Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great boardgame conversion
There are a handful of games which, hand on heart, every ex-child can say they've played, Monopoly is one of them and another is Risk.
The basic tenant of the game is simple, build armies, invade foreign territories and gain a sense of megalomania into the bargain as you attempt to beat up to seven other players in the race for global domination.
Most board...
Published on 7 July 2000 by Chris Russell (amonrag@hotmail...

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Be Riskier...
As other reviewers have noted, this is a reasonable - and mercifully bug-free - implementation of a classic board game. It also runs just fine under Windows Vista, unlike some XP games. My only quibble is that the AI just isn't smart enough in 3 player games. Once you up the number of AI players though it's quite a challenge. A real nostalgia fest, and despite my...
Published on 30 Oct 2008 by Bretonista


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great boardgame conversion, 7 July 2000
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
There are a handful of games which, hand on heart, every ex-child can say they've played, Monopoly is one of them and another is Risk.
The basic tenant of the game is simple, build armies, invade foreign territories and gain a sense of megalomania into the bargain as you attempt to beat up to seven other players in the race for global domination.
Most board game conversations are take-it-or-leae-it affairs, no more than a direct (and rather tedious) port of the original boardgame, Risk, however, uses multimedia elements to really enhance the gaming experience. Soldiers march from territory to territory, cannone fire with an impressive boom and the bodies of the fallen litter the scenery.
Even better is the inclusion of a variety of quality AIs, each of which is pre-programmed to take over the world in it's style of play - which makes an interesting change from the faceless and samey computer-based opposition in other board wargame conversions.
To further spice up proceedings, Hasbro have thoughtfully added a new twist in the form of a simultaneous play mode where player moves are all carried out at the same time - a nice alternative to the turn-based play mode of the classic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Risk II A complete Novice to PC Games, 7 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. G. L. C. Sexton (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
I have recently purchased this software. I am a complete novice to PC Games. I purchased it because I liked the Boardgame as A child.
So this is a novices simple review: Real easy to use and the tutorial is great. Bags of fun, like the real thing....and for me with XP it is compatible also with Nvidia....I would give it 6 stars for the price.
Greg Sexton...Milton Keynes, England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Be Riskier..., 30 Oct 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
As other reviewers have noted, this is a reasonable - and mercifully bug-free - implementation of a classic board game. It also runs just fine under Windows Vista, unlike some XP games. My only quibble is that the AI just isn't smart enough in 3 player games. Once you up the number of AI players though it's quite a challenge. A real nostalgia fest, and despite my misgivings about AI quality it's well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is just like being back at university, 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
You've left university and started living in the real world. You have left behind all those childish things like having a group of freinds who would play risk until the early hours of the morning.
Well, Risk II offers you a touch of nostalgia as it gives you a PC format of the game, and also the chance to play on-line. It truely is like university, with a group of freinds playing the strategy game that beats all strategy games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Risk game, needs more network functionality, 13 May 2007
By 
E. Honary - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
Risk board game has many varieties. The board game itself is one of the most successful and strategic games of all time. It gives the player the chance to exercise many options. It means that you don't have to play in a particular way to win the game. Given a particular board game state, two players can have two different strategies which are valid and both may lead to victory. This is what makes Risk exciting to play in the first place.

Now when it comes to computer games, you are either dealing with AI players or dealing with other humans through the software. Both experiences are different than sitting with a bunch of friends over a table in someone's house.

Nevertheless, the computer version can give you an experience that you may not get otherwise elsewhere. For example, in this version of Risk, you can have endless number of games with the AI and master your tactical muscles. Tactics, as you know are an important layer on which you need to construct your strategy. Repeated games against AI is very similar to repeated games against computer Chess players. It makes you focus on the game. You can no longer take advantage of your opponents' mistakes. This is good because it reduces your unforced errors.

Risk II offers the usual user interface and classic turn-based mode for the Risk board game. It also provides visual effects which some players may find relaxing and amusing. They have now introduced simultaneous game play with phases which somewhat accelerates the game play. The winning strategies however remain the same.

This is a solid game that you can use for hours and enjoy an addictive strategy game.

In comparison with other Risk-variations available in the market, the network play isn't very strong as there is no concept of a lobby where you can go and find players.

If you want to know more about strategies used in this game or discover more Risk game variations, try Total Diplomacy: The Art of Winning Risk also available from Amazon. It also has a dedicated website which contains numerous tactics and strategy guides and scenarios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
I bought this game because the advertisement said it was compatible with windows XP, however, it does crash occasionally. Otherwise a good version of this classic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little Risk, 18 Nov 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
Very basic, provides three variations of the classic Risk whole world scenario. Rather lightweight and not a patch on the later version with large European, Asian and American theatres of operation. The animated action sequences just waste time.
Overall it is uninspiring and only mildly challenging but it passes the time on a wet afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Risk II for Windows XP don't get your hopes up, 26 Aug 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
I played Risk I single player v the computer for years, it was easy to play but frustrating as the computer players had a habit of ganging up on the human! On the positive side it had the option to play scenarios with multi-territories in America, Europe and Asia,as well as the World map and a multi territory world map.

Risk II was more limited as it lacked the continent scenarios and you could only play the world map; it did however have lots of graphics of little soldiers shooting each other, like I needed that ..... I am sure my original Risk II also had options for attack tactics, you could choose flank, frontal attacks etc; its biggest drawback was the spectacular dice rolling ability of the computer, never have I seen so many fives and sixes rolled and that was with the low level computer opponents. Eventually and for no obvious reason Risk II refused to load on my XP and I junked it, it had after all originally been designed for the 95/98.

When I saw Risk II now advertised for the XP I thought I'll have some of that .... but guess what on the disk it says 95/98 although the packing slip says Windows XP/98, and did it load ....NO. Just like my last disk it wouldn't load.

My resourceful daughter tracked down the reason on-line, when 98/2000 was upgraded to XP, Risk II would not run as the codec was no longer installed, (no I don't know what a codec is), for the XP Service Pack 1 a patch was available to install the codec but that is not available for Service Pack 2 or 3 so if you have upgraded and lets be fair who hasn't, the game will not run. The problem is that after the opening screen there are a series of video screens, a revolving Atari symbol, a Microprose symbol and some graphics of the game with little soldiers; I know what these look like as I can see them if I run the game on my old 95.

What my daughter discovered was that by placing a shortcut on my desktop and then adding to the "target" field address a space followed by -noavi the game will run without the video graphics, and it all seems to be there except for the video intro material.

Having said which, it still has incredible dice rolling skills and the tactical attack options seem to have disappeared completely; you still only get world map as well. Still I have it now, I can play it and that's better than nothing for whiling away an evening with my headphones on and Country music playing.

BobB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let loose your Meglomania!, 1 Jun 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
Most of the other reviewers have said it all but nobody's mentioned the stirring music at the beginning of the game designed to get anybody going. It is a stunning version of Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture, which fits very nicely with the time setting of the game; although the theme is slightly lost in that the opening animation starts just the other side of the Moon and then moves toward the Earth. (Did they have spacecraft in 1812?).
Anyway, a superb pick up and play game with a few extras to make the game last, although I must admit I tend to stick with the classic game playing 3 computer adversaries because 9 out of 10 times I end up crushing them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps hubby occupied, 4 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Risk II (PC) (Video Game)
We had this many years ago i.e Windows 97.

Bought this for my husband for Xmas and although I had read several reviews one nearly put me off, it is still a brill game and keeps hubby occupied. Yes it has changed slightly from the old version but if you fancy conquering the world this is for you! and I have never heard my other half say this is not as good as the original. He thoroughly enjoys it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Risk II (PC)
Risk II (PC) by Hasbro (Windows 98 / XP)
Used & New from: 18.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews