Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 30 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
This album has everything . Slow mellow beats building into flowing emotional trance . It is Oakenfold as his ultimate best , i have yet to hear a finer set and i have seen him several times live . It's soo good that i wore it out and had to rebuy another copy . The feeling you get from listening to this album is something else . Dance music just doesn't get any better . This is by far the finest of the global underground series .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2 sides of Oakenfold in 1 Compilation, 24 April 2006
By 
Kratos (Lamia,Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
Paul Oakenfold....

Some people remember him as the absolute,infallible trance god of the 90's,whereas others know him as another great mainstream progressive-dance dj.His change in musical style during the years 2000-2001(and still going) has caused mixed reactions from his fans,turning even some of his biggest "followers" into bitter enemies(Literally).

What does all this have to do with this album you might wonder??

In general,this CD is simply OUTSTANDING.The track selection is expertly made and even though the mixing isn't as skillful as it could(or should)have been,both sets flow really nicely.

CD1 shows the funkier,more "progressive" side of Oaky,or in other words the 21st cenury style.From Mystica's atmospheric,beautiful 'Bliss' to Greece 2000's legendary '3 Drives on Vinyl',this CD is packed with sheer quality tunes that will exhilarate and make you dance through the whole night in equal measure.Effortlessly satisfying and one of the best GU sets,even with today's standards.

CD2 is a set that will appeal more to Oakenfold's older,trance-loving fans,but this in no way means that erst of you should steer clear.The tracks in this one have harder,faster,trancier "character" than those of the previous set,but still have a melodic,melancholic feel to them,with CM's'Dream Universe',Paul's personal mix of Amoeba Assassin's'Rollercoaster' and Albion's 'Air' being the best examples.Another awesome set which everyone should get to know,even if trance or electronica isn't your thing.

Overall,this is a superb compilation that not only exhibits Oakenfold's different-yet-amazing styles making it ideal for those who want to know the big man himself but also guarantees that every single fan will find(and remember)exactly what he wishes for by one of the world's most influential DJs.

Buy it.Now.

And remember,don't take life too seriously!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A album which deserves to be heard by everyone, 19 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
This album is immense. The mix of styles and genres from the mellow to the euphoric means that it can easily be likened to a journey in itself. An absolute lifesaver for me when it came to long mindnumbing journeys through the vast expanses of Canada. Personal faviourite is Virus - Hypnotise. An uplifting but down to earth tune typical of the album. Reminds me of a set played by the man at Sugar Shack, Middlesborough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those cds which takes you into your own utopian world, 1 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
If I had to throw out all of my cds and keep only one, this would be it!!
I bought this CD back in June 1998 and still to this day I have to say it's just a touch more than brilliant! It provided me with the best sound track to my travels in New York and the rest of America that summer, Mr Oakenfold was with me on those long Greyhound journeys. The absolute best tracks for me are Greece 2000: Three Drives on Vinyl and CM: Dream Universe which is the smoothest, euphoric, slap a cheesy smile on your face kind of track. To no result I have tried to find more music from CM, thinking they were possibly Crystal Method, but I don't think they are. This track and all others on the album though really are something different and still the album is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
This album is simply awesome . every tune on both CD's can be regarded as classic . The beats are smooth , the mixing seamless , this album is simply a masterpiece . I've had it ages now and never get sick of it , the best album in my collection by miles . If you haven't got it , buy it , buy it , buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Sublime, 18 July 2008
By 
Alexander L. Feig "Figgy" (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
Some have tried. All have failed. This is THE ultimate house album of all time for the X gen..covers every base, scores all the doors, starts with Einstien and finishes with Hawking.Simply the BEST representative house of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not really a bad word but, 1 Jun 2008
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
I love this album, but it seems no-one ever notices that the first 3/4 tracks on disc 2 aren't even mixed... He more than maks up for it with quality of the tracks but I first heard this album ecommended to me by a friend who could probably do moe exciing mixes himself.

That said, Disc 2 is just a joygasm of absolute belters, not much to say on disc1, maybe trance pop trash if anything... but that's just me.

I only rate the album 4 stars because, for me it shoulda been just the 1 disc(2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY AMAZING, 17 Aug 2005
By 
Daniel Barrett (Newquay, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
I had this album about 5 years ago, lost it and have missed it ever since i bought it just now after a long hunt for it, it is sheer brilliance, i have many great albums but this i can actually say is the best album of its kind words can not describe, no review can describe, u can only listen and feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best GU ever done, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
The pace alters, the set builds and there are a couple of underground anthems. This is possibly the best Global Underground ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 9 May 2001
This review is from: Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York (Audio CD)
Moving on from the Goa mix, this is another seminal Oakenfold mix. I have lost count of how many times I've listened to it. My only wish now is to one day hear something like it in a club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York
Global Underground 7: Paul Oakenfold In New York by Paul Oakenfold (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews