Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST! (Well almost....)
Huge! Fast! Packed with almost every car that's ever been drooled over! USED to be the best game in the entire World; but then Unreal Tournament came out on the pc....
Besides the few bugs that are lurking in this outstanding game, my two main gripes would be: A) The cars still bunch together far too much, regardless of the relative performance of each vehicle...one...
Published on 27 Sep 2000 by N. Tanter

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grand Tourismo 2
I played GT to death, and so was hoping for something even greater with GT2, but sadly was disappointed. There are bugs in GT2 (especially with regards your lap times, top speeds etc). The new user interface is cumbersome and time consuming (eg the tune-up section, which should have been improved but wasn't). The engine sound for the 'computer' controlled cars is...
Published on 14 Aug 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST! (Well almost....), 27 Sep 2000
By 
N. Tanter "Tantona" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
Huge! Fast! Packed with almost every car that's ever been drooled over! USED to be the best game in the entire World; but then Unreal Tournament came out on the pc....
Besides the few bugs that are lurking in this outstanding game, my two main gripes would be: A) The cars still bunch together far too much, regardless of the relative performance of each vehicle...one spin and all five will merrily steam past you
B) The games just too ... easy! I was unbeatable at GT1 admittedly, but this is easy beyond all belief! Once you've got the Suzuki Pikes Peaks, you can win every single race with both eyes shut, and your hands tied behind your back. Daft!
But other than those small hitches, this is far and away the best game that has ever graced the Playstation. Let's hope GT2000 on the PS2 lives up to it's billing and fantastic screenshots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best console racing game ever !, 11 July 2000
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
This is probably the finest console racing game to date and is hardly ever off my TV! Gran Turismo takes the goodness of the original version, builds on it a bit and plonks it all back together into an engrossing experience that takes quite a while to get truly comfortable with, but is well worth the investment of time.
The aim is simple, start with a little cash, buy a little car, win little races in order to save big cash and buy a frighteningly powerful car to win more cash.
What makes this such a fine experience is it's modelling of the cars and marques included (some 270+ apparently) and the richness of the racing experience. There's a real feeling of speed as you powerslide through corners, undertake by using the opposition as temporary crash barriers and battle like fury to come in first.
GT2 covers road and rally racing (for the first time) and while the rally experience seems a bit flat in comparison with the action on the tarmac it makes a for a nice change now and again (especially if you don't own Colly McRae yet).
With it's many skill levels, multiple challenges, hundreds of cars and general ease of use there's a little something for everyone here and it's a damn fine buy if you don't already have it. Purchasing a sterring wheel and pedals is a great idea as it really adds to the experience but if you can't have one then a dual shock pad does just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 17 Jan 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
Havin recently got a ps1 again of my girlfriend i got this game.again and it's brilliant graphics ok for.ps1 600 cars inc reanult esp f1 load of.choice gt3 had 183 cars for some reason i can happily spend hours on this game big smile on y face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grand Tourismo 2, 14 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
I played GT to death, and so was hoping for something even greater with GT2, but sadly was disappointed. There are bugs in GT2 (especially with regards your lap times, top speeds etc). The new user interface is cumbersome and time consuming (eg the tune-up section, which should have been improved but wasn't). The engine sound for the 'computer' controlled cars is frankly dire. BUT... having said that, it does provide more cars and more tracks, other than that. Nothing more.
My recommendation is: 1. If you loved GT then get it, even if its just for the extra cars and new tracks. 2. If you haven't played GT, get that first. 3. If you weren't that bothered with GT, don't get GT2.
But hey... I still play GT2 :-)
P.S. My rating is a lot lower than it might have been if I had not played GT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 1 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
Light years ahead of GT 1. Excellent graphics, superb game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected better graphics, 10 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
I think the 1st one was very good for its time.But in the second one ,I expected much better graphics.They hardly changed since the 1st one.But I do like the gameplay.It is very competetive and it is very smooth.I expected a progress in the graphics.Very similar to the 1st one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
with this fab sequel you don't even need to get the licenses or cars if you've got GT1 you can load save games from GT1 onto GT2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's got my car in it., 23 Oct 2000
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
I got this three days before it was officially released. I took it home and spent the first hour not racing but navigating the menus and not through difficulty, oh no. It took an hour because there's so much to look at. I have to say I was gobsmacked at the sheer variety althought if they didn't have their own championship a few of the cars would be a bit pointless e.g Toyota Yaris. If you buy this game, you have to go to Daihatsu and look at the little pick up truck they sell for about 5 and a half grand because you will fall about laughing. For an even better comical effect you can buy some alloy wheels to make it look "PHAT". There are quite a few gripes such as the fact that only Japanese manufacturers have used sections which Peeved me off a bit 'cos I was looking forward to going round one of the many new tracks on a Vauxhall Cavalier Turbo 4x4 or perhaps an Opel Manta but it's still worth it. Oh and don't buy this version, buy the platinum one for about half the price. The reason it only has 4 stars? well if you play it on your Dreamcast using Bleem then it would have 5 stars but there are a few better games out there namely Metropolis Street Racer an Ferarri F355 Challenge on the Dreamcast. The good thing is that it is far superior to Gran Turismo 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than The First, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo 2 (Video Game)
Wicked, I bought it, I played it for 5 hours a night! Allow plenty of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gran Turismo 2
Gran Turismo 2 by Sony (PlayStation)
29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews