Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another day, another album from England's finest.
To be honest, after reading NME's review of Little Kix, I was a little shocked and disheartened about the most looked-forward-to event of my summer. But then I remembered I was reading NME, and cheered up posthaste. Honestly, Little Kix lives up to the Mansun standard and beyond. While I was a bigger fan of Six than Attack (i know, i know, shut up), I must admit to...
Published on 21 Aug. 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it is a pity that they "could only disappoint us."
For any one who has heard the song Legacy off the album "Six" will understand the genius of the band, at its heart it is a simple song but delivered with such power and gusto it blows you away every time. The reason I mention this is that unlike the EPIC Six, Little Kix is a simple album. Mansun can do simple and very effectively but some where along the line it...
Published on 10 Dec. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Magic, 1 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
Mansun have really developed a voice of their own with this beguiling offering. They produce seductive and melodic soundscapes decorated by the beautiful and compelling voice of Paul Draper and yet they retain the edginess which has set them apart from many of their contemporaries.
There is not a bad track here and the best such as Electric Man and Song for two lovers have a sort of fascinating frisson which gives you the chill associated with all great pop records.
I hope that Paul Drapers sublime voice and intriguing lyrics are with us for some time to come. Money well spent amongst the manufactured dross which is so common these days....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it is a pity that they "could only disappoint us.", 10 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
For any one who has heard the song Legacy off the album "Six" will understand the genius of the band, at its heart it is a simple song but delivered with such power and gusto it blows you away every time. The reason I mention this is that unlike the EPIC Six, Little Kix is a simple album. Mansun can do simple and very effectively but some where along the line it went wrong. I think the first problem was the fact that brought a new producer on board, who pushed Draper's voice in the fore and the music in to the background, the fact that the music lacks the busyness of Six or even Attack this was a bad move. The album is not all bad and I still think that Mansun are one of the best bands and are vastly under rated. There are some redeeming features to the album, the first 6 songs are superb especially "I could only disappoint you" and "comes as no surprise" the following 2 tracks are also quiet good but then it just descends into blandness.... "Fool" is a misguided attempt at pop, Mansun can do pop damn well e.g. "Striper vicar" and "Egg shaped Fred" even b sides such as " Moronica". "We are the boys" is a little bit better but it is awkward and the grand finale "goodbye" is not so grand, which is the whole point, showing the band's playfulness but this time is a weak joke. All in all Little Kix is a good album, though somewhat average from a band capable of producing some amazing work. Check out Attack or Six first. Hopefully the next album will see them back on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mansun's 'Songs for Swinging Lovers', 16 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
After the grandiose inclinations of 'Six,' 'Little Kix' is surprisingly accessible on the first listen. Leaving the punk and Ziggy pretensions behind (sadly, in my opinion), Mansun have this time gone for epic ballads, a lot of string arrangements and a lot of stuff about lurve. The Mansun sense of humour is well intact though, eg the line 'I could've been a superstar but I sing like a girl.' The standout tracks (on the first couple of listens anyway) are the single 'I can only disappoint u' and 'Fool,' in which they stick their retro tongues firmly in their cheeks. Bless them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of the best albums of the year!, 22 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
The fact that Mansun continue to be overlooked by the British music press is still a source of amazement to me. In a year of lacklustre records Mansun are one of the few artists to have lived up to and surpassed expectations. "I can only disappoint u" is one of the most beautiful singles of the year...."Soundtrack 4 2 lovers" is utterly gorgeous. Paul Draper is one of a rare breed of British rock stars that can actually sing (and sing live...rarer still). Little Kix is miles better than Attack of the Grey Lantern....you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an exquisite slice of lush pop., 5 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
Having barely stopped playing "Attack of the Lanterns for 3/4 years i eagerly awaited the reputed "return to form" of Mansun. It's apparent after a couple of plays that this comment is wholly justified. Admitedly having always been a sucker for clinicaly produced guitar/string based pop (Coming Up by Suede being a prime example), this was never likely to disappoint. And it dosen't. Prime cuts being "Fool" and the single " I Can Only Disappoint......".Treat yourself ..get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's not Six but..., 11 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
Six was an unusual piece of work that stood out as something different in the crowd of groups either going down the Oasis route or churning out dance records. It was one of those albums that got better the more you listened, rather than being instantly loved. With Little Kix we have a very immediate record, but will it have lasting appeal? I don't know but for now it is the best album since the last one from Supergrass. Some great tracks. This is a fine album by any standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of anyones money, 21 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing Fool on UK Play and loving it. When I first started playing it I thought the only decent tracks were Fool and I can only dissapoint you but as time progressed I played Soundtrack 4 2 Lovers which has an amazing tune and then realised how happy Electric Man is. We are the boys was the next one I listened to and that was also excellent. Other recomened albums for lovers of Mansun Travis- The invisible band and the compolatin album Essential tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upon reflection, a great album!, 7 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
Mansun are (oops, were) a great band. Bought their first album (Grey Lantern) when it first came out, brilliant indie pop/rock. Great. Then Six came out... that kinda blew me away, "prog-indie" which twists and turns, never lingering too long in one state to become boring. Fantastic. Then Little Kix came along. Boring, stale and unimaginative. So I stashed it away in a box called "don't bother".
A couple of months ago I came upon Little Kix again, and decided to put it in my cd player. It's still there. I guess at the time I was hoping for another Six (or at least a Seven!) which wasn't a fair way to judge it. Upon reflection, 'Kix is a great album - no, it doesn't twist and turn like Six, it's not as lively. But technically the music's great - more mellow, typically depressive lyrics, and clever stuff!
If you're like me, hid it away, dig it out and listen. Maybe you'll change your mind too! And if you don't own this, or any other Mansun album, Little Kix is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing - still great though, 27 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
Not my favourite Mansun album - though far from the album that Stephen Wells (insert appropriate insult) was apparently listening too. This album does not have, in my opinion, either the flair or the classic tracks that both 6 and Attack.. had. Although some tracks sound like Marillion - which can only be a good thing (again, in my opinion). Not by any means a classic album, it is still worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is progressive music!, 21 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Kix (Audio CD)
This is yet another masterpiece by mansun, will this band never stop creating totaly new sounds. The album itself is far more melodic and less disjointed than the previous two albums, though the disjointedness was never a bad thing. Still very individualistic and not realy meant to be compared to the other two albums after all it is the new milenium. If u havent, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Kix
Little Kix by Mansun (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews