Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of its kind - with expansion packs!
After buying the sequel to this game, Rollercoaster Tycoon 2, I figured nothing could beat it. I was wrong. Infact, the orignal game - this very one, is better than its sequel, simply because the main element which all of the greatest ever gaes have incorparated - simplicity!

Without the expansion packs, Rollercoaster Tycoon will appear to be quite a basic game...
Published on 16 Aug 2006 by Picard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great...if it would work!
Not even in compatibility mode would this even come close to working properly, which was a real shame. If you want it to work, I hope you still have your old 90s computer in storage somewhere. I also don't think it's worth £15 anymore, despite being a classic.
Published 17 months ago by CeruleanSun


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of its kind - with expansion packs!, 16 Aug 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
After buying the sequel to this game, Rollercoaster Tycoon 2, I figured nothing could beat it. I was wrong. Infact, the orignal game - this very one, is better than its sequel, simply because the main element which all of the greatest ever gaes have incorparated - simplicity!

Without the expansion packs, Rollercoaster Tycoon will appear to be quite a basic game from the level selection screen. But this is only the begining. A nice easy first level with get you into the rhythm of the game which can take a little while - remembering what all the tabs at the top of the screen do. But soon, it becomes second nature.

Things that require you to really take care of your park are things like hiring "Handymen" to clean up litter, sick (from people) etc. An enetertainer might be a good investment to put at the park entrance, or you can hire Mechanics to fix and inspec rides. Or maybe the park benches have been broken - Better hire some security guards!....

Creating Rollercoasters couldnt be easier once your familiar with the system, and its so so fun when you have plenty of room and money to use. A nice way to build is to send your rollercoaster twisting round the park, with barell rolls, Camera sections, loop-the-loops, in-line twists and more. Or you could be more classic and make a railway that goes right round your park - with stations in between! Or why not even put 2 tracks together so that one train goes one way, and the other in the opposite direction? The possibilites are endless.

As I stated in the title, this game "really" does need the 2 expansion packs - "Loopy Landscapes" and "Added Attractions" packs (Added attractions on Amazon but rare in shops now)to bring out the most of the game. Indeed, with these two packs, you have, what I would consider, the perfect Rollercoaster game, from over 4 different game catergories, from Beginner to the Loopy Landscapes. The extra rides are impressive and creating and lovely park of your dreams wont be a problem once you completed the "objective" for that scenario. And after doing this, its up to you. Start the next level? Continue building this park? You can have just as much fun continuing completed parks, because by then your really rolling in the ££££ !

So, on its own Rollercoaster Tycoon is quite a simple game, but I would deffo reccomend the extra packs for the full atmosphere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not perfect, 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
For the first week or so, RollerCoaster Tycoon is flawless. It's extremely addictive and great fun to play. You can easily waste away an hour of your day playing it without even realising. It's also pretty funny (in a morbid kind of way) if your punters drown, or one of your rides flies off the track and kills everyone on board. But after a while it does start to get a little dull. The fact that the areas for you to build a park are so small is also quite annoying. There's a brilliant selection of rides to choose from, and it's fun to build your own dream rollercoasters. But after you've spent ages building the fastest, tallest and most intense ride you can possibly muster, to see the punters all stay away for fear that it'll be too intense is very, very, very annoying. To sum it up, this is a great game and is loads of fun to play, but it's not perfect. I'd recommend anyone to buy it, but I'd just warn them that it does have some flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fancoasterastic, 4 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
When you have some cash to spend,look no further than Rollercoaster.When I got my hands on this game I was wandering if it would be as good as people said it was.When i firstplayed the game i could only count this money well spent.This game is a masterpiece.This is so much better than Theame Park World. -There are 25 scenarios -Lots of kinds of rollercoasters including wooden,steel,inverted(where your feet dangle),vertical and many more. -There is so many rides that give you a thrill such as Log Flume,Go Karts,Launched Freefall(playstation ride),Top Spin. -There are gentle rides too such as merry go round,spiral slide,Dodgems,Boat Hire. -Water ride,s too such as water slide,River Rapids,Boat Hire,Log Flume. -There are lots of stalls such as toilet,burger stall,pop corn stall -you can build rides underground. -Advertise your park.
On my opinion buy it.Don't forget the Expansion Pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, fun, strategic, and addictive!, 23 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
A work of art by Chris Sawyer!
Realistic: Loan money from the bank, advertise for your park, and all of the common theme park breakdowns (including fatal crashes... er...! ) Realistic attractions, including Monorail, Steel Roller Coaster, Inverted Roller Coaster (e.g. Alton Towers' "Nemesis"), Vertical Roller Coaster (e.g. Alton Towers' "Oblivion"), River Rapids (take a coat!), Information Kiosk (hope you can read a map!), Burger Bar (more ketchup!), Drinks Stall (Hic!), and much more... including the staff.
Fun: Watch your guests ride your attractions, AND BE SICK (YEUCH!).
Strategic: "Should I loan a grand?" "Should I put a loop-the-loop there?" "Should I hire another mechanic?" "What price should I give an umbrella?" Some of these questions may sound stupid, but it is part of your job as Park owner.
Addictive: You won't be able to stop once you start!
This game is somewhat superior to Theme Park, just like Xan is superior to the human race (Unreal Tournament players will know what I mean!)
You won't be wasting your money, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely the best management game ever?, 18 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Rollercoaster Tycoon laughs at the likes of Theme Park World from its perch at the pinnacle of mangement gaming. Why? It's just too darn addictive.
The rides are flawless. You can spend hours tweaking a rollercoaster to get just that little bit less G-force, or just a little more altitude. Not only does it look good, it really pays off in the game (Unlike Theme Park, wherein the design of your coaster never affected its performance). The graphics are functional, although slowdown can occur, and the sound effects spot-on.
Where RT really scores is in atmosphere. You really feel as if you're managing a park, not a collection of square blocks. The scenery helps you customize, and it's weeks before you start to get bored of the rides available.
And . . . when you do, there's two expansion packs. Score!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun game, 8 July 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
i already had this game and my ex burrowed it and never gave it back, what can i say apart from I LOVE THIS GAME, its a fun game for the whole family anyone can play it and the best part is that it does not matter how old you are. its fun building the rides and seeing the people on it, its even nice seeing them with their little green faces after they get off a roller coaster. you can see what their thinking , what they bought, how much money they have and spent, you even get prizes for your parks. what else can i say?? you have to try it its addictive and like i said before age is not an issue, try it you'll it trust me........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rockin start for RCT!, 21 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
Well, this game is too much of a legend to ever be forgotten. The graphics are excellent for a game of that size. The finance tracker is very easy to understand. And this game is so god damned addictive you wont want to stop!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the Tree, 13 April 2001
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
This is the best Theme Park sim. out, MUCH better than Theme Park (and all of its children, Theme Park World etc.)and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The rides are realistic, with real-life track designs saved. You can customise your own rides and save them to use again. The scenarios are all challenging enough, and you shouldn't get bored as in the scenarios, you have to pay money to research new rides, scenery, shops and ride improvements, so there is always something new to work towards. Every scenario has some simple (to undertstand) objectives, varying in difficulty, and as you complete each one a new level is unlocked. And eventually the MEGA PARK lets you build until your hearts content all the rides. The graphics are excellent, and realistic, and loads of options are included for music, pricing, appearance etc. to customise your rides, name them, and place them in a themed area. There are also easy to use, extensive options to see how each individual guest thinks, what suggestions they make, and options to see where your money is going, loan money from the bank, and to see a history of a ride including it and your park's entire finacnial status, plus options to advetise your park, and attract attention to certain areas and rides, there is simply too much to report! If you buy this game you simply must buy Loopy Landscapes, the add-on pack (before there was the Added Attractions add-on pack, but you do not need to buy this as Loopy Landscapes also includes this content) Here there are more options to make the park your very own, and special real life parks and park options, and extra scenarios with interesting stories behind them, aswell as tons of new rides, shops, and scenery.(note, you need this original Rollercoaster tycoon game to run the add-on packs) All together these build into the best gaming collection to make the best theme park possible, in this challenging, realistic, easy to use, strategic game of endless possibilites and a lifetime of playing. A must buy for all you budding theme park desingers out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Theme Park Game, 25 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
I just love rollercoaster tycoon. There is so much to do on it. The game can wrap you in it for hours on end. The game is so realistic. The sounds in it sound like a real theme park. The loops and types of rollercoasters are exatcly like the real types. Each person that comes to the park has a mind of his own. He gets hungry or thirsty when he goes on a few rides, becomes green and makes sick. Then you hire handy men and clean up the sick and you build food and drink stalls and when it rains you build an information kiosk that sells umbrellas and park maps. But each of these things the people have to pay a price. If you put the price at an amount that it is worth you get customers. If not you put it down or up. Because if you put the price too cheap you wont make money. After half a year your rides that you build aren't worth as much so you put your price down or...no one will go on it. they'll say "it costs too much." Everone in the park has his own mind, one will like scary rides rides, one won't even look at them for fear of making sick. Even though it sounds really cool you do get bored of it but very slowly. 3 months you play six hours a day, 2 months you don't like it and when you see someone else playing it tou start all over again. P.S. I only mentioned SOME of the things you have to do in the game because there are too many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can be fiendishly addictive..., 18 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) (Video Game)
This is definately 'stay up past your bedtime' fare.
The entire game is a series of scenarios of various parks that you either have to build from scratch or improve to raech a win scenario of x number of visitors in the park, or a park value of £x, and so forth. About five scenarios are available when you begin the game. As you complete one, another (supposedly more difficult) becomes available. In fact, I found that the difficulty of each scenario varies with your personal strategies and will vary from person to person, rather than become more difficult in a linear fashion.
The gameplay is good. There are many elements of each park to tweak to keep you interested, and the win scenarios are challenging (sometimes too challenging!)
If I have any criticisms, one would be that it would be nice to have an automatic finish when you complete a scenario rather than have to hang around for ages until time ticks over to your scenario finish time. I would have alo likes to see a full sandbox mode with a huge flat area and unlimited funds to play with. However, neither of these factors detract from essentially a good game.
There is also an added attractions add on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC)
Roller Coaster Tycoon (PC) by Hasbro (Windows 95 / 98)
£8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews