Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Corsaire
Although a bit old -- 1989 -- this is a beautiful work. The plot is ridiculous and very chauvinistic but the dancing is marvellous. Ali is a flyer as are Lankedem and Birbanto. Conrad has a very stilted role to play. But the ladies!! Gulnara seems to dance on air. Medora -- Altynai Asylmuratova -- is the supreme ballerina. She dances with her whole body -- feet, legs,...
Published on 17 Mar 2005

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous performance marred by poor video quality
My 3* rating is placed with some trepidation when viewed alongside 9 unanimous 5* reviews! Please don't get me wrong the artistry of the performers is 5* plus. However, the overall review must surely include the technical quality of the production and in particular the video quality?

In my opinion the video quality is mediocre to poor meriting only 1 star at...
Published on 12 Nov 2010 by Nigel Mc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Corsaire, 17 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Although a bit old -- 1989 -- this is a beautiful work. The plot is ridiculous and very chauvinistic but the dancing is marvellous. Ali is a flyer as are Lankedem and Birbanto. Conrad has a very stilted role to play. But the ladies!! Gulnara seems to dance on air. Medora -- Altynai Asylmuratova -- is the supreme ballerina. She dances with her whole body -- feet, legs, torso, arms, face, wrists and fingertips and she seems to love dancing. And she is beautiful. Where necessary she is unsmiling but at other times her perormance is ravishingly beautiful. The pas de deux in the Corsairs' Cave when all others seem to have gone is of supreme beauty -- a young girl utterly in love.
Buy it -- you will never see her like again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet Heaven, 13 April 2007
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a Live Performance (very important) filmed in the Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg, Russia. When it was filmed in 1989,the Ballet Company was still called the Kirov, as was the Theatre, St Petersburg was still Leningrad and Russia was still the Soviet Union.

The Production is simply wonderful. Altnai Assylmuratova is c 27 in this production, just coming into her prime as a classical dancer. Zaklinsky (her husband in real life) is Lankedem and plays the role beautifully and with humour. Pankova as Gulnara almost steals the show - she was probably only in her late teens or early 20's at that time - but she was stunning.... the most beautiful legs and a beautiful jump. Farouk Ruzimatov was at that time very much applauded and idolised - have to say I never thought he was that good. but his own brand of narcissism was perfect for the role he played. (watch the expression on Assylmuratova;s face during the big pas de trois)

Kirov/Mariinsky Ballet at it's best - in their own Theatre where thay have the space to move. Pure spectacle and superb dancing. Don't miss it!!!

Corps de Ballet are exquisite as would be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ravishing performance, 1 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have seen no less than three Corsaire's now in different productions and this is easily the best. The dancing is absolutely superb, the costuming and sets are beautiful and the whole production is a joy.
The casting is:- Conrad - Yevgeny Neff, Medora - Altynai Asylmuratova, Gulnara - Yelena Pankova, Lankedem - Konstantin Zaklinsky, Ali - Faroukh Ruzimatov.
Although Pankova is my favourite of the Kirov's dancers and she is beautiful as Gulnara, I loved Asylmuratova in this performance and the whole company's performance sparkled throughout. The production is exciting and never flags for a second, and you're on the edge of your seat the whole time waiting for the next piece of fantastic dancing, to the point that you want to watch it all over again when it's finished. The section entitled Le Jardin Anime is particularly lovely and the Pas de Trois which was made famous as a Pas de Deux by Fonteyne and Nureyev is also wonderful.
Buy this. I can't recommend it too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compare with current live productions, 9 Sep 2007
By 
Arthur Wyatt (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I thought this was wonderful but when I saw Svetlana Zakharova dance Corsaire at the ENO / Bolshoi on 30/07/07 her performance became the most beautiful experience of my whole lifetime! So buy this one but at the same time get to see the Bolshoi and if their latest production appears on DVD, get it right away as it might reach the standard of "The Pharoh's Daughter" - The best ballet DVD to date (on Amazon).
The Harem scene is very beautiful. It appears that since that time, the rivalry between St Petersburg and Moscow is producing an extremely high standard indeed. This DVD shows a standard set at the time, that only the very best in the World can attempt to beat. So put it this way. This is the best recorded performance of the 20th Century setting a high standard which the two great ballet companies are now trying to surpass. A historic performance from the CCCP USSR and on my 32" screen the sound and video are between good and excellent. Like the Bayadere, current 2007 productions now have some considerable changes to the storyline so you will see major differences if you see it live. This USSR version has a historic value reflecting the high quality of performances at the end of the Soviet Union. Most other performances from this source suffer inferior sound and vision but not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous performance marred by poor video quality, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Nigel Mc (The Chilterns) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
My 3* rating is placed with some trepidation when viewed alongside 9 unanimous 5* reviews! Please don't get me wrong the artistry of the performers is 5* plus. However, the overall review must surely include the technical quality of the production and in particular the video quality?

In my opinion the video quality is mediocre to poor meriting only 1 star at best. For many people this will detract from the overall enjoyment of the performance, irrespective of the wonderful performance of the dancers and there are truly wonderful performances to savour. I agree wholeheartedly with the glowing testimonials of the other reviewers in respect to the performance. However, it is perhaps surprising that there have been no comment on the poor recording quality.

The audio is quite acceptable but the video should not be viewed on screens larger than 42". I accept the fact that the video was made in 1989 and that technological allowances need to be made accordingly. Nonetheless, many, many dvd's of this age and older will be presented in much better quality than this disc.

In the first Act I had decided to sell this dvd the very next day. However, the stunning dancing in the 2nd Act convinced me that I had to keep the disc irrespective of my disappointment with the picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sheer joy to watch, 30 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Based loosely on a poem by Byron about the struggle between the Greeks and the Ottoman Turks, this less well-known masterpiece by Petipa is a sheer joy from start to finish. Leading dancers of the Kirov Ballet act and dance joyfully in this ballet of Orientalism.

Yevgeny Neff is in the role of Conrad, the leader of Greek "corsaire" (pirate), and Faroukh Ruzimatov is his servant friend, Ali. In the pas de trois (danced by Conrad, Ali and Medora), brooding Ruzimatov exhibits his arched back and puffed torso.

The comical character role of the slave trader, Lankedem, who sells lovely Greek maidens to randy Turkish pashas, is played by Konstantin Zaklinsky who is a very good actor.

The main ballerina's role of Medora (who is twice captured and twice rescued) is danced by Altynai Asylmuratova with superb artistry and technical virtuosity. Her dancing in "Le Jardin anime" (which is supposed to be a pasha's harem) in Act 3 is ravishing. The role of her companion, Gulnara, is danced by Yelena Pankova; she is so light and fluent in her dancing. There is a superb trio of odalisques which recall the variations (solo dances) in the Kingdom of the Shades scene in La Bayadere.

The corps de ballet and young students of the Vaganova Academy are most charming in the sequence of classical divertissements, which recall the garland dance from The Sleeping Beauty. Acting and miming skills of the whole ballet company are fully displayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PERFECT PERFORMANCE by the PERFECT KIROV BALLET, 2 Jan 2001
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
There are no words to discribe this performance. All the artists are perfect and although I have seen that DVD so many times I love to see it again and again. And everytime it looks to me more beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great performance and dancing, 14 April 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Le Corsair is a ballet created from music by different composers, and frankly the plot is just an excuse for some really stunning dancing.

This performance excels everywhere, colourful costumes and stage sets, and the Kirov dancers all rise to the virtuoso requirements of the choreography.

However as a drama the ballet does not capture my imagination, and virtuoso dancing in isolation is just that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the top 3 or 4 ballets ever on DVD., 18 Nov 2008
By 
E. Coolican "karajan lover" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Almost flawless throughout with sublime dancing all the way, with surely the worlds best dance troupe at the time.You really cannot go wrong, and can I recommend another from the top three? indeed I can, find yourself on a desert island with this and la bayadere by the paris opera ballet under Nuroyev.Sorted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars some of the greatest dancing ever seen anywhere I should think- cutting edge stuff!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
You wont see so many technically difficult dance moves executed so often and so well and so in keeping with the music as
you will see on this dvd. Even people who dont consider themselves to be ballet fans will appreciate the quality of these performances.
You could hav e paid a hundred pounds for a ticket to see this and would have thought it was money well spent.
I wonder how often dancers of this quality come together on stage.Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001]
Le Corsaire [DVD] [2001] by The Kirov Ballet (DVD - 2000)
16.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews