Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milestone., 24 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
This album is one of the masterpieces of electronic music from the 70's. Full of dynamic sounds, bubbling and organic. One step beyond from the mythical Oxygene. Compare with another masterpiece of electronic music from the 70's, The Robots by Kraftwerk, also from 1978, although the philosophy of the sounds is completely different. This shows how music technology was advanced in 1978, at least for a select few musicians. Just listen to the parts IV, V and VI to hear what I'm writing about. And remember it was 1978. A time when the majority of the bands the most advanced thing in technology they knew was how to turn on the electric guitar. Luckily the times were ready for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exuinoxe jarre at his best, 30 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
excellent electronic masterpiece in the vein of oxygene.tracks 4 & 5 are truly inspired.so pleased to finally own this in digital form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best JMJ album, 11 Sep 2009
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
Having listened many times to this album it never seems to age,it is simply his best work and is the one Jean michel jarre album you should all own.Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from out the sky's came the sound, 14 Jan 2009
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
Its a close run thing, but for me Equinoxe just squeaks ahead of Chronologie as Jarre's best album.

Released in 1978, Jarre had really gotten into his stride by this, his second major release (just don't bother with anything before Oxygene, for fan-boys its great; but otherwise its just odd-pants). This is music from the air - as opposed to Oxygenge's music from the sea; and whilst the early tracks set a mood, part 4 and part 5 really sound just as fresh today as it did some 31 years ago.

Not that it sounds like late 70s, no this is timeless. I can be 100% sure if you don't know the album you WILL know the tracks. Perhaps not from your music collection, but used over and over again, TV, adverts, themes, they just keeps cropping up.

Silky smooth production, uplifting in places, dramatic in others (and in one, just silly - 'Band in the Rain' at the end of part 7 is really just odd), but for atmosphere and a real feeling of electronic-organic instrumental event.

Jarre is under-rated, and if you fancy not going with the crowd and actually trying something genuinely different - you have got to try Equinoxe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equinox: Excellent, 13 May 2008
By 
David R. Cross (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
I haven't heard this album since I was at school some 30 years ago! I was absolutely blown away by this CD.

If you have some J-M J but not this album what on earth are you waiting for, don't leave it as long as I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1978 - You fools!, 22 Sep 2010
By 
J. Harrison (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Equinoxe (MP3 Download)
I had the original vinyl, which wore down to molecules. Then I had the tapes, which wore down to ether and electron bonds. Then the CD's which are good for coasters for my tea. Now I have the downloads, which don't really exist at all! The only JMJ 'Electronica' albums you need to have are this one, Oxygene, Magnetic Fields, Zoolook and, If you like live albums - Concerts in China, which has two great tracks on it which aren't live. All the rest depend upon whether you like classical music over electronica. Personally I don't think anything of them, but don't let it stop you listening through your own senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxygene(b), 16 Jan 2000
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
Basically, 'Equinoxe' is 'Oxygene' but with a bigger budget. Side one almost seems to follow on directly from 'Oxygene 6', whereas side two is essentially proto-electro-pop (especially the blippy part 6).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not every ones cup of tea, but certainly is mine, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
Both my sons use to listen to when it first came out, so I got to like it, in fact I play it every day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic from JMJ, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (MP3 Download)
Bought this download as I didn't have a turntable to be able to play my fathers LP.
It's a good quality recording and is good through the headphones and speakers alike.
Headphone for best effect of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean-Michel Jarre Equinoxe CD, 12 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
Another old favourite of mine from long ago. Delighted with the condition of it and it arrived very swiftly. Satisfied customer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Equinoxe
Equinoxe by Jean Michel Jarre (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews