Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spryo 2 what a game
Spyro 2 basically follows the same sort of style as Spyro 1 although instead of freeing the dragons you get taken to Glimmer and have to save Avalar from an evil sorceror who has conquored the land. You still have to collect gems and pay Mr Moneybags to get around and learn how to do things i completed this with my dad and my brother so it suits all ages and abilities its...
Published on 7 Dec. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars displeased
So happy that the game came earlier than said, but without a casing, couple of scratches but still working.
Published 10 months ago by Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spryo 2 what a game, 7 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
Spyro 2 basically follows the same sort of style as Spyro 1 although instead of freeing the dragons you get taken to Glimmer and have to save Avalar from an evil sorceror who has conquored the land. You still have to collect gems and pay Mr Moneybags to get around and learn how to do things i completed this with my dad and my brother so it suits all ages and abilities its also a good game for beginers as their skills can progress as the game goes on. This game is a must for christmas and everyone who has a Playstation or a Playstation 2 should buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gateway To The Best Game Ever, 29 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
I was 7 when I recieved my Playstation 1 and Spyro 2 was the first game i got. I put it in straight away and began playing it and that was when i realised how brilliant Spyro is. It is the perfet platformer jump,charge and beat bad guys. It may look a childish game but it can actually be very hard in some places. You are Spyro who has recently had to save his dragon elders from the evil Gnasty Gnorc and is on his way to a nice holiday in dragon shores when the people from avalar try to get a dragon to help them defeat the evil wizard Ripto and his minions Crush and Gulp.So using the Professors potal to catch dragons the finally manage to catch one and i wonder who it is.Yes it's Spyro and he then has to save the world all over again. This is a superb game and could be played by anyone. It is fun and enjoyable and can be very funny.10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Three Spyros, 2 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
I feel this is the most interesting out of the three Spyro The Dragon games, the only thing wrong with it is that I think some of the levels will be too hard for younger children to play. Although Spyro 3 is more playable, this is a good one to start off on, as the original Spyro is the hardest of the 3 (in my opinion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spyro the amazing game!, 23 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
Wonderful visuals, excellent music, great level design, fun for any age. Don't be put off because it looks cute, this is still a challenging game. There are 29 levels with sub games within each at varying degrees of difficulty to hold the interest. Talisman are collected for completing a level and orbs for completing a mini game. There are a host of strange characters to meet throughout the game. The lack of blood and guts makes a refreshing change. Games of this class, style and overall quality are few and far between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Spyro, 22 Jun. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
Spyro 2 Gateway to Glimmer [aka Ripto's Rage] is the second instalment of the Spyro series for the Playstation. After defeating Gnasty Gnorc n Spyro 1, Spyro, seeking a vacation jumps through one of the traveling portals only to find himself rerouted and thrown out into the world of Avalar with no way home. Spyro finds himself trapped in a world which has been taken over by an evil sorcerer named Ripto; to find his way home Spyro must collect treasure, find the orbs to power the travelling portal and defeat the evil Ripto to restore peace to the world of Avlar.

I found this game enjoyable the first time I played it and now years later having lost my original disc I purchased it again from Amazon. The disc itself is in good condition, some minor scratches but none that affect gameplay all in all everything is in perfect working order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once Upon A Time, In A Brilliant PSone Platformer..., 17 Nov. 2011
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
Length:: 4:42 Mins

(I've recorded a video for this review. It's something of a test to see if my voice is suitable for Amazon public hearing (?!). It is my first video, so there's bound to be a few things I've done wrong. If you're having a hard time hearing my voice, or you're finding it more annoying than a scouser woman having a tantrum, then you can just read the text form of this review below. Enjoy!)

==================================================================================

When I'm bored, and I'm in danger of falling asleep on my hands because of it, there are three things I like to do to get rid of that boredom: Go out for a run; picture myself French kissing Frankie Sandford of The Saturdays; or play a classic PSone game on my classic PSone console. One such classic is Spyro the Dragon, and here he is in his second outing, Spyro 2: Gateway to Glimmer.

Having defeated Gnasty Gnorc in the previous game, Spyro and his dragonfly buddy Sparx are fed up with the bad weather in the Dragon world and decide to take a nice relaxing vacation in Dragon Shores. But instead of getting sand, surf and choc-chip ice creams, the two of them end up in a far away land called Avalar. They've been brought into this world by a group of friendly critters whose world has been overrun by Ripto, a pompous dictator whose height makes Napoleon Bonaparte look like Kevin Nash.

In order to defeat Ripto and his two jokes for henchmen, Crush and Gulp, Spyro has to travel to numerous levels throughout Avalar; rid the levels of any bad guys; and collect orbs and talismans from the upstanding citizens of those levels. Only with these orbs and talismans can he then confront Ripto and co. in boss battles.

The layout of this game is very similar to Spyro's first outing. You have home worlds and in each of the home worlds you have portals leading to levels. You have to defeat enemies and collect treasure, and every level is presented to you is bright, colourful PSone graphics with free-roaming 3D environments. But Spyro 2 introduced new ideas and features that made it an improvement over Spyro 1.

For starters the overall structure of the game feels more organized. Every task you come across comes in the form of an objective set by a level's citizen, which may involve defeating a certain number of enemies, or simply getting a piece of machinery up and running. Successful completion of these tasks is rewarded with orbs and talismans. While some of the tasks have to be completed straight away, others can be left until a later date if you're finding them too difficult. But in any case there's plenty of fun to be had with them, and you'll be more than happy to keep plugging away until they're completed successfully.

Spyro 2 is not just more organized in terms of gameplay. Spyro 1 was a great game, but while there were many dragons to save it did feel somewhat empty in terms of character interaction. In Spyro 2 the game feels more alive and active with the numerous characters to talk to. There's Elora, the leader of the Avalar people who is meant to be some kind of goat...

Elora: I'm a Faun, you dork!
90's Guy: Oh, sorry.

...Hunter; an athletic Cheetah who enjoys a sporting challenge, but is a bit of a wimp when it comes to Ripto; Zoe, a kind fairy who provides checkpoints for Spyro with a wave of her wand; and the Professor, a nice guy who's a little absent minded despite his job title. Then there are the numerous critters you'll come across as you play through the different levels. But there's one person you'll come to hate more the chain-smoking fat uncle you have to visit once a week, and that is Sir Moneybags.

At numerous points in the game you'll come across this itch on the backside of life. You have to constantly pay him to open doors and construct platforms in order to continue with your progress. According to him they're just "small fees." Small fees my...! (clears throat) Well there is one good point about this bear, and that is he can teach Spyro some useful tricks. These are: swimming under water, climbing up ladders, and a head bash move for breaking certain rocks and chests. All of these moves make for a more varied gameplay experience.

Anyone who played Spyro 1 and got somewhat annoyed by not being able to find that very last gem in certain levels will be pleased to know that Sparx has a trick of his own to solve that problem. If you press L1, L2, R1 and R2 all at the same time, Sparx will point in the direction of the nearest piece of treasure, therefore taking a great deal of annoyance out of searching for gems. That said Spyro 2 overall is a little more challenging than Spyro 1 and will keep players occupied for longer.

There isn't too much to criticize about Spyro 2: Gateway to Glimmer. The new moves, the more organized objectives, and the pinch of extra challenge make it an improvement over the first game; whilst the free-roaming levels and catchy music will remind veteran players of why the first Spyro was so much fun to play. Spyro 2 is rather on the cutesy side (even more so than Spyro 1 I'd say), but it's still a fantastic platformer and a classic that must be in every PSone collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPYRO 2, 31 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
Wonderful visuals, excellent music, great level design, fun for any age. Don't be put off because it looks cute, this is still a challenging game. There are 29 levels with sub games within each at varying degrees of difficulty to hold the interest. Talisman are collected for completing a level and orbs for completing a mini game. There are a host of strange characters to meet throughout the game. The lack of blood and guts makes a refreshing change. Games of this class, style and overall quality are few and far between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replayability City, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
This game changed my life. Before i was sure there wasn't a single game that had any real kind of longevity, and still had good replayability. Spyro 2 changed this opinion. I got it for christmas 1999 and since then i have replayed it 5 times - YES!! - i said 5 times!! It was such an engrosing game that when i finished it i couldn't play another game for a month! I just wanted to play it over and over, so thats what i did. This game changed my life, as i now realise that there are cute games that can be well made, have good playability, and longevity, and yet can still have so many mini games that the game never gets repetative. I LOVE THIS GAME! I hope to get Spyro 3:year of the dragon this christmas, and i definately think that i will like it as much if not more than Spyro 2 (if all the reviews i've read are true).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer, 30 Oct. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
I first got my PS2 in say, 2004. As most of you are aware you can insert PS1 discs into a PS2; this was the first thing I did, so we met Spyro again. Now, in 2012 I discovered my PS2 hiding at the back of a cupboard.

Needless to say the first thing I did was set it up, lo and behold Sypro: Gateway to Glimmer was still in there. I started playing it straightaway (obviously). To be fair, the graphics weren't as terrible as I was expecting.. They were bad, certainly, however, I played the game for a good 10 hours over the next week, and when I wasn't playing I was thinking about it. A real classic which you just can't beat!! There really is something for all ages on this game, would never buy a new one I'd just keep it on the PS2, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spyro: a classic game and a must have for any gamer, 2 Dec. 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer (Video Game)
Spyro is a little cute and purple dragon who goes around killing evil monsters in order to save the world from the really evil Ripto. It may sound like a game for children, but it's not as easy as it looks. The spyro series is a unique laid-back gaming experience for anyone who enjoys fighting, flying and flaming enermies. Some challenges are quite hard and in truth really maddening but most of the game is just relaxing and can be done with little or no effort. For playstation, the graphics are reasonable and the variety of levels makes the game more enjoyable. Spyro really is the only game of its kind and i recommend it to anyone who wants to take a break from impossible stressful games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer
Spyro 2 - Gateway to Glimmer by Sony (PlayStation)
£82.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews