Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Blu-ray!
I won't write a review of the film, 'cause, let's face it, if you're thinking about buying this, you should've seen it or heard about it; and if you haven't, you could read a far more comprehensive review somewhere on the web by a far more informed authority than I. And I'm not going to write a detailed review of the Blu-ray disc either, because I'm not qualified to do...
Published 13 months ago by MPS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value
Watch this when it first came out on VHS yes old school. As cheap got it and still enjoyed but does show its age.
Published on 3 Dec. 2012 by No One


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you buy it on blu-ray, 26 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Okay,

I was being a cheap skate and bought this on DVD. Well, the DVD was released back in 2000 and I don't think anyone bothered remastering it. The picture quality on the DVD is pretty bad. I own a HD box, and just like you can never go back to cassettes after you buy CDs, the same applies with DVD discs and blu-ray.

What about the film? Well, it does have a bit of a slow start but once it gets going it's a cracker. This is the first time I have seen it since the eighties, and my haven't things changed! I don't think Michael Douglas's character would get away with such aggressive behaviour these days. The one let down in the story is the punch up with Michael Douglas and Sato. It seems out of place in an intelligent thriller like this, plus Douglas looks like he's been on the pies. The fight scene seems like something out of a Steven Seagal film, only Seagal would make it look way better.

The MAIN reason you have to watch this though is for Ridley Scott's direction. Even in poor quality DVD, the pictures he comes up with are incredible. Japan, or any other location, has never come more alive than in Mr Scott's hands. You feel totally immersed in the Japanese section of the film, and almost as if you have been there. Sure, the story isn't all that, but Scott's direction could make plumbing look amazing.

A great movie which I strongly recommend you buy in its blu-ray format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Gowlett "mgow55" (united Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD is so poor of this Ridley Scott film, the blu ray is what you expect from it, lovely picture and sound. Tokyo at night is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 April 2015
By 
Charles Osborne (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
gritty & culttually inlighting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite a good film, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
The setting seemed unusual for a thriller type of film. Never the less, I would recommended it as its highly watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 24 Nov. 2000
By 
Dworczyk Krzysztof (Warsaw/Warszawa, Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Rain [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
Real masterpiece! Especially MR. D. and Garcia with his early spanish accent! Superb photo-work and Zimmer music. SEE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
a little disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
as described, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Mar. 2015
By 
J. A. Heywood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Another great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
What an epic movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars now on blu-ray, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
James Chastney (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The classic 80's film now on blu-ray - picture and sound is a lot better on DVD even the old dvd playing on the blu-ray player. so worth buying even if you own the dvd for better viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Rain [DVD] [1990]
Black Rain [DVD] [1990] by Ridley Scott (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: £1.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews