Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Driving Simulator
Some games in life are just brilliant. Some games are just so well made that they maintain their addictiveness and playability years and years after their initial release. The original Gran Turismo on PSone is a perfect example of what I mean. The game maybe 13 years old, but this racing sim is a work of art that is just as much fun to play now as it was when it was first...
Published on 12 April 2011 by The 90's Guy

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed
The game don't even work I'm not happy about it to say the least i think you should send me another one
Published 11 months ago by ji black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Driving Simulator, 12 April 2011
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
Some games in life are just brilliant. Some games are just so well made that they maintain their addictiveness and playability years and years after their initial release. The original Gran Turismo on PSone is a perfect example of what I mean. The game maybe 13 years old, but this racing sim is a work of art that is just as much fun to play now as it was when it was first released to the gaming world back in the late 90's.

Gran Turismo was published by Sony, and developed by Polyphony Digital. It was first released in Japan in December 1997, and then made it to UK shores in May 1998. The game changed the face of the racing genre forever. No more blemishes were acceptable, like stiff handling or hexagon-shaped tyre barriers. If you wanted in on the racing game business you had create something that was nigh on perfect; and that's EXACTLY what Gran Turismo was.

The game is split into two modes. First up is the Arcade Mode, racing at its simpliest. You just select a difficulty level, a car, and choose from one of four tracks. Then you just go off racing. If you continue winning races on Hard difficulty you'll unlock other cars and courses, and then eventually the end credits. Not exactly the grandest of prizes that last one, but if the Arcade mode was all GT had to offer it would still be good enough to warrant 5-Stars.

But this mode barely scratches the surface of what "The Real Driving Simulator" has to offer. Now we move onto the other mode, the "Gran Turismo" mode. At the start you're presented with a city map. You have your own garage, a car wash and a machine test area. At first there is a strong temptation to select the chequred flag icon and go racing. Whoa, Nelly!! There are far more important things to do at this moment in time.

In real life any driver will tell you that you need a licence in order to drive a car, and in GT it's the same thing. Head to the licence place and you'll find three different licence exams: B, A, and International A. Each exam has a series of tests which you need to complete in a set amount of time. Successfully completing those tests you get you awards, which come in bronze, silver and gold depending on how quick you are. Once you've successfully completed all the tests you'll get your licence and the right to race in certain competitions. The licence tests are pretty fun to do, especially if you've never played this game before. Not only do they provide realism, but also there are nice rewards to obtain for getting all gold awards on a single licence exam.

So now that we've got our licence, it's time to buy a car. You've got 10,000 credits to start with, and there are ten different manufacturers to look at, which include the likes of Honda, Mitsubishi and Toyota. However, after a quick look around you soon come to realize that your cash is not enough for a shiny new motor; so for now you'll have to make do with something from the used section.

OK, we've got a licence and we've got a car. FINALLY we can go racing. There are four racing categories to choose from, with the big two being GT League and Special Event. Each cup competition (some have car restrictions) has a series of races you need to complete, with points available depending on race finishes. You race; you win the cup; you win prize money and a car; you head out to the garages; you upgrade your car or buy a new one; you compete in another competition; the whole cycle starts over again. This all sounds rather repetitive, but actually it's a lot of fun. There's always a big level of excitement when you win a race, and then realize that you've won enough cash to buy faster cars with better handling, or buy that level 4 turbo upgrade for your current car.

There are over 290 cars available to choose from (according to the back of the game case); and whilst that's not as many as later GT installments, it's still a very big number. Each car comes in different shapes, sizes, engine powers, and handling abilities. To give a few examples, the Demio A-spec from Mazda is slow, sluggish and acts like a mule when it comes to cornering. Stubborn. The Toyota Supra is more meatier in power and can corner better. My favourite car is the GTO Twinturbo '92 from Mitsubishi. The car can be upgraded to over 900 horsepower, and once you've got the right equipment installed it's virtually unstoppable in races.

As implied in the previous paragraph your quest for racing domination doesn't stop with just buying cars. Using your earnings from race wins you can also upgrade your current cars with better parts, and therefore make races easier to win. Each upgrade does have a noticeable impact on your car. Upgrading it with turbos will make it faster; upgrading the brakes will improve braking power, especially in tight corners; and weight reductions will also have a positive impact on your car's acceleration and handling. To put it simply this game is a mechanic's heaven. But novices shouldn't be too worried. Each upgrade is explained in detail with onscreen text. The text is not that big though, so anybody with vision issues may need to lean in towards the screen in order to read it.

The graphics are old and scruffy by today standards, but they're still the best on any PSone game ever made (barring Gran Turismo 2, of course). As you drive around your chosen track in your chosen car, you can't help but admire what a great job Polyphony did with the graphics back in the day. The road surface, the stands, the trees, the cliff edges, and the cars themselves; everything looks brilliant. But the most impressive part of the graphics is how you can clearly make out the sponsorships and manufacturers' logos, both on the advertising boards around the track, and on some racing-modified cars.

The eleven tracks on offer are a joy to race on, with each of them having their high points. My two favourite tracks are the High Speed Ring, which is a super fast track with barely any turns to slow you down; and the Special Stage Route 5 with it's beautiful nighttime city scenery looking like something out of The Fast & The Furious. To add icing on the cake, the music you hear in the races is great too. Most of the rock tunes are provided by Cubanate and Feeder, but the stand out tune is "As Heaven Is Wide" by Garbage. Once you've heard it you'll be desperate to get your hands on the download.

There are a couple of downsides to this game. It's not possible to damage cars, which does take some of the realism out of the graphics. Also some of the big car manufacturers are absent, like BMW, Ferrari and Ford. But when a racing game is this great such flaws are very minor and forgivable.

As a guy who loves his PSone games it's virtually impossible for me to name my all time favourite game on this console; but Gran Turismo is definately a challenger for the number one spot. If you never sampled the delights of the PSone back in the day, then boy you missed out on a racing gem! But you know what? It's never too late to start sampling its delights, if you know what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!, 2 Jan. 2001
By 
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
Gran Turismo is one of the best games on the PlayStation, and despite being relatively old, it still beats of most opposition games. Sony have come up with a brilliant game here (good old Sony eh!)! For PlayStation fans this is an essential buy, and since it became platinum, is possibly the best value for money (except for Gran Turismo 2, of course), and with so much choice it is a brilliant game.This game has bought me many hours of enjoyment (not as much as Gran Turismo 2 mind!), and the soundtracks are top class (Feeder, Ash...). But apart from all that, you have got to buy this game, even if your not into racing games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new era of racing, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
GRAPHICS & SOUND
Quite simply, Gran Turismo sets an extremely high benchmark with regards to its visual presentation. The intro sequence is spectacular, as a wave of super cars swoop around various tracks, the camera tracking the action to perfection and the Manic Street Preachers overlay their thumping music track. The cars are beautifully crafted; every curve, alloy type and panel has been painstaking recreated. The vehicle types also differ as you dive deeper into the experience; there are some gorgeous conversions to be done, in order for you to customise a car’s paint job. Nissan, Toyota, Chevrolet and Dodge are just some of the big name manufacturers on offer.

The tracks are varied; we have the popular High Speed Ring, built for speed and risky overtaking. The night time tracks look absolutely stunning, beautifully lit from start to finish. The tracks are completely fictional, though this shouldn’t in anyway ruin your immersion. Every track has a unique design. whether you are taking sharp-bends or forced to brake suddenly. The track designs compliment the frenetic nature of the racing. The tracks aren’t just placed in lifeless environments; they are situated in large forests, around mountain regions and spiralling highway routes. If there is to be a jewel in Gran Turismo’s crown, it would have to be its race replays. It’s like watching a movie! Even if you finish dead last, you can still watch your race playback and appreciate how damn good it looks. The camera movement is sharp during replays, presenting angles from a variety of positions.

Sound design is phenomenal, every car has a distinct engine noise. The sounds of under/over breaking screech through the tyres, and playing pinball with other cars echoes out a satisfying thud noise. The music combines with the racing so well, giving it that extra kick up the exhaust. For those who are not so keen on jazz music, the menu music will surely mellow you out before each race. It’s extremely catchy and adds a touch of class to the presentation.

GAMEPLAY
Now onto the experience itself, the game is played in two different ways: Arcade Mode and Gran Turismo (GT) Mode. Arcade mode enables you to race exhibitions in which you can choose from another seasoned racer. GT Mode is where your journey will really begin. You start with a small amount of cash, enough to buy a small car from a dealership and participate in beginner events. You can buy used cars too; they may have a few more miles on the clock but come at a reasonable price. Once you’re into the swing of winning, you can start buying better cars and competing in tougher competitions.

Before you put the pedal to the floor you have to get your license. There are a number of license tests to compete e.g. passing a B license will grant you access in B class events This is the ladder you climb, keep passing license tests and follow that up by winning the higher events. You will be surprised at how quickly you’ll amass money, win cars through competitions and upgrade new purchases. Visiting your garage also helps keep a checklist of which cars you have, it’s always best to expand the range of car types you have and tailor each of them to specific races A majority of cars can be customised, adding body kits. new exhausts, racing modifications and reducing the weight. I loved tinkering with these settings. easily spending hours tuning my favourite cars into fire breathing beasts (not literally). Each individual car will handle in a different way, some can be slow and lack acceleration four-wheel drive racers will grip the road better and add stability, the super cars will blast through the pack with ease sacrificing control over the need for speed.

There are many different car types to choose from and it is always important to analyse specifications before rolling into a race. Weight, power and drive type are just some of the technicalities that can affect overall performance. Choosing the right car for a specific track is very important, the terrain can vary, bends can be treacherous, which can cause your car to shake and steer uncontrollably. The gameplay adds further depth, you begin to notice that the cars utilise certain driving patterns and you constantly try to superimpose your technique upon that. There are 180 cars and 11 race tracks (reversed layouts of each) to choose from, there’s plenty to seek your teeth into and it’s a guarantee that building a fine collection of automobiles won’t be done overnight. The A.I. generally handles very well they stick to a certain racing line and aren’t afraid to get up close and personal.

OVERALL
Personally, Gran Turismo does two things for me, it has revolutionised the racing genre and sparked 1 the current generation of gaming into life. It’s visually stunning, packed with content and plays like a petrol head’s wet dream. I dare not include any negatives in this review; my search for racing perfection has brought me to this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best driving game ever, 2 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
Gran turismo is a game that never gets boring. There is always something to aim for, and so you will be playing for a very long time before you are satisfied. The gameplay is amazing, and the graphics are simply superb. I have had this game for a very long time now and i still play it regularly. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is the best driving game ever, 6 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
Actually. GT2 never made it, because it should have had the GT2 'Demo' layout with unavailable things open. But. GT1 is still the best after all those years. In Arcade mode you only get six manufacturers. but you have ten in the Gran Turismo mode where you get behind the wheel of a second-hand FC Efini RX-7. a Honda Prelude or Toyota Supra. As you win races. you get more money to 'upgrade' your car to make it faster. You will need 'licenses' to enter certain races. The B Licence is very easy. and allows you to enter the 'Sunday Cup' a championship race with slow cars. But. the A license is very hard, and the IA License is full lap courses to be completed within the time limit. And. you will eventually have a Dodge Viper. and then one of the prototype LM Cars (though the Subaru Rally Edition is not one)and then. you win brand new cars (by doing the Sunday Cup you get a crappy Mazda Demio but keep selling those Demios before you can afford a Dodge Viper. You can wash your car and there is 3 endurance races (the Grand Valley one is 60 laps) You get to test your car and SO MUCH MORE! A must buy! 1000/1000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Dated and never forgotten, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
MR. A. Uddin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
I just got reunited with this gem yesterday (2013) after more than 14 years of absence of playing Gran Turismo. This is still from this day forward one the best racing games around. the simulation mode is the most challenging but most satisfying mode in the game, where you have to work your way through to get a decent car.

The graphics is excellent for a 1997 production. Although if you were too young or not around when the PS1 craze was taking place then you might be disappointed

all cars have unique coding, so it feels like your driving a car of a particular make and model (not literally)

without a doubt, a classic and an incredibly fun game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand turismo 1 and 2 are just the best racing games out, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
Grand Turismo is great, it has lots of race tracks, 10 to 11 manafacture garages (inc) Toyota, Nissan, Honda and Dodge. You can sport up your cars by tuning them in and buying better engines. Did I say that you can even by cheaper used cars its excellant. just one thing wrong with it when you crash you cant see any damage on the car. But apart from that it's one of the best race games ever ( its a must have at a good low price) worth getting
By James B 6/JUNE/01
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great gran turismo, 10 Jan. 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
I recently realised I have never reviewed this game so I thought i would.
now lets forget HD consoles are around and put your mind back in erm.. 1997 well this game has just came out and is amazing graphics allmost everlasting career mode unseen before car custermisation and great handling and great AI.
This reinvented the racing game and game manufactuers ever since have tried to recreate the pure brilliance of the gran turismo series all have failed including forza motorsport 3 I just hav'nt seen a racing game with as much depth as GT4 and won't until GT5.
This is a great one for the collection to bring back nostelgic memories and its only a couple of quid and any ps3 can play it so who wanted want to add an absolute brilliant game that defined racing games and made them more simulations than arcade games.
recommened for the nostalgic or the collector, but not for the guy who expects Gran turismo 4 graphics and then complains.
after all this is where it all began for todays racers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 13 July 2000
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
The original Playstation quality driving game has been surpassed by Gran Turismo 2, but it doesn't make this title redundant by any stretch of the imagination. The in-game action is fast and furious, the in-game music, featuring tunes by artists including the Manic Street Preachers, is great and the feeling of being in the driving seat of an incredibly fast car is breathtaking.
It's interesting to build up a wad of cash then to blow ona variety of motors just to see how they fare. I always wanted a Maxda RX 7 until I tried the modelled version built into GT. It turns out it's almost uncontrollable (until you get used to it) and useless at cornering !
GT is one of those driving games which rewards accuracy, skill and persistence and punishes sloppy driving and hammering around the built-in circuits with a foot pressed firmly to the floor, as such it requires a fair bit of patience but once you've got the hang of it it's a great drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trip down memory lane.., 31 Mar. 2014
By 
William Holmes (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition (Video Game)
This was the first game I fell in love with and the start of my gaming years. I was 8 years old when I first started playing this; now I'm 23 and I decided to relive the memories and bought this game again for the ridiculously low price it's selling for. It's still a gem of a game and the fact that this gaming series is still going in the form of GT7 proves that this title was always destined for success. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition
Gran Turismo - Platinum Edition by Sony (PlayStation)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews