Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Get An Attitude, Attitude, Attitude!
Track "attitude" has just that. Very satisfying.
this album is excellent, thoughtfully crafted most of the time. So MJ, why did you see it fit to insert little pieces of sub-standard MCeeing?
The album as a whole is quality. I just got the distict feeling at times that it was a mixture of MJ Cole's true work, and some other stuff to make it more...
Published on 19 May 2001 by Stephen Ritchie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting touches but not sustained
I bought this based on reviews, not actually having heard any of it (a bit risky I know).
I believe this has been nominated for the Mercury award and is being hyped as the 'New Forms' of Garage. Unfortunately it doesn't come close.
I'm not a big listener of the genre so I didn't know what to expect. The first track 'Introduction' is very intriging with a...
Published on 9 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Get An Attitude, Attitude, Attitude!, 19 May 2001
By 
Stephen Ritchie (Tunbridge Wells, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
Track "attitude" has just that. Very satisfying.
this album is excellent, thoughtfully crafted most of the time. So MJ, why did you see it fit to insert little pieces of sub-standard MCeeing?
The album as a whole is quality. I just got the distict feeling at times that it was a mixture of MJ Cole's true work, and some other stuff to make it more commercial to the hard-core UK garage fans (who often wont go near anything without an MC on it!). A strange mixture then, of silky vocals and violin backdrops, to some more dissappointing "underground" beats that really arent achieving alot. The latter style is very much in the minority here. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather of UK Garage Releases His Sincere Debut Album, 11 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
MJ Cole is one of the most successful producers in the UK garage scene if not in the whole UK music business. Acts queue up to get his remix treatment and he scored a massive club hit with "Sincere" in 1998. Even so, MJ Cole hadn't released an album until this summer after scoring Top 10 success with "Crazy Love" and a Top 20 hit with "Sincere", two years after it had become massive in UK clubs. The expectation was high and to boost the anticipation, the album was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize Award even before its release. After to listening to the album you can tell that it's lived up to its hype. Whereas some 'garage' acts have successful chart hits because the music is so commercial, MJ Cole shows that he can make 'real' garage music. The album is very soulful and you can tell that he is a classically trained musician as the album is not just full of samples. The tracks don't all sound the same and the choice of guest singers works really well. The only criticism that I'd have of the album is a couple of weak tracks especially the last one, "Free My Mind". MJ could have made do with 14 tracks and keep a high quality rather than fill up the album with a couple of poor tracks. However, the strong tracks are really good. "Bandelero Desperado" is especially good because it comes as a really nice surprise just as you're getting into the garage/soul style. It wouldn't sound out of place on a Basement Jaxx album and the piece uses a really sophisiticated choice of instrumentation. MJ Cole is different and he's around to stay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Purchase for those who enjoy garage, 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
Well, having managed to procure this CD from a friend 4 months ago I can safely say that he's gonna have to try very hard to get it back from me! This has to be one of the best garage releases of the year, and this is mainly because of the diversity of the tracks.
The Introduction sets the tone for the rest of the album, and has one of the best bass lines I've ever heard in a garage track. Some people say that his more 'souly' tracks such as Rough Out Here and Free My Mind detract fromt he album, but personally I think these are the best on the whole CD. They just show what can be done with Garage music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK Garage at its very best, 1 Oct 2000
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
MJ Cole effortlessly encompasses all the best elements of late 80's Classic 'Ten City' sound and 'Soul 2 Soul' combining contemporary basslines, sweet jazzy rhodes, kick ass beats and a production to die for. If Whitney ever sounded this good I'd be her number one fan! Without doubt THE Garage album of 2000 and every bit MUSICAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars About time, a CD that is consistent from start to finish, 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
I must admit, when placing my order for this CD, I was a bit dubious on whether I was going to receive yet another CD which had just a couple of good tracks on. I was definately impressed, yes, Crazy Love and Sincere have been over played, but the layout of the tracks made a change from the monotonous beats which seem to a regular thing these days. I love being able to play the whole CD from start to finish. I think that Hold on to Me is great. I hope that I also hear more from Elizabeth Troy in the future. In my opinion - well done M J Cole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a while, but wworth waiting for., 22 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
This album is the one for the year 2K. Matt Coleman has been itching to release his first album, which comes at a time when UK garage is at its best. It is like a most welcome breath of fresh air in a time when dance music has hit the lean and unintresting period of too many Ibiza anthems being loaded onto our shelves. MJ has been re-mixing toons from time. Tracks on the albumrange from the haunting Sincere to the foot tapping, if you ain't dancing to this you must be ..... Slum King. Definitely one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as all that., 10 Aug 2000
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
As someone who has been around the underground garage circiut for a number of years, this was an album that really had me excited. Unfortunately, this was mostly things we had heard before. Tracks such as 'You're Mine' and 'Sincere' have been around for ages, but in spite of this, 'Sincere' does manage to blend in a lot of sounds that are a departure from straight-up club stompers. 'The future of the underground' it most certainly isn't, but it's a worthwhile purchase nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A killer, 8 Aug 2000
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
MJ Cole has done us proud with a truly ground breaking conglomeration of laid back, schmoove tracks and up-beat crowd pleasers. Particular songs to watch out for in the future are 'You're mine' 'Attitude' and 'Tired Games' . Pillars of existing succes lie in 'Crazy Love'and 'Sincere'. This album really is a household must, providing clear proof that UK garage has to be the way forward. Boooooooom! Ben Bovill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sincere (MP3 Download)
Classic UKG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Garage lovers, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: Sincere (Audio CD)
For all back in the day folk this is a must. Anyone who loves garage will appreciate. Not the most mainstream artist ever but definitely timeless classics in there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sincere
Sincere by MJ Cole (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews