Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Even Better on DVD
Having owned the videotape of this program I was pleased to get the new DVD version. It has additions to the tape. For one thing, although conducted primarily in English, there are English subtitles for those bits that are conducted in languages other than English. And there are also Japanese, Spanish and French subtitles for those who wish them. Some of the film footage...
Published on 21 Feb 2004 by J Scott Morrison

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Sorry to say that, unfortunately, I can not comment on the content of this dvd which was ordered as a Christmas gift from myself. When it was opened fully in the New Year (the Amazon parcel was of course opened earlier for wrapping) it contained the dvd "Art of Violin" even though the packaging was for "Art of Piano"! Amazon were unable to replace the item so are giving...
Published 21 months ago by cag


Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Even Better on DVD, 21 Feb 2004
By 
J Scott Morrison (Middlebury VT, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Having owned the videotape of this program I was pleased to get the new DVD version. It has additions to the tape. For one thing, although conducted primarily in English, there are English subtitles for those bits that are conducted in languages other than English. And there are also Japanese, Spanish and French subtitles for those who wish them. Some of the film footage is simply magnificent and extremely rare. For instance, one sees the elderly Francis Plante playing brilliantly; born in 1839, he had actually heard Chopin play! There is some tendency to cut away from music footage in order to continue the voice-over narration, and that is understandable, but it is also occasionally frustrating. Some have complained that there are only two female pianists represented - a long and impressive bit with Dame Myra Hess, and an uncredited bit underneath the credits with Annie Fischer - but then there are plenty of other male pianists who could have been included, too. The makers of the film only had two hours with which to work, so one can understand the omissions. There is a minimum of fawning, a fair amount of substantive information - both plusses. For those of us who are fascinated by both piano technique and ever-changing pianistic styles this DVD is indispensable. It was wonderful to see lengthy bits featuring, among others, Benno Moiseiwitsch, Josef Hofmann, Claudio Arrau, Emil Gilels, Sviatoslav Richter, Arturo Benedetto Michelangeli, György Cziffra, Alfred Cortot, Arthur Rubinstein and to have interviews with current musicians like Sir Colin Davis, Steven Kovacevich, Daniel Barenboim, Piotr Anderszewski, Tamás Vasáry, and Gary Graffman.
Recommended.
Scott Morrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars priceless stuff, 27 Aug 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Many of the great names are covered here, and it makes for a thrilling ride right from the opening montage of the Appassionata that changes between pianists: Solomon, Arrau, Hess, Richter and Rubinstein all pass the baton. The film is very well threaded together, and some of the excerpts are reasonably substantial. There is also a continuity through another Beethoven work, the Concerto no. 4, which we see various parts of performed by different players. Rubinstein is particularly memorable in the first movement, which is one of the highlights, as is some late Beethoven played by Arrau. Cortot makes a memorable impression talking through his playing of the last movement of Schumann's Kinderszenen to a pupil. There is some fantastic magic here. The most virtuoso is Cziffra - I don't think I've ever seen anything quite to equal his hands in the Liszt Grand Galop Chromatique. Edwin Fischer is perhaps the most surprising personality. Each pianist is revealed and seems momentarily to be even more remarkable than the last, but really all this footage is phenomenal. One section of Horowitz's hands in slow motion is incredible - like racehorses over the keys. It is unfortunate there are so few women pianists represented - Annie Fischer is heard but not seen, leaving only Myra Hess to hold the banner aloft. There have certainly been a number who should be placed alongside the ones we do hear: Maria Yudina, Youra Guller, Clara Haskil, to name but three. It also seems remiss not to have included Vlado Perlemuter and Samson Francois, the latter surely being as great a Chopin player as there has ever been. The commentaries by people like Barenboim and Tamas Vasary are always revealing: Colin Davis likens Arrau's hands to paws that have immense power, going right into the keys, but without aggression ... It is a marvellous tribute and helps to keep the torch alive alongside the pianists of today, also fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master piano performances, 14 Dec 2001
By 
Mrs R M Martin (Godalming, England) - See all my reviews
Here is an opportunity to discover some of the finest pianists of the 20th century. A stimulating repertoire of moving performances by the very best of musicians. Detailed examination of hands devouring and stroking the piano (usually a Steinway) in original performances. Interpretations dating back to Beethoven passed through generations of teachers to modern performances. Pertinent comments by reknowned pianists and conductors like Barenboim and Colin Davis on recordings from the archives. From Myra Hess in the National Gallery in 1942 to Horovitz in the Carnegie Hall in 1968, from rare performances by the 'note-perfect' Michelangeli to the dramatic performances of Richter, there is a unique opportunity to discover the style and genre that have influenced and shaped the interpretation of piano performances of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20th century piano playing at its best, 4 Sep 2013
By 
D. Bateman (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Thia reviiews the playing of some of the best classical pianists of the 20th century, with explanattions of what made the individual pianists special from various pundits as listed above. It has the advantage that most of the footage was shot before producers had the resources available to them today. The sound, although I believe it has been enhanced, is sometimes less than perfect but this is a small price to pay for not having the fancy camera angles and frequent changes of shot we have to endure now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely DVD of 20th Century pianists, 17 Jan 2013
By 
D. F. PENNANT "dfpennant" (Woking, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I found this very interesting and informative, and worth watching more than once. It is astonishing what some of these people can do. I feel awed and humbled. Wonderful. Also a helpful corrective to all my beginner piano pupils!
I was struck that almost all the performers were white haired males. Curious.
My copy of the DVD said Art of Violin on the actual disc, which was disappointing, but I like the violin, so I decided to watch it anyway and it turned out to be Art of Piano after all. So check it out if you have a faulty label - don't assume it is the wrong disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting and compelling DVD on 20th C pianists, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The DVD 'The Art of the Piano' features great pianists of the 20th Century. The DVD is riveting from start to finish. The beauty of sound and individuality of these players is in stark contrast to what is heard today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Sorry to say that, unfortunately, I can not comment on the content of this dvd which was ordered as a Christmas gift from myself. When it was opened fully in the New Year (the Amazon parcel was of course opened earlier for wrapping) it contained the dvd "Art of Violin" even though the packaging was for "Art of Piano"! Amazon were unable to replace the item so are giving me a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 3 April 2007
This review is from: The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This Dvd is quite good yet a little boring at times. The pianists are fantastic and it's nice to hear my favourite instrument being played by the best.

If you're not used to Classical music however this can be a hard DVD to watch and none of it is memorable either, but still worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000]
The Art of Piano [DVD] [2000] by Sir Colin Davis, Egveny Kissin, Gennadi Rozhdestvensky, Tamás Vásáry, John Tusa, Rachmaninov, Artur Rubinstein, Sviatoslav Richter, Horowitz, Jan Paderwski, Gould, Claudio Arrau, Edwin Fischer, Emil Gilels Daniel Barenboim (DVD - 2000)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews