Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut the Clash
I've been listening to this album for about 19 years since I got a cheap cassette version from the bargain bin in HMV. And it's not bad. It's not a great album - not a great Clash album anyway - but it's still listen-able, and gets better the more attention you pay to it.
What's good about it?
Joe Strummer's lyrics, of course. It's just about the only thing that...
Published on 1 Sept. 2007 by G. Naughton

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "SUCH IS LIFE"........
......were the last words of Ned Kelly, the Australian folk legend outlaw as the noose was pulled around his neck on the gallows. A similar expression of the acceptance of the inevitable surely must be applied to the sixth and final album by the British punk rock band The Clash released in 1985.

There had been a progressive build up of bad feelings within the...
Published on 13 Mar. 2011 by DOPPLEGANGER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "SUCH IS LIFE"........, 13 Mar. 2011
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
......were the last words of Ned Kelly, the Australian folk legend outlaw as the noose was pulled around his neck on the gallows. A similar expression of the acceptance of the inevitable surely must be applied to the sixth and final album by the British punk rock band The Clash released in 1985.

There had been a progressive build up of bad feelings within the band, and very poor communications between the guys which led to this album being recorded under a great deal of tension and bitterness, hardly the ideal circumstances for the expression of artistic output, and indeed this was shown to be the case. "Cut The Crap" was going to originally called "Out Of Control", which was a far more accurate commentary of the state of the band at the time of the recordings. The Clash disbanded in a tsunami of acrimony in 1986.

I am not alone in nominating "Cut The Crap" as the band's weakest album, which is not really surprising considering the tumult surrounding its recording, but having said that it does have the occasional reminder of The Clash's talent and huge contribution to the UK and USA music scene. Their third album "London Calling" had a big critical success in the United States, and 'Rolling Stone' declared it a decade later as the best album of the 80's. Their politicized lyrics, musical experimentation and rebellious attitude had a far reaching effect on rock and alternative rock in particular, leading to the band being widely referred to as "The Only Band That Matters".

And the glimpses of their old selves? Certainly "This Is England" set against the backdrop of the turmoil emanating from Mrs Thatchers draconian policies, "Life is Wild", and the 'anthemesque-join-in-the-chorus', "We Are The Clash", and perhaps "Cool Under Heat".

If this album is your first and only exposure to The Clash, do not let it permanently put you off this band, go out and buy one of their earlier albums such as "London Calling" or their first album "The Clash".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "I'll eat my hat, I'm gonna be sick", 6 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
Three long years after the Clash's last appearance, an album that could be perceived as a worst case scenario Clash album was released. It pretty much is a worst case scenario, anyone who's taken any interest in the group would have realised that Mick Jones' song writing and Topper Headon's drumming made everything possible, sure Joe Strummer and Paul Simonon had tastes and ideas as diverse, but with 'Cut the Crap' as evidence they couldn't put them into practice.

First, the worst things. It's one of the most horribly produced albums I've ever heard. The tuneless guitars squeak and squeal, the slap funk bass seems to be from totally different take. The drums are awful, utilising a cheap drum machine in the nastiest sense. The Clash's forays into to dance were always fun because of the Topper's soulful funky drumming. Drum machines just don't sit right, especially ones that are programmed to be as moronic as these - even Carter USM applied them better. Joe, as ever sings it and tells it well, but the backing vocals/chants drown him out, add to that some terrible keyboards which are lame when compared to 'Overpowered By Funk' from 'Combat Rock'. But what's worst of all is that this is the Clash. On Cut the Crap they seem to set out that they can't do punk ('Dirty Punk', 'Life is Wild'), rock ('Cool under Heat', 'Fingerpoppin''), or experiment ('Dictator', 'Play to Win'). It's sad when the 'same band' gave us so many memorable songs across so many genres.

Second, the better moments. 'This is England' may be a second rate 'Straight to Hell', but its a gutsy, messy song that hits the mark, mainly down to its stripped production and a great Strummer lyric. 'We Are The Clash' has moments of greatness, a guitar part that sounds straight from off of 'Give 'Em Enough Rope' (until the hideous solo appears) and a ramshackle rock 'n' roll confidence to it. 'Are You Red..Y' isn't all bad, its totally over-cooked, but enjoyable. 'Three Card Trick' is the furthest the album goes from punk, and is a sort of mangled 'Rock the Casbah'. Its bouncy and funky, and the shame is that of all the songs it is the one I think could have been a classic had the original line recorded it, or at least Topper on drums.

Overall many of these songs have potential (maybe there are some demos out there for someone to dig up) but it is a poor second-rate album from a poor second-rate Clash. I love the Clash and its sad to see it end like this, but thankfully Joe redeemed himself with the Mescaleros, and Mick has given us some great stuff (admittedly not all of it) with Big Audio Dynamite. Big Audio Dynamite's second album 'No.10 Upping Street' makes for a better Clash swansong to try. Joe writes half of it co-produces it with Mick, while dated, its certainly competent, for starters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Clash Album That No One Talks About, 17 May 2013
By 
Carlo Matthews "carlo" (Been Moving Around) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
"Cut The Crap" rarely, if ever, shows up on any Clash conversation. It is discreetly swept under the rug. After all, few can fathom how this band could experience such a shocking lapse in music-making.

I've given this album several chances until it became obvious that life is too short. Given that Jones and Headon left under a cloud of drug use, you'd think that a Clash led by Strummer would retain some merit... and certainly good judgment. Both are dismally absent here.

This is the 'comic book' version of the band, filled with banal, chest-thumping 'macho' choruses shouted at every turn, cliched working class lyrics, and embarrassingly uninspired tunes. All blatantly overproduced to the hilt of 80's tackiness. It's so atrocious that it should have been marketed as a hilarious parody of punk. Cringing stuff.

Although Strummer would eventually hit his stride (Walker is his first great cd), this album is a blemish on anyone's cv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't. Please, just don't., 11 Jan. 2006
By 
Mr. J. R. Walsh "jonnothemackem" (Lancaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
This isn't underrated at all. It really IS that poor!!!
The Clash would never EVER work without Jones and Headon, and this proves it. Bernie Rhodes got involved with making it, making it even worse....
There is genuinely only one song worth having on this album. That is "This is England". That is available on "The Essential Clash" (It hasn't appeared on any other Clash compilations because Mick was involved inmaking them for one, and for two, because the Clash that realeased this weren't considered to be THE Clash as such) The rest should have followed the albums title and been removed.
Looking back, Joe said that he hated this album, and sacking Topper was the beginning of the end. By the time this came out, the clash were long dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the downfall of the worlds best band, 30 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: cut the crap LP (Vinyl)
i bought this vinyl album back in 85 and like many was disapointed. i gave it away in a vinyl clearout in the late 80s when my love for the clash returned witn the strummer comeback in the late 90s i redescovered this album.on the good side it was the least played clash album and was pleasantly surprised at the albums better moments, however this is only for fans like myself who own everything; i shudder to think of a newcomer picking this up . the best moments are of course, this is england ,we are the clash ' and three card trick. it has to be said i seen them on this tour in 84 and there were many songs that never appeared on the final cut. i dream of a remix and a remaster one day with these songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut the Clash, 1 Sept. 2007
By 
G. Naughton "gnaughto" (Consett, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
I've been listening to this album for about 19 years since I got a cheap cassette version from the bargain bin in HMV. And it's not bad. It's not a great album - not a great Clash album anyway - but it's still listen-able, and gets better the more attention you pay to it.
What's good about it?
Joe Strummer's lyrics, of course. It's just about the only thing that tries to describe England in the mid- to late-80s and paints a picture of it as the real horror that it was. Greed, Thatcher-Reagan, Cold War, Miners' Strike, acted out to a soundtrack of awful soulless pap and Gary Davies. Listen to North and South or Three-Card Trick, if you can make out the words, or the song that should have been the title track: This is England. Joe Strummer slipped off the edge of the world in the previous album with Straight to Hell, and here he is in the Underworld. The album conjours up the dreary, suburban, concrete ennui of the film Meantime. Not a lot of fun, but something real, at least. Strummer doing what he did best - struggling, and trying to put the struggle into words.
What's bad about it?
The music, of course. Not that underneath the heavy-handed production there aren't some hummable tunes, but with the loss of Mick Jones, the Clash (or Strummer and Bernie Rhodes at least) lost confidence in the band's ability to 'do' music. Get a hold of the live versions of these songs and you'll hear this could have been the most consistent, rooted album that the band had done since their debut a decade earlier.
Or think of it as the first album of Strummer's solo career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this CD, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Ms. Karla Faerber "absinthe" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
I gave this CD 5 stars because it is brilliant and a great soundtract to my life. It's always made me feel uplifted and to my mind it's their best. (I know a lot of people would disagree with me on this point)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat underrated album, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Jan Patrik Sahlstrøm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: cut the crap LP (Vinyl)
While I have to agree that this is their weakest album, it's not THAT bad. If some other band had released this album it would propably have recieved less criticism. Listen for yourself and make up your own mind, but I have to admit, that is album is mostly for those who are fans already. If you are new to the band, start off with one of the other albums first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bernie,don't touch that dial!, 18 Aug. 2004
By 
grass staggers (Geneva,Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
Worth buying as a curio,this LP sees the late,great Joe Strummer losing direction and a batch of decent songs buried underneath a mess of synths,drum machines and terrace chanted choruses.The production is awful,rendering much of what Joe is singing about simply impossible to make out.As previous reviewers noted,the actual songs are good!This is England,North and South,Cool under Heat and the old b-side Do it Now are ace,but the nagging feeling that if bloody Bernie Rhodes hadn't taken over the production reins,then the story of The Clash could have been so different.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated final elpee from London's finest, 11 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Cut The Crap (Audio CD)
Perceived at the time as an ungodly mess, Cut The Crap renains an ungodly mess, albeit an interesting and ambitious one. The synths and horn sections blare in and out(especially on 'Dictator')with no real rhyme or reason, Joe mostly mumbles inscrutibly, the drum machine gets too much of a look in, the backing vocals are Cockney Rejects-style footer terrace chants, and 'Play To Win' is a total waste of time. And for a "back to basics" album there's an awful lot of non-punk influence: rap, funk, ska, reggae. Mainly, however, it's shouty punk, and great fun it is too. 'This Is England' is staggeringly beautiful, devastatingly evocative of mid-80s inner-city grime, unemployment, the crushed miner's strike, Thatcherism, racism, mindless violence, and punks with motorcycle jackets who are "walking all the time". 'Three Card Trick', 'Are You Red..y', 'Cool Under Heat', 'North and South' and 'Dirty Punk' are classic Clash. While I reckon that many Clash fans won't enjoy this, novices with nothing to compare it with, just might. It may not have the "greatness" of their other albums, but it's well worth checking out. Pity it doesn't include the hilarious 12" track 'Sex Mad Roar' or the edited 'This is England', but that's Columbia for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cut The Crap
Cut The Crap by The Clash (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews