Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go retro, and enjoy some truly classic computer gaming!, 16 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
The 'point-and-click' adventure game seems, sadly, all but dead now, but once they were the biggest thing in the gaming world. In the heyday of the genre, LucasArts was without a doubt the leader of the pack, and Monkey Island 1 & 2 were their crowning achievements. These are games that pretty much made everyone who played them get caught up in their piratey world, fall in love with the characters, and become haunted by the insanely catchy theme music.
Other reviews have outlined the basic premises, but suffice to say, you should play these games in order. The few references to past events that occur won't be lost on you, and it's quite satisfying to play it out as a saga.
'The Secret Of Monkey Island' is just essential gaming, its enchanting, addictive, often hilarious, and very satisfying.
But 'Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge' is probably the finest of the series - like 'The Godfather Part II' impossibly managing to expand on the greatness of the original and make it better in every way. Brimming with humour and a truly gripping storyline involving voodoo and treasure maps, it also has the best score for a computer game ever (as well as the awesome main theme and villain theme, you get oodles more great tunes as you explore the game, which is a pure joy).
'The Curse Of Monkey Island' was much-maligned upon release, many bemoaned creator Ron Gilbert's absence from the project, and a slightly awkward explanation for the second game's controversial ending. But unlike 'The Godfather Part III', to continue the gangster movie parallels (sorry if this is lost on you), this is more essential adventuring. A great orchestral score and full voice acting gives the game a new lease of life, the splendid new cartoony style fits perfectly, and whilst the plot is slightly less compelling and original than the previous games, it certainly has its moments, and its fair share of glorious characters.
In summary, you can't afford NOT to give these games a chance. They're much-revered classics, definitely some of the best of their genre, and who doesn't love pirates? Nobody, that's who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics!!!, 28 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
Monkey Island was my favourite game when I was a kid and this set is a must buy:
The Secret of Monkey Island: we meet wannabe pirate Guybrush Threepwood who must undergo three trials to become a pirate but then the evil pirate Lechuck kidnaps Governor Marley who Guybrush falls in love with, great hilarity ensues with fab one liners in-jokes, insult sword fighting and puzzles that aren’t to easy or difficult.
The game will take you about 20 hours the first time round but if you know exactly what your doing or use a solution it can be done in under three hours! The game uses the famous SCUMM engine where you put together various verbs to create sentences that will make Guybrush carry that sentence out eg: give pieces of eight to Man.
Overall great game 5/5
Monkey Island 2: Lechucks Revenge: is harder, and even more hilarious than the first. This time Guybrush is looking for the treasure of Big Whoop but accidentally resurrects the Ghost Pirate Lechuck in the process in the form of a zombie this time.
It uses the same interface as the original, just longer and more challenging.
This one gets 5/5 as well.
The graphics and sound are dated in the first two but its all right for 1990/1 and this version of “Secret” has a CD soundtrack – great music.
The curse of Monkey island: This one sees Guybrush proposing to Governor Marley but unfortunately gives her a cursed ring and she turns to gold – as if that wasn’t bad enough she gets stolen, and Lechuck has once again been resurrected, this time as a Demon. The SCUMM interface has been jacked in favour of full screen animation with an interface where you hold down the cursor on “hotspots” and choose “pick up” “talk” “use” etc.
This isn’t quite as good as the first two, it’s still funny but missing something, maybe I just prefer the classics – 4/5.
Overall a masterpiece in gaming – if by some chance you haven’t played these games yet – do it know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Pirates of the Caribbean..., 23 Sep 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
"I've spoken with apes more polite then you."

"I'm glad to hear you attended your family reunion..."

The Secret of Monkey Island's insult contests are utterly typical of a series of classic adventure games from Lucasarts (then Lucasfilm).

It was somewhat inevitable that the emergence of 3D graphics would effectively spell the end of the point 'n' click adventure. But, thankfully, the lame Escape From Monkey Island is conspicuously absent from this essential three-game pack. Guybrush Threepwood's perennial skirmish with the evil ghost pirate Lechuck was best realised by Ron Gilbert in the first two instalments, but The Curse of Monkey Island is written with such irreverent passion it's impossible to dislike.

Star ratings are no use - these games are still oceans ahead of the competition. I'm preaching to the converted, of course. The games' sparkling wit, rich atmosphere, and their adorable steel drum soul, is well documented. But the Monkey Island legacy transcends simple notions of nostalgia; you can keep your Elder Scrolls and your Broken Swords - there's enough pure adventuring fun here to last another 15 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 1 Jun 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
I only played this game a few weeks ago but it is soooooo good. I have a PS2 and lots of new games for it but this had dragged me away from it. The First game is good but the worst of the three of them, still amazing though. The Second is buy far the best. I dont know what it is about it but it is just amazing. Then there is the third. It has one key featue which boosts its ratings in my book. VOICES!!! I was getting a little boared with the first two, having to read evrything but this one, has VOICES. It is just 1 key thing that makes the game so much more enjoyable.

The storyline in the three are quite similar. Girl gets captured by dead pirate. You (Guybrush Threepwood) have to go to an island (Monekey mostly) and save her. But it is still fun.

Some of the things that are said and done in the games are hilarious. They have produces alot of laughs from me which is rare from a computor game.

Overall, a great game (or should i say games). It just shows you, you dont need all these hi-tech graphix and things to make a truly great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 7 July 2000
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
All three of LucasArts Monkey Island games in one pack - adventure heaven! They're old, the graphics are nowhere near cutting edge, there's little in the way of quality sound in the first two games and collectively these titles make one of the best value gamijng packages today.
Why? Because they're total quality. The storylines are entertaining, the humour has never been bettered and there's an ambience to these titles that's second to none. For my money this is some of the best quality content LucasArts ever released.
The aim of the trilogy is to follow trainee Pirate Guybrush Threepwood in his search the treasure of the Big Whoop, through his love/hate relationship with Governor Elaine MArley and most importantly through his battles with the evil ghost pirate LeChuck.
The comedy set pieces are superb - just take in the staged fight witht the Moosehead and the wax lips or the insult duelling contest and I defy you not to laugh !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST GAME EVER!!, 5 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
Monkey Island has to be the best franchise of puzzle adventure games ever! I bought the first game when it came out 13 years ago and now in 2003 i still absolutely love it! I bought it purely as i'm really interested in Pirates and Bucaneers and it still entertains me even though i have played and completed all the games several times! It has everything you would ever want in a puzzle game and being about pirates is the best part! Trust me, with its wit, its puzzles and length, you will never get tired of this game! I'd give it 6 stars if i could as i can't praise it enough. If you love puzzle adventure gane and/or like Pirates like me thenyou will love this game!
They have to make this into a movie one day , go buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Product With three Excellent Games!, 1 April 2001
By 
Mr Gordon Shure (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
I think the monkey island bounty pack is an excellent choice for a person whos in love with puzzle games . It features monkey island 1,2 and 3 it contains many funny jokes and puzzles, some obvious and unobvious but you'll (after some pulling out of hair) solve the puzzles with great relief.Overall its a great pack for both young and old and will provide many good hours of entertainment,An excellent choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How appropriate. You fight like a cow., 20 Dec 2002
By 
J. P. Ellison "jpellison" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
The 'Monkey Island' serious is the single most influential adventure game series in the known Universe. It began life as an idea inside Ron Gilberts head as he rode upon Disney's Pirates of the Carribean ride, and it still lives today.
You meet a naive, wannabe swashbuckler with the rather strange name of Guybrush Threepwood, and you journey with him, from island to island, hurling witty insults towards other pirates as you swordfight, gathering crew members with talking tatoos, and rescuing the love of your life from scurvy ghost pirates.
With some entertaining stories, hilarious dialogue, highly flawed characters, excellent puzzles, and the greatest music ever, these three games should be owned by anyone who has a curious brain and a need to be satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST adventure games you'll ever play., 11 July 2002
By 
R. Parker "robin_bttf" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
I haven't got this pack in particular,
but I have owned all three of the games for many, many years.
The humour is sharp and excellent,
the characters are really well developed,
the puzzles are not too hard, but not too easy.
I won't go on forever - these are simply the best adventure games ever made.
I have played over 200 adventure games, owning many of them,
and these are the ones I always go back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Games, 23 Feb 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Monkey Island Bounty Pack: The Secret of Monkey Island / Monkey Island 2, LeChuck's Revenge / The Curse of Monkey Island (Video Game)
Mokey Island(tm) games are just the best fun in the world to play. This package is really good no changing disks every few minutes in MI 1+2 lke i have been doing till now. Makes for a smoother experience and more imersion in the insanity.

I love all the Lucas Arts point and click adventure games (althogh the best of the rest is by far Grim fandango) Monkey Island is the pinacle, even the weaker of the four current games MI 4 is miles ahead of many other games in its sheer enjoyment factor.

Fancy some fun and hilarity, making your brain think in odd ways? Then you want Monkey Island :)

Becca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews