Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


123 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and doesn't talk down to users
This really appealed to both my boy/girl twins,just turned 4. It has a very low irritation factor - no silly characters popping up and shouting "well done". Instead, completion of each task is rewarded by a humorous graphic. It is easy for a child to find its way from the menu to the desired game so they can play relatively unsupervised. There is a lot of...
Published on 7 Aug 2001

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I brought this software especially for my 4 year old daughter who is struggling with her phonics in school and was very disappointed with the letters game which is NOT sounded out in phonics. This is confusing for children and misleading as it does state it teaches phonics.
The rest of the games are OK, but both of my children (3 & 4) got bored of it quickly.
It...
Published on 24 Feb 2008 by Mrs. L. J. Woodward


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and doesn't talk down to users, 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Play and Learn: Reading & Counting (CD-ROM)
This really appealed to both my boy/girl twins,just turned 4. It has a very low irritation factor - no silly characters popping up and shouting "well done". Instead, completion of each task is rewarded by a humorous graphic. It is easy for a child to find its way from the menu to the desired game so they can play relatively unsupervised. There is a lot of clicking,holding and dragging (eg to put puzzle pieces in place)so might be hard for the twos and young threes. I would also add that our seven year old loves a couple of the games and even the 10 year old has been caught playing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


171 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and fun package!, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
As a primary teacher and a parent, I felt I had to write a review for this package.
As with all Dorling Kindersley products it is exceptionally well presented. The sound effects and animations on the program help to make the learning process fun and help maintain the user's interest.
Pupils find the software easy to access and are able to navigate around the programme successfully with little teacher/parental guidance. Only limited IT skills are required.
The software makes use of a number of important literacy and numeracy skills and is aimed at children aged 5 - 7(Key Stage 1) although parts of the software can easily be used in the top year of Early Years (Reception). The material is grouped into eight categories, as laid out in the opening screen: Counting Calculating Reading Spelling Thinking Memorising Matching Creating
The choice of categories is well thought out and highly appropriate to the children in the age group for which the software has been written.
Each category branches out into 3 different activities. The content and difficulty of the questions depends upon the level which is selected.
At any stage of the programme, the user may pass onto the next window or return to the previous window by using the bicycles, cars or aeroplanes in the bottom right and left hand corners of the screen.
The software stimulates counting and simple calculations, reading and writing, memory recognition, logical and lateral thinking and creativity. From experience, some of the reading and spelling activities are quite advanced - but I use this package very successfully with children in Reception and Key Stage 1. Younger children are able to access the number, logic and creativity topics on the CD at an earlier stage in their development than the literacy categories.
The main disadvantages of the software are the inability for the teacher/parent to view the success rate of a child when using the program because correct answers are not recorded. Teachers/parents are also unable to view the categories which a child has visited in a session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers what it says on the box., 6 Oct 2002
By 
Skylord (Somerset, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... The CD is easy to run and doesn't need installing on our PC (OS Windows 98 SE). The graphics are of real objects and not cartoons which is really refreshing after the Reader Rabbit and Disney Interactive CD's we have. The sound quality too is excellent and the vocabulary is precise and clear. More to the point, my 5 year old daughter absolutely loves all the activities she has encountered so far and she remains concentrated for over an hour! This is a very impressive piece of software that delivers what it says on the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for ages 3 - 6, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play and Learn: Reading & Counting (CD-ROM)
This is a brilliant software title. It kept my daughter (3) and son (6) occupied for hours - with very minimal intervention from parents.
I can heartily reccomend this title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PC CD-Rom 'Writing & Calculating', 19 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Yes, the graphics are good - but it is irritating that my daughter has to go back, page by page, to return to home page.
Also the activities are in exactly the same order, time after time - why not have a random selection??? This would be a lot more fun, for both child and parents!
The 'Jump Ahead' CD Rom series, for 4-5 years old, is MUCH better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for starters & improvers, 14 Jan 2003
By 
B. Philipson "Johanna" (Gateshead ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play and Learn: Reading & Counting (CD-ROM)
Our 5 year old immediately got stuck in to this, some of it isn't very challenging for him but that sustains his interest if he can actually solve the puzzles without asking for help. Particularly good for improving mouse skills. I'm pretty sure our 2 year old could have a try at some of the games. Graphics good, no annoying songs every time a correct answer is achieved. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 64 bit compatible, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Philip Barnett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although listed as 'Vista Compatible' This software does not run on a 64 bit configuration. Suppliers report no fix available nor planned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Play and Learn: Reading & Counting (CD-ROM)
I brought this software especially for my 4 year old daughter who is struggling with her phonics in school and was very disappointed with the letters game which is NOT sounded out in phonics. This is confusing for children and misleading as it does state it teaches phonics.
The rest of the games are OK, but both of my children (3 & 4) got bored of it quickly.
It is very reasonably priced, but in my view not worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 64 bit compatible, 7 Aug 2010
This review is from: Play and Learn: Reading & Counting (CD-ROM)
Unfortunately I only read the good reviews here before my order and opened the CD to discover that it wouldn't run on our computer (which is less than a year old and runs Windows 7) so had to return it. Disappointing for my son!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, but not really a reading aid, 3 Mar 2003
By 
TDrinkrrr (Reston, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Play and Learn: Reading & Counting (CD-ROM)
My 4 year old has been playing this game since she was 3 and loves it. It's a great game for quiet one-on-one time with a parent (or not-so-quiet time with a smaller sibling!) I have to say that even after a year of playing it, I still sometimes see new screens being displayed. It teaches time, numbers, shapes, sounds, colors in a simple way. But it doesn't do much for reading, so you'll need to get something else for that (eg the dr seuss CDs). It's certainly long-lived; my child started with the shape games and now is playing the connect-4/4-in-a-row game on the CD, so it's grown with her.
So long as your child has dexterity enough to handle click+drag operations, they will be fine with the interface.
Techie note: I run this game on Windows 2000 Pro and it works perfectly except for the maze games, which crash it. But that's not a big loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play and Learn: Reading & Counting
Play and Learn: Reading & Counting by Avanquest Software (Windows 95 / 98 / Me)
Used & New from: 8.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews