJ projects, especially 'Caustic Window', will notice some major correlations. There's at least three tracks on this album that sound like prototype tracks for much of his other works. There's even one that has the cut-and-paste beat & synth squeals of the 'Window Licker' intro. Many tracks here use a lot more conventional 90s rave beats and synths than much of the other Aphex back-catalogue so, a combination of all these elements, make this album an essential for fans. It's recognisably him but in an almost 90s zeitgeist infancy.
All the tracks on the album were recorded by James while still signed to R&S records so that makes the album quite a rarity.
I found my copy completely by accident about 8 years ago. Up to that point I thought I had most of his readily available works so this was a fantastic treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Daniel Plenderleith "minikiev" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
A good collection of some of his finest work.
RDJ is such a diverse musicial he has done some classic ambient work also , this album is defo worth a listen. This is an album that i dont skip through and thats rare, i still think that Tamphex Head F*** Mix is one of my favourite all time tracks (on this album) along with in Garden of Linmiri (Caustic Window) Hard As F*** scary music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cd!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
I love the tracks on this cd and a big fan of electronica and remember Aphex Twin as being huge in the early 1990's! This one is a must have for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The acid is extc?????, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
The aphex twin passed me by in the nineties well everything passed me by in the nineties. its interesting to wonder if you heard this stuff then without realising who it was. i always thought the aphex twin was a commercial group cashing in on the rave scene. success was a bit suspect during the early nineties. Now listening to this its actually quite underground hardcore techno. I recommend this to anyone who appreciated the acid of the late 80's and got a bit tired after a while of the feel good extc that was the early 90's. Mixes well with the Warp labels classics like nightmares on wax or with detroit techno but best with RnS classics on the same label. N-Joi house music all night long house music all night long only for the headstrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it. (Most will love it), 9 Jan 2001
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
Upon sliding the disc into my machine i was presented with the track Digeridoo which started out with cheesy synth effects authentic to the title...and then the beats, which are to say fantastic and best enjoyed on full volume. They say that the dj has a computer set up to write tracks using the noises he makes when he sleeps like his heart and it shows in the later tracks. If you hear random noise at the beginning of a track i guarantee a pumping drumline will be iminent. It needs afew listens to wear it in and some will dismiss it, but stick with it and you'll begin to appreciate the intricate detail in all the blips and squeaks (reminds me of The Two Lone Swordsmen). Those who do will have a valuabe entry to their collection if you just accept the wierdness. To put is short, buy this or miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard, fast, fantastic, but..., 17 Dec 2001
By 
Epigone (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
This is packed full of stonkingly noisy, energetic tracks that are almost without exception great - plus the odd relaxed-ish moment too (Analogue Bubblebath). A little different to the others, but then they're all different... certainly not like 'Windowlicker' or 'Come To Daddy', his most famous moments. Perhaps comparable to a harder, noiser, Selected Ambient Works, but it's hard to say.
Not the best Aphex album, and the tracks sometimes wear into one another if you listen to them all in one go, but overall this is a worthy addition to a collection, even if it isn't the 'definitive' Aphex album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a classic! haha, 21 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Classics (Audio CD)
For aphex completists, this album is essential. For the casual fan it might be a bit of a letdown.All of the classic aphex twin elements are there but they are obscured by a brutal mix.
The music is typically varied and ranges from drill n' bass to subtle atmospherics, brutal synthetic beats and playful ambience.
Tracks like "isopropanol" and "tamphex" are head lacerating in their intensity, whereas "polynomial-c" and "analogue bubblebath 1" are early pseudo ambient tracks which provide the perfect foil to the rest of the album.
"dodeccaheedron" is probably the best track on the album and shows the virtuosity of the sampling along with "we have arrived (aphex twin TTQ mix)".
As i sed, this album is not superb but it does provide an insight into a more acidic techno drum n' bass style that fans will appreciate. it is excruciatingly heavy in terms of beats and textures and to be fully appreciated you should listen to it through heaadphones very loudly. thankyou for your pecious time, see you sammy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classics
Classics by Aphex Twin (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews