Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, great music, great band!
Less Than Jake are one of the bands at the forefront of the current ska/punk scene, and when you hear this it is easy to see why. Hello Rockview is probably Less Than Jake's best release to date, mixing drummer Vinnie's lyric writing skills (better examples of which can be found on more recent albums) with the upbeat, horn fuelled pop-punk that has earned LTJ so many...
Published on 27 Nov 2004 by Charlie

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected!
I had heard the two songs: 'All my best friends are metalheads' and 'Sugar in your gas tank' off the game 'Street Skater' and I loved them so I thought I would buy the album. It turns out them two songs are nothing like the others! Never mind.
Published on 30 Oct 2000 by mdawg@talk21.com


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, great music, great band!, 27 Nov 2004
By 
Charlie (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
Less Than Jake are one of the bands at the forefront of the current ska/punk scene, and when you hear this it is easy to see why. Hello Rockview is probably Less Than Jake's best release to date, mixing drummer Vinnie's lyric writing skills (better examples of which can be found on more recent albums) with the upbeat, horn fuelled pop-punk that has earned LTJ so many fans. The album features many Less Than Jake live favourites including "Last One Out Of Liberty City", "Nervous In The Alley" and the single "All My Best Friends Are Metalheads". It also features other, less well known LTJ tracks such as "Scott Farcas Takes It On The Chin", "Big Crash" and "Theme Song For H Street".
Losing Streak is a slightly different sounding album, the horns and ska guitar playing a much bigger part in proceedings compared to Hello Rockview. Like Rockview, it features Less Than Jake live classics like "Automatic" and "Just Like Frank" along with other standout tracks such as "Shindo", "Lockdown" and the - in my opinion - underrated "Krazy Glue". LTJ have also given Pezcore tracks "Johnny Quest Thinks We're Sellouts" and "Jen Doesn't Like Me Anymore" a reworking, speeding them up and improving the recording quality without changing them too drastically. The only down side to Losing Streak is "Dopeman" which, while it is a fantastic track, seems to bring the pace down a little bit.
This album is perfect for both fans of ska-punk, and fans of bands such as Blink 182 who want something a little different. The uplifting, catchy singalong pop-punk is sure to have you dancing from beginning to end. And if the music wasn't enough, those lovely people at Golf records have packaged both the CDs for the price of one. Great music, and a bargain, who could resist?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential album for Ska Punk Collections, 5 Feb 2003
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic combo of two of their best albums, if you don’t have either you HAVE to buy this!!! Although slightly different they both have something that together means they will never leave your playlist. "Last one out of liberty city burn it to the ground!", crash, LTJ just got another devotee! And before you know it's over you think they're gone as the banjo leads into "Help Save The Youth Of America From Exploding". This album doesn't quite relive the energetic passion of Losing Streak but seems albeit impossibly completely different with that same LTJ sound. The lyrics in 'Hello Rockview' are far superior with Vinnie really capturing the spirit of that small town kid who just want's something more. Then even greater is how they merge all the songs in the cd inlay into a coherent comic book!!!
All put quite simply this album rules! It continues on from Losing Streak quite nicely despite the step down in pace it is still great from start to finish with great guitar solo's a lively new brass sound piercing through providing an amazing entrance on "Nervous In The Alley" one of the top tracks of the album.
This album certainly sealed LTJ as another great Ska Punk band that could no longer be denied, their unique sound seems to be progressing further and better making sure that it doesn't die out by allowing it to evolve. This album marked the beginnings of international stardom for LTJ and with each album it can only get better.
Other highlights of the album are "Motto", "History Of A Boring Town", "Al's War" and "Big Crash".
LOSING STREAK:
'Losing Streak' starts to show the direction LTJ are heading for and where they really found that mix of guitar brass and vocals that make them so distinct from other Punk/Ska or whatever you class them to be. When you hear the brass breaking in "9th At Pine" you know you're in for a real treat with this album.
Barely even one track lasting more than one minute, this album is 35 minutes of the best ska punk you'll ever hear. I guarantee that you'll run out of energy before this album ever does. Maybe not as strong in the lyrics as 'Hello Rockview' or later albums but it certainly is faster, heavier and more enjoyable.
The highlights of the album are "9th At Pine", "Johnny Quest (Thinks We're Sellouts)", "Just Like Frank", "Jen Doesn't Like Me Anymore" and "Rock-N-Roll Pizzeria".
All other tracks are still amazing and the album flows confidently from start to finish it's full of energy, and a fresh new sound without any feeling of the same old formulae over and over. This is an amazing album and highly recommended to any fan of Goldfinger (Early Years), Reel Big Fish and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CD's ever, 23 July 2001
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
Hello Rockview and losing streak are brilliant on their own, but together, WOW. LTJ are one of those bands who anyone can listen to and like-how they have managed to avoid world domination is one of lifes great mysteries. From "liberty city" & "history of a boring town" to "Johnny Quest" and "New Jersey" this album is non-stop energy. Finally a punk/ska band who don't hate the world. Do yourself a favour-admit that these people who have reviewed the CD have impeccable taste and buy it. You'll love us for it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infallable, Pristene, Flawless, what are you waiting for!, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
If you are looking at the product listing for this album and are agonizing over whether or not to buy it, let me help you, BUY IT NOW... I dont care if you cant afford it... this CD really will enrich your life and have you walking two feet off the ground for weeks afterwards.
Seriously though, this album is unique - there is absolutely not one single filler track out of all of the 30-odd tracks on this double album. every last one is a complete masterpiece worthy of a single release. "Losing Streak" concentrates more on the Ska side of LTJ's sound whereas "Hello Rockview" is weighted more towards the Punk Rock side.
This album is like 'Aural Prozac' if you are feeling down it's an instant pick-me-up, no joke... honestly dude, Punk rock fan or not, just get it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2 Albums are worth every penny you spend on them, 29 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
The albums have many excellent songs such as All my best friends are metal heads, Motto and Johnny Quest thinks we're sellouts. The tracks get into your mind and you end up singing them over and over again. I cant name one song on the two albums that i hate mainly because the chorus's to the songs are really up beat so you could keep jumping up and down during them. less than Jake remind me of another band called Goldfinger who also have a good album called hangups. less than jake's 2 album box set is a good buy to get into punk and ska. Then after you have bought that buy hangups by Goldfinger and those albums can last you a lifetime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 26 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
im 14 years old bought this album yesterday and listened to it about 5 times through already. First of all there are 31 songs, i mean what are u waiting for if ska/punk dont float your boat ull at least find a few songs that do ( i still cant get over how cheap it was for so many songs). sometimes ull wonder if ure listening to the same song cause the trombone sometimes gets a little repetitive, but then they throw in a catchy chorus that seperates all the song and makes em all different in there own way. When i first heard of ska/punk someone told me it had brass instruments and i was like that pretty stupid but they blend it in with the guitars and drums well and make you wanna dance with it. its like they took blink 182 added some trombones trumpets and all that other good stuff, and played it at warp speed ( so u just cant help but dance). Also if u listen closely they talk abrout racism and how its bad and u shouldnt judge others ( "all my friends are metal heads" is one good example), so parents if u dont like curse words and want something other than head banging music talking bout slitting ur wrist and breaking stuff this is ur pick for the kids. Even if u dont like it or never heard of ska?punk less than jake will soon change ur mind. great cd.....................................................what are u still reading for, go buy the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most amazing thing i've ever heard!, 23 Oct 2000
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
If you like anything like green day, offspring, nirvana, you will love this! i had only heard one song before i bought this cd - and believe me, its WELL worth it. i will never regret buying this cd as it still hasn't left my cd player since i first got it (which was a long time ago) The best songs by far are "all my best friends are metal heads" and "Krazy glue" they bring punk and ska together as they were meant to be. buy this, enjoy this, and GO SEE THEM PLAY LIVE! they rock, i saw them last night and i am STILL on a high!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic blend of Punk, Ska and Happiness, 3 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
This DOUBLE album, enables anyone new to this group to sample the earlier Losing Streak (with stand out tracks such as Automatic and Dopeman) and the most recent release (and overall superior album) of Hello Rockview. The initial wall of energetics may be a mite overwhelming to start off with, but after a couple of listens, the melodies start to shine through (standout tracks here being Scott Farcas Takes It On The Chin and All My Best Friends Are Metalheads). Only one weak track between the two albums (Al's War) and even this is good, just not up to the remarkably high standard. Considering many people had both of these when they were only on import and separate (at least £30), they are now available for a snip. Buy them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo good, 18 Aug 2002
By 
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
I only bought this album cos i'd heard My Best Friends Are Metalheads and it was 2 albums for the price of 1 so i thought, what the hell. IT WAS THE BEST £15 I HAVE SPENT! I can't take it out of my cd player. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it doesn't get much better than this, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hello Rockview/Losing Streak (Audio CD)
Wow. What an amazing double album. It offers a fantastic raw, bleeding slab of ska -punk. These albums combiner excellent fast ska punk with some slower melodies.It is an excellant double album to get into the ska-punk scene, and great value for money. LTJ are a brilliant band and i advise anyone in their right mind to get this, listen to it constantly and then buy many other LTJ titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hello Rockview/Losing Streak
Hello Rockview/Losing Streak by Less Than Jake (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews