Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi-player heaven
I only bought this game recently due to its low price, even though I hardly play on my PlayStation anymore. But Hogs of War is definitely an experience worth re-living.
It's basically a 3D version of Worms, with pigs. Which is probably why it is so addictive. Take control of an army and blow up your enemies in turns. As a World War II mockery, you must command an...
Published on 8 July 2004 by FenderBlues

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hogs of war not living to expectations
Hi, Im David Houston. For me Hogs of War was an okay game but as my title says it didn't live up to expectations. When compared with worms the only advantage was the fact that it was in 3D. There is quite a big disadvantage when it comes to weapons. Another disadvantage was that each "HOG" each took their individual goes one after another. I was hoping that it...
Published on 18 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi-player heaven, 8 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
I only bought this game recently due to its low price, even though I hardly play on my PlayStation anymore. But Hogs of War is definitely an experience worth re-living.
It's basically a 3D version of Worms, with pigs. Which is probably why it is so addictive. Take control of an army and blow up your enemies in turns. As a World War II mockery, you must command an army of pigs and conquer "Saustralasia" in the "Pigcific". You can choose from a variety of armies, sterotyping the British, Americans, Russians, French, German and Japanese (eg Tommy's Trotters as the British). The game is absolutely hilarious. Just listening to the pigs adjusting to the sterotypes, such as the Sushi Swines saying, "The stars and planets are in their correct places, so it is a suitable time for this activity" or part of the Ride Of The Valkyries to theme the German Sow-A-Krauts every time they step up to attack, can be side-splitting.
Although Hogs of War is mainly multi-player based, the Single Player still rocks. You choose an army, and then get to edit and choose which pigs you want to fight. You undergo training to help you get a feel for the weapons, then you take on missions against the computer as you move over Saustralasia and attempt to conquer each region. One of the best things about Single Player is that depending on how well you do, you can earn medals. You start off with a team of grunts, the lowest rank of pig equipped with a bayonet, rifle, 3 grenades and 50 health. Once you earn enough medals, you can choose career paths for your pigs (gunner, espionage, engineer or medic). It's up to you to decide how you want to organize your army - but you may find, for example, that having an espionage is more helpful for a particular ranged situation than an engineer. Once you've chosen career paths and complete missions, you can promote your pigs, which allows them to earn more hit points and carry stronger weapons. Espionage begins as a rather weak class which allows the pig to hide as a weapons crate or a tree, but as the pig is promoted he becomes a sniper who can inflict 40 points of damage to any target (you can even blow up a tank with a sniper rifle, which is a little strange). Depending on how many of your pigs are defeated in battle, those that fight can become gone forever (ie you have to use replacement pigs, and you only have 9 pigs to use, and start over from a grunt), so you have to be as careful as you can. Multi-player is where the fun really lies. You have a variety of different arenas to battle in, and you can play against another human player with or without the computer.
Like Worms, you'll need to develop your skills if you want to become good. Practise throwing grenades and hitting targets with bazookas. Getting a feel for the weapons - which include rifles, bayonets, grenades, bazookas, machine guns and TNTs - is the key to winning battles. You can also utilise vehicles such as tanks or hop into shelters where your pigs can recover health from a MASH tent or just seek cover from a shelter. These can be destroyed though, so watch out! Mine fields are also aplenty in many parts of the game, so it helps to have an engineer on your side as he can spot the mines. Medics are also essential to any team, as casualties on your team are inevitable.
Ultimately Hogs of War brings a much more modern feel to the Worms style of gaming. It is brilliant fun, humourous, and will keep you entertained for hours on end. Nothing beats having Hogs of War to play with some friends on a rainy day. If you like Worms, Hogs of War is an absolute must. If you don't like Worms, Hogs of War is still a must! Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hogs of war/ Multiplay fest, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
Just a quick word on Hogs, aside from the engrossing single player format I would Heartily recommend this game for the multiplayer option alone,It provides an innovative and engrossing evenings entertainment on a different level to worms which is far more tied to its predeccesor "TANX", It can cater for up to eight players (working in teams of two) with quite a nice balance between Hog types. Some of the options become a little irrelevant in this mode (tranquilizer darts etc) but It allows for more personal and vindictive ways to blow up your mates.
The Background Graphics are excellent and the Texture maps smooth and convincing and the landscape occasionaly suprises one with rare but strange glyphs and sudden slippery slopes (generally leading into a mine field) , more custom built deathmatch arenas would have been nice though....
The only major problem with the game is the control system which takes a little getting used to, its very hard to judge angles of elevation in a 3-D environment so the weapons not equipped with sights are considerably harder to use.
Had me hooked for hours when I first played.
Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PHEW! What a SCORCHER! Welcome to Porky Ballistic BLISS!, 31 July 2000
By 
Kevin Crossley "kev_fc" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
HOGS OF WAR! This game is HOG to TROT, with a brilliant and well designed single player game, complemented sublimely by multi-player scenarios so fast and insanely addictive, it's enough to give you the squitters! HOGS is similar to WORMS with it's multiple weapons and cerebrally challenged story line, but there the similarity ends; for HOGS features tanks, gun emplacements and buildings, not to mention a choice of career paths your be-trottered troops can climb the ranks of as you progress through the game. The control method is excellent, and if you persist in your efforts, very soon you'll be subjecting your hapless opponents to pin-point barrages of everything from mortar shells to water-skimmed grenades... it's hard to put into words just how satisfying it is to whip out your flame- thrower and fry up some bacon!
So, in summary, this game would be a great addition to any PS1 gamer's collection; quite simply a work of class and quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hogfather of Wargames, 28 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
This game is brilliant. I am a big fan of the original Worms, but appreciate that for the Playstation age it wasn't the most sophisticated looking piece of software, its strength was the wonderful gameplay. Hogs of War has kept that high standard of gameplay but added a 3D engine that brings the whole thing kicking and squealing into the 21st Century. I played against a friend all evening, and we still spoke to each other afterwards despite some gruelling battles. Magic Darts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Worms Beater, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
Wow, what a great game this is.
I bought this game initially for the multiplayer game but unfortunately I have barely touched on this part of the game as I have been too heavily involved in the single player missions. The structure of the missions are superb and the collection and usage of the promotion points is extremely well balanced. I haven't yet finished the game yet (I'm currently on level 19) and currently have a crack squad of pigs ready to complete the final levels that are starting to get quite tricky.
I have only played a few multiplayer levels and were surprised to find they are special levels for different numbers of players. Most have been great fun to play but I would have preferred it if you could export in your own team of pigs from the single player game, rather than the selection it gives you.
The graphics look very good for an old console and everything is swift and responsive.
The comments by Rik Mayall are not quite as good as they could have been and the enemy AI can sometimes be a little bizarre but overall this game is very well polished.
The comical cutscenes and Monty Python-esque humour and presentation top this game off.
Top stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to Do., 17 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
Picture the scene. It's a cold afternoon, and after your best friend has lugged your newly built PC to the house only to find that G-Wizz has screwed up IE 5. Whatt do you do as you spend the next 6 hours reformatting the PC and installing Windows? Play Hogs, of course! Mix in a couple of cans of Cola and a moany brother and you have THE ULTIMATE timewaster! WOO-HOO!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best game ever, 10 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hogs of War (PS) (Video Game)
you may like worms but compared to this game worms is nothing. although you may not find the idea of going round as a pig that glamorous, this game has the best gameplay ever and the graphics are great too, all in all a great game !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to love the smell of bacon in the morning, 6 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
Hogs of War is the funniest game I have played in a looong while, loosing several nights' of sleep in the process! The need for strategic planning, sly tactics and hair raising action stunts combined with the absolutely adorable little piggies and their many different weapons makes for lots and lots of exitement and laughs. The 25 different levels are varied and get really hard in the end - as do your own pig pen inhabitants. The reactions of your machine controlled opponents varies from game to game even on the same level, so you may be in for a few surprises. Career path choices for your porkers are essential as they determine your later development of skills and weapons use. The interaction between your swine, the landscape and your opponents is almost perfect and gives your infinite possibilities to try each level several times just for the heck of it. Only negative thing is the graphic programming which is impressive but isn't always performing as it should. This game is FUN and very addictive - so get out the old pigskins and start kicking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old great!, 27 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hogs of War (PS) (Video Game)
This game was great back in 99', I had hours of fun with it and longed for it to appear on the PS3 network. My wife saw it on Amazon and jumped at the chance. I got it for my recent birthday and Omg its still great!!
Why they never remade it or made a second I don't know but believe me, forget BF3 and Cod MW 3 for a while and get down to some classic old fun warfare!!! Pigs blowing up pigs with some really clever ideas. Great levels and excellent voice overs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT! ONE OF THE BEST GAMES ON THE PLAYSTATION, 2 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hogs of War (Video Game)
This is definately one of the best games I have played on the Playstation. I know it might sound stupid but it is quite lifelike (even though you play as pigs). It is also one of those games where you can satisfy yourself by getting revenge on other players. The Death Matches are great fun, I strongly recommend them, Rik Mayall`s commentary is very comical and entertaining just like the game itself. The missions require a bit more seriousness but are still great (when you win). Some of the missions require a bit of perseverance but are not impossible. A GREAT GAME 5 OUT OF 5!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hogs of War
Hogs of War by Namco Bandai (PlayStation)
Used & New from: £19.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews