Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Laughing Dead
How refreshing, a game that doesn't take itself seriously and yet still manages to deliver hardcore platform, hack'n'slash action. Playing a dead character is a real treat and there are plenty of suprises that the game throws up at you. One minute you're hacking at hideous monsters in the London underground, the next you're boxing a giant robot. You can be launched back...
Published on 10 May 2001 by d.williams37@ntlworld.com

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars medievil madness
I loved the first Medievil, was addicted to it! Medievil 2 was a disappointment. It can be quite difficult in parts, and the fact that you cannot save during the game (you can only save when you've completed a level, or quit a level) means it can become very irritating and boring. Also, the game seems quite short - not enough levels. The graphics and characters are...
Published on 17 Sep 2000 by D. smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Laughing Dead, 10 May 2001
By 
How refreshing, a game that doesn't take itself seriously and yet still manages to deliver hardcore platform, hack'n'slash action. Playing a dead character is a real treat and there are plenty of suprises that the game throws up at you. One minute you're hacking at hideous monsters in the London underground, the next you're boxing a giant robot. You can be launched back and forth in time, fighting historical figures such as the Whitechapel murderer Jack the Ripper, or viscous vampires. And even after all that, nothing will quite prepare you for the final boss. There's a large variety of weapons from the earth-shaking Hammer of Thor to the screen clearing Gatling gun. Often though, it's up close and personal as the order of the day since money for replacement ammo is sparse. No matter how many times you play this game, you always come back for just one more go. There is however one fatal flaw. The game has one of the most infuriating cameras ever. when surrounded by a horde of undead all baying for your blood... er sorry, bones, the last thing that you need to be doing is fiddling around with your camera. Whilst this could have been a cheap rehash of the original, just plonking Dan in a new background, it does so much more, expanding on the original, and creating wonderfully detailed, in-depth, intricate, huge but most importantly in this game, amusing situations in Victorian London. Utter Class, buy it forthwith if not sooner!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Laughing Dead!!, 25 Jun 2001
Medievil is back,with style.This is a game that will have you glued to your Playstation for weeks.Its just one of those games that you keep coming back for,to have a quick go but play for hours.The basic storyline is a maniac called Lord Palethorn has got the legendary Zarok book.He brings back the dead but our hero dan is brought back as well,unfortunately for Palethorn!Its a very funny game and the levels are well designed .There are huge bosses to face as well!On the 1st level you have to fight a huge dinosaur!The weapons are nice and destructive too .Your friends who help you are a professor with metal hands and a mummy named Kiya.The professor supplies you with new weapons providing you get the chalice on each level.Kiya was the unfortunate wife of the late Ramese 2nd,he died before he consumated the marriage so we cant imagine Kiyas relief.Babysitting a horny 80 year old doesnt sound fun does it?Overall medievil 2 is a class game and a big improvement over the first one.If you have the money buy it,trust me you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medievil 2, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This is a very good game and a very worthy improvment over its original. It has very good and extremly varied platforming and is more avaible and cheap in the cut price platinum range. This game is testing but it is not too hard for the inexperienced and has extra quests and secrets for the hardcore gamer looking to have a very complete game with decent hardnees while for the not very good platformers it offers and rewarding experience without a lot of hardness. In short: a personalised learning curve. There are very varied levels and skills revealed and this is an extremely good buy for the budding platformer. But if you cant bear these humourous little creautres and platforming then stear clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MEDIEVIL MADNESS, 8 May 2001
By A Customer
A great follow up to Medievil one this time with more monsters and ghouls to get your heart racing. The graphics to this package are spectacular and there is a range of different characters that all have there uniqueness about them. The gameplay is full of action and there is allways a helping hand if you get stuck along the way. Each level is very challenging and the further you get the more exciting the gameplay becomes and suddenley it becomes a challenge you don't want to put down.
Overall this game is ideal for both the younger and older gameplayer who likes an action packed challenge. If you liked Medievil one you will enjoy the 2nd edition even more. My advice is to buy it and than try it i can guarantee you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars medievil madness, 17 Sep 2000
By 
D. smith "Moonslipper" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medievil 2 (Video Game)
I loved the first Medievil, was addicted to it! Medievil 2 was a disappointment. It can be quite difficult in parts, and the fact that you cannot save during the game (you can only save when you've completed a level, or quit a level) means it can become very irritating and boring. Also, the game seems quite short - not enough levels. The graphics and characters are fun, but I would definitely recommend the first Medievil over this one - only for die-hard Medievil fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Medievil 2, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medievil 2 (Video Game)
Game's early stages are great and full of action until the Dan Hand ability comes into play. The game is basically a giant puzzle game with a few action sequences. Buy the first game and skip the second because the action is completely missing at times and it is frustrating to play. Not recommended at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars medievil 2, 24 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the first medievil so natually I wanted to do the second game, I don't think any game is as good as the first but its a great game all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This pretty much killed the franchise, 4 Dec 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medievil 2 (Video Game)
This one lacked the stunning visuals and environments of the original, the cool characters are all gone due to it being set in 19th century London instead (why call it MediEvil then?) instead we get some rather annoying characters with really bad stereotypical British accents, I swear every time I hear that ghost helper dudes voice I want to turn off the TV. The controls are not as fluent this is especially bad with fighting, it feels so stiff. The story is pretty average with a really lame ending.

It's not all bad however as some levels are quite good and what you would expect from a MediEvil sequel, if only the whole game was like that. The stand out levels include Whitechapel, Kensington, The Freak Show and Cathedral Spires. The music while not bad it doesn't have the awesome and atmospheric score that the first had. I don't like the map system for this one, the way it was before was fine so don't change it. I hate how you can't go back to previous levels to replenish your health because the life re-generators don't re-spawn when you replay a level only energy vials do WHY?!!!!

This would be fine if you start each level with full health but you don't which was a problem even in the 1st one but was easily solved by playing through an easy level and using health re-generators. Well i'm going on a bit so i'll just say the first MediEvil is a classic gothic horror game and everyone should play it, MediEvil 2 is a pretty good game but compared to the first it's pretty bad. Only for people who really liked the first I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars medievil 2, 6 Nov 2009
By 
sharon "brewery92" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medievil 2 (Video Game)
its better than the first 1 because there is so much more to do and i like the story line how there is always someone evil trying to raise the dead and they always forget that they keep bringing dan back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wheres my head?, 7 Sep 2000
This review is from: Medievil 2 (Video Game)
Medievil 2 is a brilliant game. I generally don't like exploring games but this one is classic. Gather weapons, kill very wierd baddies and all to atmospheric music. Be warned, this game is hard and you will probably ahve to find the solution on the net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medievil 2
Medievil 2 by Sony (PlayStation)
44.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews