Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Instrumental albums of all time
I heard Equinoxe part 5 as a child. I did not know the musician, or even the name of the tune at the time. But I was captivated.
When I bought the album I expected one or two good tunes. Few albums promise complete satisfaction. Yet this is akin to a Greatest Hits compliation, with many of his finest pieces in a single collection. And this was only his second...
Published on 19 Mar. 2004 by Les

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
After hearing music by Jean-Michel on my internet radio I really thought I would like this. It may be just a "bit out-there" for me. BUT, its done very well and in the right mood, it will be ok to listen to.
Published 26 days ago by Dena Smith


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Instrumental albums of all time, 19 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
I heard Equinoxe part 5 as a child. I did not know the musician, or even the name of the tune at the time. But I was captivated.
When I bought the album I expected one or two good tunes. Few albums promise complete satisfaction. Yet this is akin to a Greatest Hits compliation, with many of his finest pieces in a single collection. And this was only his second album.
While I am a fan, I do not believe Jarre has been consistent. His last two studio albums were quite awful. Even his recent concerts could never hope to emulate his spectacular Paris La Defense show (1990).
Equinoxe is, however, his greatest album and one of the greatest instrumental albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Wonderful, 1 Aug. 2006
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
I loved this when it first appeared, my favourite of JMJ's early output, but was disappointed by the original "Polydor UK" Cd release, Somewhere, JMJ either used better masters for the Disques Dreyfus release, or did some very subtle remix work, as the result is so much more vivid and colourful (the same thing happened with "Zoolook").

There's something for everyone here, my favourites being pt's 5-7, which must be played on a pair of decent, BIG, speakers (or top notch headphones at a pinch) to really show the scale and movement of these pieces.

If you don't already have this, WHY NOT?

Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest Jarre album ever!, 29 May 2003
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
From start to finish a masterclass in synth music. Swirling phased strings and thumping basslines, each part shifts in tempo and feel to create the ultimate sonic landscape. Highlights must be the wonderful "squelchy" moog sounds in Part 4, the uplifting beat of Equinoxe 5, and the fantastic bassline at the start of Part 7.
Each part blends seamlessly despite all being of different styles.
I couldn't recommend this album more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean Michel Jarre's best album, 13 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
Released in 1978, "Equinoxe" must rank as Jarre's finest work. This album is a lot deeper and darker than "Oxygene", and it features two of the most amazing pieces of modern music you are ever likely to hear (Part 5 and Part 7), and the other tracks are fairly incredible too. Predominantly ambient for the first half of the album, the second half relies on some incredibly catchy tunes set against funky pre-techno basslines. Superb stuff!
One gripe may be that some of the synthesizer whizzes and bleeps are a bit over-the-top, but it's no different really to what William Orbit did on Madonna's "Ray of Light" album.
If you only ever buy one album of instrumental music, buy Jean Michel Jarre's "Equinoxe".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Album Changed my Life, 20 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
I first heard this album when I was fifteen and it still sends shivers down my spine even now when I hear it. The introduction (equinoxe part 1) is beutiful with it's rapid arpegios and deep portamento pitch sweeps, it's realy an inspiring start to the album but maybee a little short. Part 3 continues with more arpegios and a realy beautiful melody backed in places by mellotron choir, and finishes with a collage of interesting sound effects including an early but authentic synthesised bell chime. Parts 4 and 5 must be two of Jarre's famous pieces, great tunes with his sequncers on overdrive and his passion for Bontempi Organ drum machines. Part 6 carries on from 5 but with more sequences thrown into the exotic mix. The first part of Equinoxe 8 will be more familiar under the name 'Band in the rain' to younger Jarre fans, and still reminds me of french onion sellers on bicycles with it's galic accordian melody. The second part of equinoxe 8 I feel lets the album down a little because it's just a very slow solo of part 5 (jean michel just trying to fill a little more space on the album I feel).
I can't stress what effect this album had on me especialy equinoxe 1. I think after hearing this album I totaly gave up on the chart music of the time and started collecting electronic music and being an avid synth player and composer myself now and at the time this album had a great influence on me. Ta Jean-Michel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Instrumental masterpiece!!!, 20 Jan. 2008
By 
Damon Feurtado "damonfeurtado" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
I have lost count of how many times I have heard Jean-Michel Jarre's 1978 album, Equinoxe, on CD. Everytime I hear it, it evokes so much emotion to this very day. Even though it lasts 38mins. One of the greatest ever electronic concept albums to ever to have been made. I have just recently purchased the original version of Oxygene off this site, as opposed to the new version that contains new mixes, accompanying it. The originals are ALWAYS the best!!! If I now had 2 pick a Top 10 of my favourite albums of all time, Equinoxe would be straight in there with great pride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 3 April 2007
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the two or three albums by Jean-Michel Jarre that any serious music fan should have in the collection (the others being Oxygene and Zoolook).

Whereas Oxygene seemed to be about the wind and air, Equinoxe is very much an album about water and earth, from the softly bucolic sounds of part 3 with its strangely ethereal fairground nuances to the cataclysmic thunder, lightning and deluge of part 5.

Those who scoff at Jarre's current dalliances with dance music would do well to look at this album between parts 4 and 7, where he demonstrates that making music that moved the body as well as the spirit is not just a new pre-occupation.

As others have said, this album is probably one the great instrumental albums of all time, and certainly one the the very greatest works of electronic music, sounding surprisingly fresh even now, nearly thirty years after its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The" 2nd Jarre classic, and a gem of soundscapes., 18 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
Equinoxe is classic Jarre (along with Oxygene). A memory preserved on disc,of a time when the guy was truly pioneereing synth music,in terms of lush soundscape. Equinoxe is where you can turn off the lights,put on a good pair of headphones,close your eyes,and lie back on a bed to be transported into another world through the music. Equinoxe does this with very effective use of sound. Prepare to be taken away on a psychedelic soundscape of lush synths sounds, and pulsing but warm synths.
I've always felt Equinoxe to be more "Cosmos" based, and Equinoxe "Earth" based. The initial movement of Equinoxe takes you up into the cosmos with a rising and ever filling theme. The 2nd movement is one of the most superb soundscape pieces of music i've ever heard. A sweeping journey through Nebulas,and star fields. Deep,emotional,and heavy hearted. The rest of the album i'll leave you to discover for yourself. Give this CD a shot, and you will not be dissapointed.
Sadly,this Jarre is long gone now. All we have to remind us of this fascinating stage of his career,are his early recordings like Equinoxe,Oxygene,Magnetic Fields, and Rendezvous. That era was Jean Michel being a pioneer in terms of soundscapes and storytelling with music. Thesedays, Jarre seems more interested in trying to "fit in" to popular music, rather than being a rebel against the norm (as he was in his early days). His attempts at trying to fit into mainstream music with DJ re-mixes and club versions, are rather like a man in his 50's thinking that by putting on a baseball cap and wearing baggy jeans, he will appear "cool" to the kids. It does'nt work,and he should give it up, because it betrays everything he worked for in his career, and his pioneering.
The later stage of Jarre's career (the era of "Son Et Lumiere" big concert shows) proved suprisingly to be his musical downfall. Rather than compliment the music,the music aspect was eventually placed on the back burner it seems, and wowing people became the priority instead. The Egypt Millenium Metamorphoses is an example of how shallow his work had become,and empty of anything other than concert material. The music suffered tremendously (even though it remained fun music),and Jarre compromised on his new works by tailoring them to fit his next big lightshow. So,to hear the real skill of early Jarre, then go for Equinoxe and Oxygene. This was when Jarre was truly interested in soundscapes and moods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Jarre album, 20 April 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
This is his best. It has good atmosphere. It has that french electro feel which he can bring us now and again all over it. Even the organ solo is good. But my favourite is the opening track. Fantastic use of string synths. Lovely and silky. This album is close to a symphony that electronic music can get. It is better polished than oxygene. This album made me a total jarre fan.

Sadly it was downhill from here on. Slowly but surely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do your ears a favour and give them a treat., 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equinoxe (Audio CD)
This music is the kind you sit in a soft lite room and drift off whilst listening to, along with Oxygene they form a pair of albums that need a certain kind of mood before playing them, best listened too with your eyes shut, trouble is they stop when you get there, but never mind eh? recomended for a sunday evening when with any luck the dinner is down, washing up done, and the dog has gone out and walked itself for a change.
Emerse yourself in a pool of sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Equinoxe
Equinoxe by Jean Michel Jarre (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews