Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten Jeff Beck classic?
Crazy, crazy, crazy. January 2008 and no review of this album? I discovered this one almost by accident, when a friend gave me his vinyl copy to sell. So good that i decided to keep it for myself. Subsequently became majorly difficult to track down in cd form.

Jeff Beck.....a maverick genius. This album, produced by Steve Cropper, using a group which featured...
Published on 26 Jan 2008 by P. B. Koeb

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A must have album for Jeff Beck fans,otherwise nothing special.
Published 4 months ago by keith m.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten Jeff Beck classic?, 26 Jan 2008
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jeff Beck Group (Audio CD)
Crazy, crazy, crazy. January 2008 and no review of this album? I discovered this one almost by accident, when a friend gave me his vinyl copy to sell. So good that i decided to keep it for myself. Subsequently became majorly difficult to track down in cd form.

Jeff Beck.....a maverick genius. This album, produced by Steve Cropper, using a group which featured long-term collaborator Max Middleton on keyboards and Cozy Powell on drums. The album kicks off pleasingly with the ridiculously-titled "Ice Cream Cakes" and keeps on rocking with "Glad All Over". Up next is the Bob Dylan cover, "Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You". For me, it's one of my all-time favourite Jeff Beck moments. Here's a guy who knows when to take a back-seat and play some nice backing guitar licks, before launching into a perfectly-judged two-part solo. "Sugar Cane" is a bit weaker, but "I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You" features more great guitar work.

"Going Down" gets the original second side of the LP going very nicely, before the slightly inferior "I Gotta Have A Song". The album then comes to an end with what are, possibly, two of Jeff's best compositions. "Highways" and the great "Definitely Maybe" bring things to a truly satisfying close, except for the fact that Max Middleton's keyboard work is cruelly truncated at the end of both.

Track this album down, whatever you do!

PS. Got this on at the moment. Does this one rock! Jeff's guitar playing is inspired. Much more than on the "Rough And Ready" predecessor. The good news is that this album can be acquired as part of the Original Classics five-pack product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Beck Group (Audio CD)
A must have album for Jeff Beck fans,otherwise nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sounds, 12 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Beck Group (Audio CD)
I think Definitely Maybe is the best track ever laid down by Jeff Beck. It was great to get this again after 30+ years! Jeff Beck is possibly one of the best guitarists in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Beck in fine form, 13 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Beck Group (Audio CD)
Excellent, especially "Going Down"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jeff Beck Group
Jeff Beck Group by Jeff Beck (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews