Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best single-CD collection of Peggy's music
Many compilations are titled best of or very best of, but this one really is. Most of the collection is made up of Peggy's recordings for Capitol, but EMI (who own Capitol) got permission from other companies to include Black coffee, He's a tramp and Siamese cat song - the most important recordings of those she didn't record for Capitol.

The rest of the...
Published on 15 Dec 2002 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing selection
Not the greatest selection of this excellent singers reportoire. Nevertheless you still get a lot for your money but check out the songlist before buying and see if there may be something better on offer.
Published 16 months ago by M. G. H. Slater


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best single-CD collection of Peggy's music, 15 Dec 2002
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
Many compilations are titled best of or very best of, but this one really is. Most of the collection is made up of Peggy's recordings for Capitol, but EMI (who own Capitol) got permission from other companies to include Black coffee, He's a tramp and Siamese cat song - the most important recordings of those she didn't record for Capitol.

The rest of the collection includes all the essentials including Fever, the novelty song Manana and The folks who live on the hill. I find Peggy's version of Big spender much more appealing than Shirley Bassey's more aggressive version of the song.
This collection demonstrates Peggy's versatility -upbeat swinging songs, slow, sexy songs, Disney songs, Latin-flavored songs and so much more. Of course, it is not possible to do full justice to Peggy's vast legacy in a single CD, but for anybody new to Peggy's music, this is the best one to buy - it's easily the strongest compilation I've come across. Actually, I already had a lot of Peggy's music when I bought this, but it's nice to be able to have so many great songs together, especially as I didn't have the two Disney tracks.

So, whether you are new to her music or (like me) a committed fan, this is sure to provide you with plenty of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great. Thank you, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
She is so magical so we can't go wrong with Peggy Lee. Just great. Thank you,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
The cd was delivered within days and good value for money. Fantastic music from Peggy and especially love The folks who live on the hill. I grew up with her music and it brings back fond memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A star, 14 Dec 2013
By 
P. Peebles "trishoriginal" (Middle England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
This was a gift at the time and was very well received. a disc full of memories, of times when music had a different beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
All the great old numbers of this lovely lady, well worth the money, also goes onto the cloud to play on your Tablet or Computer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one to buy, 19 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
This really IS the best single-disc Peggy Lee collection. Not only does this disc represent Peggy Lee's best work from both the Capitol and Decca years--which you won't find on any of her other one-disc anthologies--but it also favors Lee's most timeless and enduring work as opposed to the novelty hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
Really cheap with every song on my Dad mentioned he loved , this is a birthday present which I know he will be pleased with , brand new & fast delivery , I recommend this seller .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely stuff. Old vinyl recording transferred perfectly into digital. You have to be of a certain age or a jazz fan to appreciate this. Enjoy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely CD, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
I had been looking for a Peggy Lee CD that had all my favourite songs on, this one did, and such good value too. Worth it for my favourites alone ( Fever/He's a tramp/The folks who live on the hill) but there are many many more lovely songs too, I love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Peggy Lee CD, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Peggy Lee (Audio CD)
Bought by my blind friend again who is always playing music and was very pleased with The Very Best of Peggy Lee which she played on her organ to other disabled people alongside the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Peggy Lee
The Very Best Of Peggy Lee by Peggy Lee (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews