Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Classic !
Truly brilliant or second rate "commercial" Tangerine Dream? I had this dilemma when I first heard this (now important) album.

At first, it all seems too simple and easy. The almost cheesy percussion sounds, the swoops and swerves and childishly simple melodies almost appearing to come from a textbook "pop" manual

Further listening shows just how...
Published on 1 Aug 2006 by DSR

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hull v. Dadwater - Hull Wins
This review is of the 2014 remasters as compared to the 1997 remasters only. It is not a review of the music - which of course has always been five stars and more.

The 2014 remasters of Oxygene, Equinoxe and Magnetic Fields as remastered by David Dadwater are much less musical and enjoyable than the 1997 Scott Hull remasters. Where the 1997 remasters are...
Published 3 months ago by Stephen O'Boyle


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Classic !, 1 Aug 2006
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
Truly brilliant or second rate "commercial" Tangerine Dream? I had this dilemma when I first heard this (now important) album.

At first, it all seems too simple and easy. The almost cheesy percussion sounds, the swoops and swerves and childishly simple melodies almost appearing to come from a textbook "pop" manual

Further listening shows just how proficient JMJ was (and is) at his craft. He kept things easy and simple, so that all manner of people could enjoy its almost naive beauty. There's a real flow to the pieces and the melodies stay in one's head for YEARS afterwards.

Time has again been kind to this release. I think I prefer "Equinox" overall, as it has a bit more to get one's teeth into, but this is a really charming album and a "must" for any worthwhile collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Instrumental, 25 Sep 2002
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
Imagine the scene in 1976. One unheard of French gent, a simple 8 track recording studio, mostly self made. Simple monophonic and primitive polyphonic synthesisers which no one could understand and a album consisting of 6 instrumental pieces of music strung together with no vocals titled Oxygene. Sounds dull ? Forget it.
This was an incredible achievement in anyones eyes. Electronic music in 1976 was a mostly unheard of style and only a handfull of artists broke thru to the public domain being held back not because of thier talent but because of simple prejudice and a misunderstanding of the style. Many a talent in this field struggled for many years, Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, Tomita, Vangelis to name a few.
Then Jarre delivered this masterpiece which caught the publics imagination then spawned many a wannabe in subsequent years.
Futuristic, majestic, deep, dark and melodic the music swirls and envelopes you in a timeless wash of synthestic tunes bubbleling to the occasional sequence or beat of an ancient drum machine or sequencer and those who ventured are rewarded with a album you can play and play and play.
Anyone around in 1976 would remember the haunting melodies on offer here, as slowly the media picked up on the LP, a fresh alternative to other 'popular music' of the day. The single Oxygene Part 4, managed to get to no.2 in the UK and even today the sounds created by Jarre then, seem as futuristic as ever even in todays over reliance of synthetic sounds especially in the manufactured world of pop. Oxygene will never tire.
Fo me, the slow outro Part 6 is stunning and a little sad as the final synth wash and bird sounds fades into the speakers, leaving silence. Fantastic
Jarre pushed the old techonolgy on this album and continued to pave the way up until Zoolook. For me, Jarre lost the magic and the distance early electronic artists had gained as then every man and thier band used a synthesier but with more comes less.
Jarre struggled to capture the magic on the sequel which shows that the technology of today will never give rise to the true experimentation of the mid 70's.
Buy some magic and buy Oxygene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure electronic perfection - heaven, 14 Jan 2005
By 
Ophiicus (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
At time of writing this album is nearly 30 years old. It doesn't sound it. Any artist who uses any electronic instrument owes a debt to this album. Firstly because Jarre developed many of the instruments played on this and secondly because he broke new ground. I have his earlier work: this is so breathtakingly different it is difficult to imagine it is by the same artist. This disc is visionary. Quick guided tour - for me the album speaks of movement through air, perhaps flight. We are taken through atmospheres and eventually arrive at a stormy coast. If you can allow your mind to wander with this music guiding you will be rewarded.
I rate this top of all music ever experienced. I can have it on repeat all day and not tire of it. If I wish to relax it is superb.
Jarre has recorded many fine albums - I reccomend Equinoxe, Zoolook and Waiting for Cousteau particularly, but this disc defines Jarre and it created a genre. There aren't many other discs can make the same claim.
In 20 years time I can believe this could be played as classical music. This is the original synth album and very very difficult to beat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 7 Dec 2009
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
Jean Michel Jarre was one of the pioneers of electronic music in the rock and pop field in the 1970's. As melodic as Vangelis and as moody and atmospheric as Tangerine Dream was at the time, Jarre nonetheless had his own unique and distinctive sound that was characteristically rich, multi-layered and organic. 'Oxygene', his 1976 breakthrough studio album is typical of that sound and for those who are new to Jarre there is no better place to start. Whilst not as influential as Kraftwerk, Jean Michel Jarre was perhaps more than anyone else responsible for breaking electronic music into the mainstream, introducing many people to synthesized music - and he did it with this album. 'Oxygene' was the first electronic music album to be a massive hit, selling over 15 million copies to date - despite the fact that it was the height of punk when it was first released and was an instrumental album (the only other big selling instrumental album in the 1970's was Mike Oldfield's 'Tubular Bells'). The reason for its success, I think, is that the music was accessible enough for mainstream rock and pop fans, unlike a lot of electronica made at the time which sounded raw and mechanical. Jarre's brilliance was his total command and understanding of those early analogue synthesizers, which were a lot less sophisticated than today's instruments, and of this new music. However, he was for a long time dismissed by ignorant music critics who didn't consider electronica to be 'proper' music. Today, electronic music has become the mainstream and Jarre's important contribution to its rise and success is now properly recognised.

'Oxygene', like many of Jarre's albums, is a continuous suite of electronic instrumental music. It is divided into six tracks each titled 'Part 1', 'Part 2', etc.

'Part 1' gets the album off to a brilliant start. It is Jarre at his most atmospheric - and atmosphere is something that he excels at. The mellotron is a feature of this track, its brooding presence heard under the soaring synths particularly in the first half, before the music erupts into something almost rhapsodic, then calms down again as before and slowly dissolves into part two. A superb piece of music and one of my favourites of his.

'Part 2' is one of his most popular pieces and is often in his live set. It is characterised by a pulsating rhythm throughout and a punchy meandering tune. A good example of Jarre's great rhythmic sense, a feature of his music that is often overlooked by commentators. Another excellent piece.

'Part 3' is the shortest track on the album, some would say filler, but is a good finish to the first half of the album. It features a slow bass-drum-like beat under a haunting melody that slowly fades away into the sound of twittering birdsong.

'Part 4' was the single from the album and is Jarre's most famous piece, even if you're new to his music you've probably heard this track before - it has been used in everything from commercials to tv and film soundtracks. The single was a big hit in many countries (reaching #4 in the UK) and unsurprisingly it almost always gets performed at his concerts. A simple and catchy tune that belies its clever production.

'Part 5' is in two parts, the first of which is a bit like 'Part 1' with its mellotron and wispish synth line, and it too erupts with strident chords, but the mood here is much lighter. The second part is a sequencer driven track that is dance-like and a great one to listen to on headphones. 'Oxygene 5' is another favourite of mine.

'Part 6' fades in slowly to what sounds like crashing waves and a gently bouncing rhythm after which a fully developed tune begins, more in the vein of 'Part 4' (it was also the 'b' side to the single). The melody eventually fades out until only the crashing waves remain, themselves fading into nothing...

Parts 1, 3, 5 and 6 were rarely played live at his concerts until the 'Oxygene' 30th anniversary tour when he performed the album in its entirety for the first time since 1979.

'Oxygene' has a timeless quality to it and has not really dated, it still stands up well today in the digital age - a sure sign of a great album. My only small gripe is that it's too short, when you reach the end you just want more, but its length is typical of the LP era.

Jarre made a sequel to this album entitled 'Oxygene 7-13' in 1997 and he also re-recorded 'Oxygene' for its 30th anniversary.

For anyone even remotely interested in electronic music, the music of the 70's or just wanting something tuneful and evocative to chill out to, then this is an essential purchase: a landmark in electronic music and a classic album.

NOTE: Don't buy the original 1983 CD Polydor release (which Amazon is also selling) as it's a poor transfer and the sound quality does not do the album justice.

So buy this album, put it on, sit back and breathe the Oxygene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean Michel Jarre's first and best album, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
Jean Michel Jarre broke into the music scene in 1976 with Oxygene... I wasn't around back then, but I've acquired the album and I have one word: PERFECT. Oxygene 1 starts the album off in a nice, lowkey way, very relaxing. Oxygene 2 then comes with the brilliant synths, and the absolutely brilliant chorus, used by Citroen at the moment. Then comes Oxygene 3... a nice break before the big track itself Oxygene 4. Everyone who was alive in 1976 knows this one. Then Oxygene 5, starts of nice and slowly and relaxing, then in comes the synth bass, adding a perfect finish to the perfect beginning. Then the finale (at least until 1997) Oxygene 6, the sea sound sweeping along and the 'bird tweet' noise adding colour to the bass lead.
In case you hadn't noticed, I like this album. I like it very very much, just like I like all of Jarre's other albums very very much... I should know, I've got all of them! 8-)
So, if you want a nice mixture of relaxation and upbeat electronic music, buy Oxygene... you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather of Ambient Sound, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
This guy blazed the trail that enabled bands such as The Orb, Leftfield, Chemical Brothers et al to evolve. Oxygene and the follow-up album Equinoxe were his two most popularly known pieces of work in the UK, but some of his later work manages to eclipse this belter if an album. I can safely say this album will never date ..... its such a unique sound and vibe that it still sounds groundbreaking over 30 years after it was released. When we all talk about musical greats ..Jean Michel Jarre always gets over looked .... goodness knows why. He is quite simply a musical genius, a Mozart of the synthesizer age and after all this time in the business, he still has no true rival. Many have arrived on the scene and flirted with success, but they all lack longevity. Jarre is the maestro and this is still an outstanding album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Soundscapes. Jarre's 1st classic., 18 Jan 2004
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
This was the stage of Jarre's career before the era of "Son et Lumiere". This is good enough reason "alone" to buy this. As wonderful as Jarre's outdoor concerts are (and i've been to a few),they were ironically to become his musical downfall as he compromised more and more,and began writing works more with the next concert in mind,rather than soundscapes. Oxygene and Equinoxe are superb experiments in Soundscapes. Discs where you can put on a good pair of headphones,turn off the lights,close your eyes, and lie back on a bed to be transported to another world,as you ride on the sweeping lush synth sounds and textures. You always reach the end of these early albums,and feel you've been inside a womb and re-born. You were truly in another world for the duration of the work. A psychedelic world where the experimental sounds took you far away. This is why i admire his early work so much. His later work was always fun, but very shallow & cheap at times. Oxygene and Equinoxe are of his very deep and melancholy stage. A young man at a stage of his life trying to understand the world and universe he lives in,and putting it into synth music. Later on,Jarre seemed more interested in image,designer outfits,and as many fireworks as possible. Alas, this early stage of Jean Michel is long gone. Buy this CD today (along with Equinoxe,Magnetic Fields,and Rendezvous) and admire these classics of early synth. Just buy these early classics by him and enjoy them :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whiff of fresh air, that's oxygen, 10 Mar 2007
This review is from: Oxygene (1976) (Audio CD)
My very first instrumental album that wasn't a various artists compilation. Another of my university albums, and another that had an impact. Electronic music at that time was a novelty and Jarre's innovative techniques made this album interesting listening. Twenty years on, I still find it innovative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 26 April 2010
By 
Stephen Degnan (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxygène (MP3 Download)
Listened to this for the first time in years today. Was quite taken by the fact it just has not aged. Yes, everyone comments on how ground breaking it is (debatable, with Eno, Kraftwerk,Karlos,et al). However, it certainly defined a genre of more thematic ambience.

What really threw me, was listening to this immediately after Future sound of London's "Lifeforms" - which was nearly 20 years later. The technology had moved on, and it's certainly a great albums ... but Oxygene holds better over time.

A classic for anyone into atmospheric, electronic or ambient music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest electronic recordings of all time, sounds fresh today, 11 Dec 2009
By 
Justin Keery "eljustinoid" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxygene (Audio CD)
I'm listening to Oxygene 2 right now which is my favourite section of this 6-part epic. It's just soooo good. Despite the monumental difficulties in creating something of this complexity with the technology of the day, Oxygene is something that demonstrated total mastery of electronic composition in a way that no other artist of the time could match - and the crazy thing is I don't think it has been bettered since by anyone including Jarre himself.

The words "timeless classic" were put together for works like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxygene
Oxygene by Jean Michel Jarre (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews