Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Cusack - AMAZING, Al Pacino - Looking Good
Although this film was not all that I expected it to be I found it to be an extremely interesting story, which kept me hooked right until the end. I had previously been a massive Pacino fan and he does not disappoint, but I had only seen one of John Cusacks films (Grosse Point Blank) and I found his performance to be overwhelming in this, very believable and a character...
Published on 5 Dec 2000

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Complex and uneven
There's some truly dreadful dialogue and awkward scenes in this film. It has a point to it, but it weaves a complex web. Pacino is always charismatic, his speech over a small boy's coffin is bizarre, and very American. It's a dog's dinner of a film, but I saw it through to the end, and sort of got the point.
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by William Cohen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Cusack - AMAZING, Al Pacino - Looking Good, 5 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: City Hall [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
Although this film was not all that I expected it to be I found it to be an extremely interesting story, which kept me hooked right until the end. I had previously been a massive Pacino fan and he does not disappoint, but I had only seen one of John Cusacks films (Grosse Point Blank) and I found his performance to be overwhelming in this, very believable and a character you couldn't help but like.
A MUST see for any Cusack or Pacino fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CITY HALL, 5 Nov 2010
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I just love Al Pacino so try get all his movies. Not one of his best movies but if you love Al Pacino anything of his is good. Al Pacino re-teams with Sea of Love director Harold Becker, as New York Mayor John Pappas, in the City Hall. A thriller taht's the first film ever shot inside the lover Manhattan structure which is ground zero for the city's government. There is Murder, corruption, cover up and scandal in this movie. I did enjoy it and the actors are really good. If you love Al Pachino you would love the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The movie has a nice and exciting story. Al Pacino is great. The end of the film was surprising. I would recommend it for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid political based drama from 1996 with great cast, 15 July 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Re-watching this in 2011, City Hall is still a decent film, but not a great one. Pacino looks slightly weak but delivers a powerful lead role, alongside an excellent young John Cusack who pair up and save this political drama. The cast is excellent, the plot enjoyable and the captured look pretty real and strong, but it lacks any depth or action.

A classic 90's style U.S drama movie with entertaining performances amidst an unsurprising plot, created by 3 great writers of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Solid Film, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Mr Pacino can be a little erratic in his performances but this is a good solid performance from a very accomplished actor. John Cussack also holds his end up well as does Danny Aiello ( a much underrated actor in my opinion)

This is not a clear cut film about good and bad. It is about how these lines are easily blurred over time.

A very good film that I would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 31 July 2014
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Nothing new here, but fast and gripping. Al Pacino an almost convincing good guy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Very good film for a older one. Story line was good and watchable all through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Complex and uneven, 5 Jun 2010
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
There's some truly dreadful dialogue and awkward scenes in this film. It has a point to it, but it weaves a complex web. Pacino is always charismatic, his speech over a small boy's coffin is bizarre, and very American. It's a dog's dinner of a film, but I saw it through to the end, and sort of got the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather trite altogether, 12 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The film concerns a classic theme. In fact it concerns the theme exploited by Batman, from beginning to end, but in real data and details. The mayor of New York, appreciated and very diligent and dynamic, in order to get some project through slightly faster than normal, yields to some pressure from some private business contractors about a criminal drug dealer who should have been sent and kept in prison and he pressurizes the judge in his turn to set him free on probation in spite of a negative probation report that disappears but is not destroyed, be it only because of the political value it represents. And what was to happen happens and a few people, including a black schoolboy is killed in a shoot out between a police detective and that criminal. The city may explode because of it: racial tension because of the black school boy and social tension because of the insecurity such criminals free to roam around and go on with their criminal activities represent to the public. Unluckily the film does not show that tension very well and follows the investigation of the first deputy mayor who wants to find out the truth and does find it out. But along the way a few witnesses are killed, and those who had played some role in the whole business are forced to retire (the judge), to end their career and life (the contractor or the contractor's go between), a public officer who was ready to deliver the disappeared probation report, and some shady character after he provides some crucial information. The mayor himself retires and takes a long vacation; But the main interest of the film is in the exploration of the contortions the mayor is doing to cover up the problem and the contortions he remembers having done in the past that led to the mistake about this probation case. The political philosophy that nothing is pure white or pure black and that everything is grey which is never comfortable to decision makers is invoked as an excuse for wrong but profitable decisions. We are not speaking of necessary compromises to get to some consensus in some domains that are crucial to public interest. We are speaking of considering as less important to take a bad decision about some petty or supposedly petty criminal than some infrastructure or economic project in the city. That is not typical of New York. That is true in any mayoral office. It is just more significant in quantity and in quality in a big metropolitan area like New York and of course in a city or country where police departments are municipal and are controlled by political imperatives. The young deputy mayor is thus pushing the old mayor out of the way, and he derails his ambition to be the governor of New York in order to become the president of the US. The mayor is perfect due to the embodiment Al Pacino offers us since he is able to express ten minutes of dialogue with one facial expression that makes the whole dialogue useless. I find the end slightly mushy with the ex-deputy mayor campaigning in his own name. That seems to mean that he was so attached to justice because he saw his chance to push the mayor out of his own way. Hence he is not better than all the others, just still too young in his ambition.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Hall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Excellent film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City Hall [DVD] [1996]
City Hall [DVD] [1996] by Harold Becker (DVD - 2000)
11.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews