Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the most sentimental Disney films
A man, who has spent his whole life being raised by gorillas, must discover who he is and where he belongs when humans visit the jungle where he lives.

In perhaps one of the most underappreciated Disney films of the 90's, viewers are given an insight into the life of a man who must question who and what he is in the face of danger and humanity. The plot is a...
Published on 29 July 2008 by Stampy

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing Effort From Disney
When I saw Disney were releasing Tarzan on Blu-Ray I immediately ordered it, I always enjoyed the movie and based on Disney's previous efforts on the format I didn't hesitate, perhaps I should have!

Now let's get one thing straight, the picture is definitely an improvement over the previous home releases, colours are vibrant and there is a massive improvement...
Published on 31 May 2012 by Joey Law


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the most sentimental Disney films, 29 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A man, who has spent his whole life being raised by gorillas, must discover who he is and where he belongs when humans visit the jungle where he lives.

In perhaps one of the most underappreciated Disney films of the 90's, viewers are given an insight into the life of a man who must question who and what he is in the face of danger and humanity. The plot is a very romantic tale about the human spirit and has a very intriguing point of view upon humans, who are again in the darkness as villains in this Disney picture.

Tarzan embodies the good nature about the human spirit with a heroic and loyal ideology towards the lives of others, but the humans who come to investigate the gorillas such as Clayton are the epitome of evil, and through the use of good vs evil and loyalty does the plot excel as a sharp and sentimental story about finding who you truly are.

Humour is thrown in as good measure with the very enjoyable Jane, Terk and Tantor who all have their moments in this lovable tale.

Though the humour is frequently used throughout, this is one of the most serious Disney films of recent years, and that is shown through the use of man against animal, and the inhuman nature of the humans, a very serious issue and one particular shot towards the end when the gorillas are all looking down, all sitting peacefully in their trees, all quiet and minding their own business, shows them as they are, extremely beautiful animals who are being disturbed by a group of violent money thirsty selfish humans.

Its sad that there aren't many 2D animations being made now, as classics such as these look so brilliant and are basic, but with technology being so advanced, it is hard to see a way back into this brilliant format.

The soundtrack by Phil Collins is exceptional and one of the best ever created for a Disney picture.

Though the plot can be inconsistent and the direction not on top form, it is a sentimental and humours tale which examines the differences between animal and man.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, well made and smart, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While not up to the level of sophistication of the best Pixar films, or even the very best of Disney, this has an admirable sense of humor, and an ability to be quite touching at times (if occasionally sappy). It also has some surprisingly dark and violent moments that might put it off limits to younger kids, who in other ways are its perfect audience.

This takes the basic Tarzan story and focuses mainly on Tarzan's need and ability to be accepted by the Gorilla clan he is adopted into, offering slightly obvious but always valuable lessons in accepting those who look or act different. It also has a spunky and even sexy Jane – an explorer who comes to Africa with her scientist father, and (of course) an evil guide looking to capture and enslave the apes. Jane's romance with Tarzan is funny, playful and sometimes moving.

The animation is energetic, kinetic and fun, and I found myself nicely caught up in the story. Unlike some animated features, I
actually wasn't sure exactly how things would work themselves out. I also appreciated that Phil Collins' songs, which tended to
lyrically hit the nail a little too hard on the head, were few and far between. If they weren't great, they didn't really damage the film either.

It sounds like I'm damning this with faint praise, but the bottom line is I had a good time. I smiled, I chuckled, and I got choked up. When ANY film – animated or not - can do all three for me, I consider that a solid victory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking animation and a worthy version of the novels, 5 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
Disney animation has been making progress with leaps and bounds since The Little Mermaid, but the stories have been stuck in a rut for some time now. Disney made a wise move in taking the Tarzan novels as the base for this feature - we all grew up with the character, the stories are simple but compelling and animation allowed Disney to construct a picture far beyond the limits of human actors.
Disney put their best animators on to the job and they certainly worked miracles with the source. Their Tarzan is far closer to the character in the book - moving and acting like an animal, yet somehow human underneath. Disney have probably set themselves an impossible target in beating Tarzan's animation. Drawing a person is HARD, drawing one at 25 frames a second is nearly impossible, drawing a near naked man fighting a spotted leopard in and out of shadows is just breathtaking.
Much has been made of the vaunted use of computer graphics to build the Deep Canvas backgrounds - allowing the characters to move through the jungle in 3D. It deserves every accolade - the effect is flawless, never once looking like CGI but allowing the animators to have fun with the potential in their story.
The vocal talent is equally well sourced with Minnie Driver's Jane coming across as a far more interesting female character than any recent Disney woman. The 'Tarzan, Jane' sequence is a delight and works just as well as the classic scene between Johnny Weissmuller and Maureen O'Sullivan all those years ago. And why has no one ever cast Brian Blessed in an animation before - he plays the villain like he was doing panto with great relish, although why none of the characters catch on he's a villain until much later is a mystery. Short of tying Jane to a railroad he does everything expected of a cad and a bounder...
Fortunately the cast are given an excellent script to work with that works just as well with adults as children.
I couldn't recommend Tarzan to parents of very young children, there are some very intense sequences that are possibly too scary for them - although credit to Disney for not making it a saccharine story.
The Collectors Edition includes vast and comprehensive documentation of many aspects of the development. Animation buffs will get a kick out of these materials and they are easily worth the extra cost.
Technically, the DVD is perfect, a beautiful transfer with top-notch sound and vision.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 19 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Being somebody who buys all the Disney releases as and when they come out, it was a foregone conclusion that I would get this one too. It has to be one of the greatest ever made. The extra disc, although informative, did not give much away and could perhaps have done more. One of the best things about this movie has to be the music. Phil Collins really exceeded himself on this one with superb lyrics and excellent jungle-like rythmns, the best example of which has to be "Trashin the camp".
All in all a good buy, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan Blu Ray Will You Collect??, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a first review for me, and was prompted to do so for two reasons. 1 Most of the reviews attached to this product listing are for the DVD set and NOT the blu ray! (Why do amazon do that??)and 2, the negative reviews of the transfer for those blu ray reviews that are out there.

So as someone who is an animation fan I thought I'd collect the "Disney Animation Canon" on Blu Ray especially as they are releasing them to build up a nice numbered collection. Having read a couple of reviews about flickering on the transfer of Tarzan, I was somewhat put off but decided to chance it anyway - all I can say is that if you look really hard for a small amount of flickering on the darker coloured gorillas you will find it - the thing is though, the quality of transfer is very good, well saturated colours, good sound, great sharpness, so I have a feeling that the "flicker" might well be in the technology used to "paint" in the first place rather than the transfer. That said you will have to look real hard for it and examine the film rather than watch it to even spot it! So if you are a fan of this film, Disney or animation in general, I'd reccomend it, and would not be put off by some other reviews! That said we all have our own opinions and standards!! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, Disney tale exploring acceptance,loyalty,love & betrayal, 26 Dec. 2007
By 
Marco Busani "Proven Intellect" (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A well animated, fun adaptation that provides a different take on Tarzan. There are some excellent action sequences such as the fight between the Leopard Sabor and Tarzan. With the demise of the Leopard Tarzan unknowingly avenges the death of his human parents and earns the respect of his new family. Other good action sequences include the capture and the liberation of the apes.

The story is well written and the sequence where Kerchak finally repents and accepts Tarzan after being shot is particularly touching. Romance is obviously provided in the shape of Jane and she finally opts to choose Tarzan ahead of a return to England.

Terk and Tantor are Tarzan's sidekicks and they help enrich the movie by providing much of the humour, the baby baboon character is also funny as is some of the banter between Jane and her father.E.g "Shall I leave you alone with the blackboard for the moment" when Jane is drawing a diagram of Tarzan and wistfully reminiscing about his deep, meaningful eyes.

The music score is quite good but inferior to the music in some of the other Disney movies like Pocahontas. In contrast to one of the other reviewers I enjoyed Clayton as a villain and I thought he was brilliantly voiced by Brian Blessed. The Special Edition is packed full of featurettes,images, activities and other Special Features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's Best, 24 April 2012
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is, by far, one of Disney Pictures best films!! For me, after this release, all of Disney's outputs started to go pear-shaped... but this one defines greatness!

I bought this film recently off Amazon and, whatever version of the film I have, I must say that the picture quality of the film is absolutely top drawer!!!! Following this, I then ordered some more Disney favourites; if they all sport the same picture quality as Tarzan, then I'm in for a treat, as are you!!

The plot of this movie: very simple. A young boy is left orphaned after Sabor, a vicious leopard, attacks and kills his parents. A female gorilla, Kala, finds the baby and takes him as her own, naming him 'Tarzan'. Tarzan comes of age and settles in life as a gorilla, that is, until Jane and her band of explorers (including the evil Clayton) come to his home of the jungle and Tarzan is forced to question his true identity.

One other exceptional thing about this film is the score written and performed by Phil Collins. The songs in this film are, quite simply, timeless!!

All things considered, I feel that this is one from the Disney vault, a gem of a film for all the family to enjoy. Please buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for kids and adults alike, 20 July 2012
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Well I did just write a review, but it disappeared. So instead of a review with depth and reason I will say this;
This movie is great Disney Animated Classic. If you love Disney movies, you'll love this one. A non princess Disney movie that is fun yet still has a few issues. If you love Disney, but haven't seen this movie, buy it. If you have seen this movie and haven't bought it yet, why haven't you bought it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the jungle for Disney, 25 Aug. 2000
Tarzan swings into our homes with this, the latest video release from the ever-reliable Disney. You know the plot (shipwreck, kid, apes, strangers etc) and the usual Disney extras are here (villain, comedy-reliefs, songs et al) but is it any good? Yes, yes it is. Tarzan is a convincingly troubled youth struggling to fit into an environment that isn't his and Jane is a wonderfully flustered Victorian gel with a backbone strong enough to crack a coconut on. The now mandatory breath taking scene crops up a few times as Tarzan literally surfs his way through a jungle that is a perfect blend of computer and artist and the chase with the baboons...well, gave me the willies. The songs aren't as catchy as usual but then they aren't sung by the characters so fall into the "incidental music" category for the most part (in which they excel). There are one or two gruesome scenes in the movie but that's part of the fun of Disney when you're a kid, getting to see nasty stuff with your parent's permission! By Disney's standards (which are always high) this is a good movie, not great, but stands up against most of its predecessors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney still knows how to entertain!, 30 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Being a Disney fan I am slightly prejudice, however sincerely this is a great film! The animation is superb bringing to life Tarzan, Jane and all the other 'secondary' Disney characters that usually steal the show. I found the film both laugh-out-loud funny as well as touching, hitting on genuinely important issues in an entertaining way. This film is a must for both the little and big kids of the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarzan [VHS] [1999]
Tarzan [VHS] [1999] by Kevin Lima (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: £2.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews