Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film with some very good performances., 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I saw this film quite a few years ago now, and remember that it was a rough and violent but immensely entertaining film. I purchased the DVD (as it is that type of movie that you will watch again) from Amazon and re-lived the events at the reservation. I hated Sam Shepards character, which means that he played it well as the old-school agent, with the comparative new-comer (Kilmer) carrying out his orders with diligence and suspicion. For me though, the performance of the film was carried out by Graham Green II. His charisma and humour were evident throughout and greatly enhanced what could have been purely an investigative-drama. It was well shot, showed the squalor of the reservations, gave account of the irregular FBI interest in a murder case and the spiritual dream-world of the Sioux Nation. I hope that this review gives you enough incentive to view the film, you will not be disappointed. Other films I have enjoyed with a Native American/First Nation angle are Legends of the Fall, Last of the Mohicans, Dances with Wolves (Graham Greene again) and others - check out the Internet Movie Database (IMDb) for more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Racial unrest in The Badlands, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. B. A. Fisher (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I saw this film a while ago on TV, and really enjoyed it. Val Kilmer is excellent as the FBI Indian Agent who is sent to The Badlands of Dakota when racial unrest and murder has broken out on the local reservation. Uncomfortable with his Indian background, he sees that Indians have an appalling existance on 'The Res', and comes to understand their plight. An old and wise Medicine Man recognises Kilmer as a reincarnation of 'Thunderheart', a Brave who was killed in a massacxre by the US army a century ago. Kilmer has visions of Ghost Dancers, and experiences running with the Braves at the massacre.Graham Greene is well cast as the local Indian Deputy, who is supposed to keep peace on 'The Res', and Sam Shephard is excellent as Kilmers' boss.
What is behind the racial tension and the murders, I will leave to you to find out for yourselves, but you will find this movie highly entertaining, and rather humbling in places, as the movie asks you to understand the past with the present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 24 Mar 2011
By 
S. Spencer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is based on a true story, set in modern day and shows just how the American Indians are still being treated. Great casting and storyline with surprising ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Bought as a present Dad said it was a great film so got the DVD as he had it on video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is a film based on a true story. This is so well worth a watch. I wish everyone would get a copy of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Loved it, many years ago!

Tracked it down and watched it again... its a cultural drama that's worth a look if you want to see a 70's style, murder mystery with a native American Indian theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's in the name, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
An extraordinary story of a man working for the FBI, working to uphold the American Dream, who realised that the American Dream was actually the true values of justice and liberty and if he was going to uphold it, he needed to go against his boss and the corruption being wreaked by him. A great film of personal courage and discovery, the importance of conscience and loyalty to justice. It's got action and heart.

The rights of the indigenous people of America need more airtime and this film helps that. It may be fictional, though I think it was based on real events on reservations, but it's useful to understand the same old struggle these people are facing over their land and their freedom. So watch it, and in their name, please show it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Film Addict, 1 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
An interesting film about a man who has some Sioux blood in him, who is strongly denying his heritage. He is sent as a member of the F.B.I. to investigate a murder on an `Indian` reservation.
I found it a good film which held my attention easily and one I enjoyed watching. Though there is no sudden embracing of his `indian blood` he does end up no longer denying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid cohort to Michael Apted's 'Incident at Oglala' documentary, 6 Mar 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
'Thunderheart' occasionally Hollywoodizes the Native American story in shallow, obvious ways,
but overall it's a solid political thriller, with probably my favorite, most vulnerable performance
by Val Kilmer, along with a great supporting turn by Graham Greene.

While some of the bad guys are a little too obviously evil in a Snidely Whiplash, moustache-twirling
way, and Kilmer's conversion from straight down the middle FBI man to sensitive, spiritual `real' Sioux
is a little quick and facile, the film still has more than it's share of tense, moving, and thought provoking moments.

One of those ever more rare big Hollywood films that's still about something. Great photography by Roger Deakins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic but good to watch once, 16 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I thought the film had a reasonable storyline about a cop that did not want to be attached or associated with his cultural past. The acting was fine but I have to admit it is not a film that I would strongly recommend to friends. Worth watching once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thunderheart [DVD] [1992]
Thunderheart [DVD] [1992] by Michael Apted (DVD - 2004)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews