Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best
This is one of the "real" (as in Bon Scott) AC/DC's best. The price is justified alone for the wonderful blues of Ride On, surely the band's finest musical moment. Big Balls and Ain't No Fun just add to the pleasure of a great Rock'n'Roll experience; just a shame that they were never the same after Bon Scott left us. By the way why doesn't "Crabsody in...
Published on 31 May 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problem Children
Even though this was essentially the band's 3rd album, to all non-Australians this was their follow-up to the near classic High Voltage (again itself a frankenstein of the band's first 2 australian albums, High Voltage and TNT). What it lacks in quality it makes up for in rock n roll attitude. AC/DC were never revered for their technical abilities, although Angus and co...
Published on 18 Jan. 2012 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 31 May 2002
By A Customer
This is one of the "real" (as in Bon Scott) AC/DC's best. The price is justified alone for the wonderful blues of Ride On, surely the band's finest musical moment. Big Balls and Ain't No Fun just add to the pleasure of a great Rock'n'Roll experience; just a shame that they were never the same after Bon Scott left us. By the way why doesn't "Crabsody in Blue" appear on the CD versions of "Let There Be Rock"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC at their best, 8 Aug. 2007
By 
J. McNally (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is quintessential AC/DC; simple pounding guitars, raspy vocals and clever lyrics. Dirty Deeds is a snapshot of AC/DC's best work with Bon Scott and it's a wonderful album.

The guitars in this album provide us with some of AC/DC's catchiest tunes. Songs like "Rocker" will stick in your head for days. It amazes me how a band can make such a great song off of what is actually a very very simple guitar riff.

Lyrically, this is some of AC/DC's greatest work. The title track sets the tone of the album, with its story about a guy offering various "dirty deeds" all for "dirt cheap" prices. Songs like "Big Balls" (a self-explanatory title) are just plain hilarious and show Bon Scott at his best as a songwriter; basing the entire song on one big innuendo. I've listened to the song hundreds of times and I still laugh out loud every time I hear it.

All in all, this is quintessential AC/DC. This is how their unique sound evolved and grew into their bigger albums. In a nutshell, it's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would give this 10 stars, 18 Oct. 2005
By 
A. Green "design guru" (Cardif UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I care not for those who claim this album is flawed. I have every AC/DC release, have seen them live numerous times, and have loved them for close to 20 odd years. I can say without a shadow of a doubt "Dirty Deeds" is my favorite. I don't care that it's purile (if you listen to AC/DC at all this is something you don't need to be too bothered about), I don't care that it's rough (in fact it more that adds to it's charm), I don't care that it's not quite as good as the Aussie version (R.I.P. is criminally absent on this release). This is the best, bar non, AC/DC album to date. The title track alone is worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problem Children, 18 Jan. 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though this was essentially the band's 3rd album, to all non-Australians this was their follow-up to the near classic High Voltage (again itself a frankenstein of the band's first 2 australian albums, High Voltage and TNT). What it lacks in quality it makes up for in rock n roll attitude. AC/DC were never revered for their technical abilities, although Angus and co have always played very profficiently, but their 'go to hell', party ethos was the hook that drew in the millions of fans worldwide. That and the trademark licks and riffs of course. Unfortunately, this is the album that has the least of the those.

The title track is a great little rock song that sounds as dirty as the content. It is no classic but is infectious and will stay with you for a good while. 'Love at First Feel' is a bit throwaway. It's not awful but smacks of attitude over tune. 'Big Balls' is a bit of a divider. You'll either love it or hate it, in my opinion. I'm afraid I do not like it. I'm all for a bit of tongue in cheek fun but it's always best left to Kevin Bloody Wilson or Weird Al Yankovic, or even Mark and Lard. Either droll or dull. 'Rocker' though is a bit of a saving grace after a couple of stinkers. It's fast, full of attitude and rocks just like it says it does. Invigorating. 'Problem Child' is the true classic here. It does go off on a bit of a self-indulgently noodly tangent toards the end but it has energetic riffs and a great, chantable chorus.

'There's gonna be some rockin' is ok. It rocks, albeit in a mid-paced fashion, but it is no better than good. 'Aint no Fun' is another middling one. It's better than the previous track but goes on far too long with the quality of material given. 'Ride On' is the last reason to get this. A sublime paean to rockin and bikin, that rolls with the melancholy of life on the road. Great stuff. It's just a shame Squealor' had to end it all. Another throwaway track that is neither here nor there.

So really only 4 tracks worthy of revisiting here: The title track, 'Rocker', 'Problem Child' and 'Ride On.' Although it would seem that the band had an idea that this was not the golden egg they needed to break the mainstream and pilfered 'Problem Child' for the follow-up, and mainstream-breaking, Let There Be Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic ACDC, 21 Oct. 2009
My favourite album of the early Bon Scott ACDC years.

I started to type which tracks were the stand outs but theres not a weak track on this album.
Favourites are Love at first feel, Ride on and Aint no fun...

A must for any ACDC fans collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, 26 July 2003
Well, I've always considered DC to be the best rock band ever. I have had a number of albums, and enjoyed them live but for some reason I missed this album.
BUY IT.
Ok it is 'raw' - none of the clean produced Back in Black (still one of my favourites) but it is fantastic.
Dry, powerful and oozing quality - Bon at his best - as good as his fantastic Highway to Hell.
The band play in an 'older' rock and roll style but the DC drive is there. Angus may not shine through as he does later but that lets the tracks be balanced.
Above all, this just shows what a quality act AC-DC is and is a fitting tribute to Bon Scott - I hope he is down there, beer in one hand, women in another with this playing at full blast in the background.
I am not worthy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive, 8 Aug. 2014
Listen to the opening riff to Dirty Deeds alone before the vocal comes in; most guitar players would find it pretty simple to play. But forget the technique and just listen to the sound - to my ears it immediately says 'threat, menace, testosterone'. It doesn't need any words to make its message clear. The simplicity of the riff grabs its theme instantly - and frankly no jazz guitar player, for example, could create it.

And that is the difference between the very best riff merchants like AC/DC and the millions of also rans who would die to get anything near theirs (think Crue, Ratt, Twisted etc.,).

Bon Scott is one of those unique rock singers (like Freddie, Ozzy, and Morrison) who seems to be able to embody the songs. You feel as if he is singing to you directly from within his world. Always conflating sex with love (Love at first feel) he basks in his sexual potency and revels in demoniacal desire ('I lead a life of crime...'). Bon's world view is one in which everybody is corrupt, especially those offering love, frequently presenting himself as a gleeful sinner ('for a fee, I'm happy to be, your back door man').

Of course these points cover the entire Bon Scott era and Dirty Deeds is simply another essential classic among many.

While Angus is the star guitar player and Phil, Mark and Malcolm deliver the killer backing, Bon is my real idol in AC/DC. As a kid he was like a big brother and with lyrics like those in Ain't No Fun (waiting 'round to be a millionaire) he really identifies with you.

Songs like Dirty Deeds and the finger licking Squealer just ooze dirty sleaze. There's Gonna Some Rocking is delivered with such menacing cool and Problem Child has a riff that hardly seems to get going yet ends up pretty much shaking your entire house down into rubble - play that loud and your neighbours will want to move house double quick.

And I have to say this; ALL the Bon Scott era albums are ESSENTIAL. If you're an AC/DC fan then you simply must have them.

IMO AC/DC are the Greatest Rock'n'Roll band of all time - and Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is about as dirty as you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lesser Bon Scott era album - still got some clsssics, 8 July 2014
By 
Grr "Gumbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a decent album by AC/DC, the second to receive an international release- though not in the states, more on that later - but it is also, in my opinion, the weakest Album featuring Bon Scott.

The reason this album is so well know, disproportionately so against others in the catalogue, is that the label initially refused to release this album in the USA. They only did so as a cash in after BIB became such a monster hit, as a result it was snapped up by fans wanting more. This has led to this album being more revered than many of their better records.

Now, all this said, it is absolutely not a bad album. There are some cracking tracks on this and I do think anyone who has a decent interest in AC/DC need to snap this one up, but not as one of the first purchases.

Track by track:

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap - Rightly considered a classic. Dark, catchy, dangerous and tongue-in-cheek. (10)

Love at First Feel - Solidly okay track, Stripped down bluesy rock (7)

Big Balls - Your reaction to this song depends n your own viewpoint. If you can just let yourself go with the single-entendre nonsense and campery, it's a good chuckle of a track. If not, its base humour at its worst. I should hate it, but I don't. (7)

Rocker - It does what it says on the tin. A rock n' roll song about being a rocker. Dumb, fun and a good 'un. (8)

Problem Child - About as close to social commentary as AC/DC ever got - thankfully! Bon Scott has a great time on this, warning people to stay away cause he's so dangerous. (7)

There's Gonna Be Some Rockin' - More Status Quo than AC/DC in my opinion. It's fine but unspectacular. (6)

Ain't No Fun (Waiting Round To Be A Millionaire) - A great 3 minute rocker, dragged out for twice as long. Becoming deathly dull in the process (5)

Ride On - I like this track, I really do. I don't think Bon Scott sounds genuinely 'Lonely' at all but, heck, I'll go with it. A slow, proper bluesy number. (9)

Squealer - Decent riff but a weaker track that I seem to instantly forget straight after hearing it. (5)

A fine album, worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic AC/DC, 26 Nov. 2013
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'DDDDC' must rate as one of AC/DC's most fun efforts. Lyrically the band rarely veers away from comic book references to casual sex/ violence or extolling the virtues of Rock and Roll. Yet Bon brings just enough humour into the proceedings to let you know that for the most part, his tongue is firmly wedged in his irreverent cheek. Musically, no ground is broken. Yet the genius of this band lies in its simplicity. How is it possible the group play the same three chord rock as lots of other bands, but somehow sound only like themselves? The truth is that AC DC at least in the Bonn Scott era could write and perform lean, melodic, driving rock songs that had just enough of a chorus to stay in the memory. Throw in a powerhouse rhythm section and a distinctive guitarist in Angus Young to bolster up the inspired song craft and you have a potent musical force. The major appeal of the group though has to be Bon Scott. Bon Scott is the focal point of the band: swaggering but also surprisingly vulnerable, he was far from the typical hard rock front man. He had charm as well as menace, a beguiling if not terribly stable combination of qualities. As a lyricist, he could be amusing, puerile and an airhead, but always entertaining and always convincing.

'DDDDC' is a very entertaining hard rock-pop album. I love the title track and 'Ain't no Fun..' a song describing the tribulations of being a rock star in waiting. This album is enjoyable from first to last and can be recommended for those of us who like rock music that doesn't take itself too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars always brings a smile to my face, 7 Feb. 2013
As a student in the early 1980s, I had one or two inconsiderate neighbours. In one accommodation block, I had to put up with all kinds of dreadful music coming through the walls. These guys would be out on the drink and return well after closing time and play stuff really loud. One of their favourites was this album. They would play the second side first - my heart sank every time I heard the opening of "There's going to be some rockin'", with Bon Scott's depraved squeal over the lurching roar of the guitars.

Well, strange things happen over time. Over thirty years on and with my hair silver, I really love this album. It sounds live. It's heavy and full-on; it's malevolent; it is also very very funny, especially with Bon's wonderful timing and vocal inflection. And there are some great lines too ("Get your f***** Jumbo Jet out of my airport!"; "Got myself a one-way ticket/Going the wrong way"; "The following is a true story/Only the names have been changed/To protect the Guilty!").

The heart of this album is depraved, overdriven blues rather than "heavy metal". As well as stomping, churning and burning, this can occasionally be quite beautiful. I have always liked "Ride On" - as someone once pointed out somewhere, this is exceptional amongst AC/DC's output in that the singer is reflecting on the consequences of his actions.

May I also say that, as a guitarist, I am awestruck at the Young brothers' skill and dexterity. These riffs may sound simple (possibly even a bit retarded to some ears) but I can tell you they are not. Often they play the same A or D chord together, but with different voicings. The overall combined chords they create between them in this way can be massive. Two guitarists have got to be very good to get effects like this playing together.

This is not AC/DC's ultimate album - for me, that's Powerage. But it still represents sublime value. Go on, hear it - you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty deeds done dirt cheap
Dirty deeds done dirt cheap by AC/DC (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews