Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film Release Of The Year
This review is of the DVD from the 2014 Masters Of Cinema Restored Edition

So there is no doubt about it, I'll start this review by stating that the restoration is nothing short of stunning.

The previous version I have to compare it with is the 2002 Kino USA, which was considered pretty comparable to the previous Eureka. The difference in picture...
Published 5 months ago by G. Ratcheson

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great film - terrible version
I love this film and was overjoyed to see it re-released on DVD, thinking it would be better quality than my old version - I was wrong

The film itself is, of course, magnificent, but this version 1) has poor picture and sound quality b) lacks the original expressionist style artistic story inserts (instead has boring black and white normal type ones) and c)...
Published on 16 Nov. 2009 by C. Cutter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quality was not poor!, 29 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Das Cabinet Des Dr Caligari [1919] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an utter gem and I really do not see what was so bad with the quality. Yes, there was the occasional WORD that was hard to read, but come on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classic German Expressionist horror film of 1919, 15 July 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
When we talk about the history of motion pictures it is "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" ("Das Kabinett des Doktor Caligari") that has almost always represented the first prime example of the "cinema," where we treat films as art. This 1919 film from director Robert Wiene is the best example of cinematic German Expressionism with angular sets and exaggerated performances by the actors that represented the dementia of the title character. Werner Krauss is the mad doctor ("I must know everything. I must penetrate the heart of his secret! I must become Caligari!"), who uses his somnambulist Ceasar (Conrad Veidt) from his carnival sideshow to do his evil deeds, with Lil Dagover is the damsel in distress. The film is framed by a rather clever plot device that turns the narrative upside down in the end, as a young man (Friedrich Feher) tells the story of Dr. Caligari's visit to the small German town of Holstenwall to an older one, as they sit together on a park bench. The first and last scenes were added because of political pressure that wanted to ensure the film did not represent authority figures as being insane. There is also a strong sense of the film serving as a metaphor for the problmes of post-war Germany.
Whatever the films shortcomings, its classic status is assured by the striking set direction of Hermann Warm. The abstract, expressionists designs provide severely angled corners, crooked lines, and objects highlighted by decorative stripes. If "The Battleship Potemkin" opens us up as students of cinema to the possibilities about montage, then "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" does the same for mise-en-scene. The film also establishes many of the conventions of the horror film (e.g., the mad scientist, beauty and the beast), although, surprisingly enough, the basic storyline has never been remade. Consequently, although the film has been remade in 1962 and 1991, neither effort has made a dent on our impressions of the original. "Nosferatur" may be the most famous of the German horror films, but ("Das Kabinett des Doktor Caligari" was first and overall the more influential film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic German Expressionist horror film of 1919, 8 Feb. 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
When we talk about the history of the "movies" it is "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" ("Das Kabinett des Doktor Caligari") that has almost always represented the first prime example of the "cinema," where we treat films as art. This is the best example of German Expressionism with angular sets and exaggerated performances by the actors that represented the dementia of the title character. Werner Krauss is the mad doctor, who uses his somnambulist Ceasar (Conrad Veidt) from his carnival sideshow to do his evil deeds, with Lil Dagover is the damsel in distress. The film is framed by a rather clever plot device that turns the narrative upside down in the end, as a young man (Friedrich Feher) tells the story of Dr. Caligari's visit to the small German town of Holstenwall to an older one, as they sit together on a park bench. There is also a strong sense of how the film serves as a metaphor for the destruction of post-war Germany.
Whatever the films shortcomings, the classic status of this 1919 film directed by Robert Wiene is assured by the striking art direction. The abstract, expressionists designs provide severely angled corners, crooked lines, and objects highlighted by decorative stripes. If "Then Battleship Potemkin" opens us up as students of cinema to the possibilities about montage, then "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" does the same for mise-en-scene. The film also establishes many of the conventions of the horror film (e.g., the mad scientist, beauty and the beast), although, surprisingly enough, the basic storyline has never been remade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true horror classic..., 2 May 2000
By A Customer
O.K. call me old fashioned, but I was really drawn to this old German silent film, mainly because of its sinister, eerie tone, also my facsination of the character 'Cesare'(Conrad Veidt) whose gothic, creepy presence was intriguing. Sure this film is over 80 years old but a lot of people may find that the plot is still effective today, and I consider this film to be better than a lot of the modern horrors. Its slow in places, the picture quality isn't perfect and the entire film has organ music playing, but if you a true film fan and horror fan, then give The Cabinet Of Dr.Caligari' a try. I did and to my surprise, I was entertained...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The oldest must-see film for horror fans, 4 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Cabinet of Dr Caligari [DVD] (DVD)
Caligari is essential viewing if you have an interest in seeing how film techniques developed, or in understanding the genesis of the horror movie. It doesn't follow that you'll enjoy the experience, but it is guaranteed that you won't forget it. The film has a strange other-worldy feel that exerts a bizarre fascination, sort of Thomas Ligotti meets a silent stage version of Carnivale. The story is one that is the cornerstone of many a horror tale featuring a mad scientist, a sinister carnival show, an insane asylum, a murderous sleep-walker. Even more impressively the tale has a clever flashback framing story structure and features one of the earliest and most effective plot twists, one that will be surprising and yet be familiar to horror fans.

The acting comes, of course, from a different era, being effectively pantomime like in its excessive displays of emotion that appears odd even if you've seen plenty of other silent cinema. But the acting works because it fits into the unifying style of a film that features sets that provide some of the most bizarre ever presented on screen, and highly influential for films like Frankenstein. They are angular and unreal or often just painted backdrops. This expressionist vision helps to create a dream-like mood that is distinctly creepy. Most satisfyingly the sets tell you things about the state of mind of the characters and ultimately they have a role in explaining what the story has been about.

So, this is worth watching if you have an interest in this sort of thing, although, like me, I have a feeling that even if you don't enjoy it the first time, a few years on it'll draw you back in to watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream a little dream of me (The Mamas and Papas), 1 July 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Two men are sitting on a cement bench by the garden wall. One casually says there are evil spirits all around. As a woman in white glides by the second man Francis (Friedrich Fehér) says that is my fiancée Jane (Lil Dagover) and let me tell you what happened to us.

As his story begins we are subjected to a weird world of light and twisted shadows. A strange Dr. (Caligari played by Werner Krauss) brings a somnambulist (sleeping man played by Conrad Veidt) to a local fair. The somnambulist knows all things and can predict the future; he prophesizes correctly Allan's (friend of Francis and rival for Jane's hand) murder and pilfers Jane from her bed chamber. But how can this be; as Francis has been keeping an eye on the doc and the snoozer all night and they have not moved?

I leave you with this thought "Du mußt Caligari warden"

The Ufa Story: A History of Germany's Greatest Film Company, 1918-1945 (Weimar and Now: German Cultural Criticism, 23)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor film quality, better restorations available, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinet of Dr Caligari [DVD] (DVD)
This review is for the Silent Classics version.

I had never seen this film before, and even amongst silent films it is odd. For the most part it is set on a stage set, so it looks like a rather expressionistic panto. The story concerns a somnambulist who is under the control of Dr Calgari, but the plot manages to pack in a few twists and surprises.

The film quality was very poor throughout, I checked and there are currently better quality restorations available on Youtube. Even in this poor state it is a remarkable and striking film, but difficult to recommend this particular version of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars German Expressionism at its cinematic height, "Das Cabinet des ..., 7 Dec. 2014
By 
J. N. Valente "jnscav" (Evora, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Das Cabinet Des Dr Caligari [1919] [DVD] (DVD)
German Expressionism at its cinematic height, "Das Cabinet des Doktor Caligari" is an extraordinary silent film. Its experimentalism is perfectly coherent with this artistic movements (un)rules. Distorted settings, horror superimposed upon them and an astonishing use of photography and art direction. Conrad Veidt as Cesar is beyond all superlatives. Superb film making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's also a b*****dy good yarn. Philip, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic silent from the FW Murnau Stiftung. Newly restored and tinted print, and before tyhe ascendancy of Hitler and Nazismthis is a must see for all those interested in the Silent film and the early history of the 20th century in Germany following the debacle of World War and prior to the ascendancy of Hitler and Nazism. It's also a b*****dy good yarn. Philip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 90 year-old film still years ahead of its time., 3 April 2010
This review is from: Cabinet of Dr Caligari [DVD] (DVD)
THE masterpiece of German Expressionist cinema,combining fine art,theatre and contemporary psychology to provide an immensely powerful experience both deeply disturbing,but deeply thought-provoking.
Its influence on later cinematographic and directorial techniques is obvious and it leaves the audience astonished that all this was achieved in 1919.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Das Cabinet Des Dr Caligari [1919] [DVD]
Das Cabinet Des Dr Caligari [1919] [DVD] by Robert Wiene (DVD - 2000)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews