Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such potential
I remember watching this on BBC2 when I was 9 or 10 and enjoying it.
It's just as good as I remember, ok so the script is a little corny in places and the acting can be a bit wooden but it's got plenty of action and explosions.
It was a series I felt had so much potential (I would add Eerie Indiana and Wonderfalls to this category), maybe some better script...
Published on 9 July 2012 by S. Woodhouse

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good family friendly fun
This tape has the two best episodes of 'Space Precinct'. Both are lightweight fun and are suitable for all ages. In the 1st episode 'Two Against the Rock' Jack Haldane and Jane Castle are trapped in a prison where the inmates are taken over, they have to evade the prisoners and take back control while fighting their attraction to each other. In the second episode...
Published on 6 Sep 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such potential, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching this on BBC2 when I was 9 or 10 and enjoying it.
It's just as good as I remember, ok so the script is a little corny in places and the acting can be a bit wooden but it's got plenty of action and explosions.
It was a series I felt had so much potential (I would add Eerie Indiana and Wonderfalls to this category), maybe some better script writers might have helped but it deserved a second series.
Box set is simple, 5 discs in a double width DVD case, no subtitles, dolby 2.0 sound and reasonable picture quality.
##IMPORTANT##, this has literally been ripped from the US TV feed, it breaks every 10 minutes for adverts so we get a small animation and 1 second black gap before the animation again, in total about 5/6 seconds, not a deal breaker but it gets annoying if you watch several episodes in a row.
As there doesn't seem to be a UK release of this you have to accept it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series' crowning achievement, 20 Aug 2001
By 
This Volume 11 & 12 set contains both of the two-part episodes, "The Fire Within" and "Deathwatch". As with nearly every episode in this classic series, they are both excellent, and could teach the best fantasy/sci-fi of today (Buffy, Star Trek) quite a bit about plot structure and direction. If Space Precinct had a failing, it was the lack of continuous plot - there wasn't much carried on from one episode to the next in terms of relationships and character interaction. "Deathwatch" addresses this, and brings the whole thing to a very satisfactory end, even though its two episodes are probably the series' worst. It's great that Space Precinct is finally being properly released (after an abortive VHS attempt in 1995), and any true sci-fi fan will snatch it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rival to Trek and B5?, 6 Jan 2012
By 
I'll admit it, I'm an Anderson Fan. No surprise then that I enjoyed seeing this again.

It's better than I remember, but is really a cop show set in an unusual precinct, with some characters made up as aliens. So what is wrong with that - nothing I say and a very enjoyable romp through these discs I have had.

I'm surprised by the accusation of racism levied by the one star reviewer here. Did he get past episode 1 I wonder as that is the only episode that shows an alien with unsavory habits. You can't even levy the accusation that it is always the aliens who are the bad guys, there is an even spread amongst them and the humans.

Gerry Anderson as well, is well known for breaking down racist barriers and showing Black characters in prominent roles over the years, so even if the aliens are an allegory, then this must be subliminally promoting race relations.

Back to the series, the stories are imaginative (a number of the themes explored have surfaced in Babylon 5 and Trek universes), the prosthetics rival anything in say Babylon 5 (there is even a character who could be the fore-runner (in make up terms) of the Soul Hunter).

I'd recommend this if you are an Anderson Fan, but check out the prices on Amazon.com (and exchange rate) as if under 18 it does not attract import duty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space Precinct - SUPERB!, 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Space Precinct: Volume 1 - Double Duty/Protect And Survive [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Gerry Anderson's first spate of DVD Videos starts with Space Precinct and what a start! Originally shown on Sky in 1995, the programme was a great success yet only made the one season. A mixture of Gerry's traditional models and live-action sequences make the story lines great - and as always, huge explosions in true Gerry Anderson style. A must see for any Sci-Fi fan! And there's more to come... there are plans to make a second season next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demeter City Blues, 16 July 2009
By 
K. Gooch "Keith Gooch" (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent DVD release featuring two great episodes of a much maligned Gerry Anderson series. Smelter Skelter had great cruiser chases and The Forever Beetle had some funny scenes in the Sports Pit Bar and the Precinct House.

All in all, well worth watching, if you haven't seen much of this 1994 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 13 Oct 2006
This review is from: Space Precinct: Volume 1 - Double Duty/Protect And Survive [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Space Precinct was only ever on when i was too young to understand it but recently i remembered it and decided to get one on dvd. I was not dissapointed! The show is just as good as i remember. The special effects are also very good for a t.v. show, especially in 1995.

Double Duty is a very dark episode in which Brogan and Haldane go after an assasin killing drug dealers in Demeter city. *****

Protect and Survive is lighter and more fun. Brogan and Haldane must protect a witness to a murder, who is the only person capable of putting a dangerous criminal behind bars. ****

Although it does not have many special feature, this dvd is definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good family friendly fun, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This tape has the two best episodes of 'Space Precinct'. Both are lightweight fun and are suitable for all ages. In the 1st episode 'Two Against the Rock' Jack Haldane and Jane Castle are trapped in a prison where the inmates are taken over, they have to evade the prisoners and take back control while fighting their attraction to each other. In the second episode 'Takeover', Brogan is accused of murder and when Castle and then Haldane give damning evidence against him, he has to find out who has framed him and how they have turned his trusted collegues against him. Cosy sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
had no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An under-rated Anderson gem, 7 Aug 2013
I bought this box set for three reasons: 1. Simone Bendix, irrestistible in or out of uniform 2. Gerry Anderson was the series creator and producer 3. I like science-fiction shows in general. I would have purchased it in Region 2 format but it doesn't seem to exist as such, apart from in wildly expensive single episodes; I don't have a multi-region DVD player but it's not hard to find out on the Internet how to 'dezone' your machine using the remote control so that it will play discs from anywhere in the world. The purchase price was frankly ridiculous compared to many new DVDs that appear on the market and delivery to Europe from the USA is quite fast.

Although a Gerry Anderson 'fan' of both puppet and live action shows (Thunderbirds, Space 1999, Captain Scarlet, UFO etc) I had not previously seen 'Space Precinct' (I live in France - well, somebody has to) and I'm not sure it has ever been on TV here. I didn't really know what to expect as some older sci-fi programmes can show their age and some reviews of this show were mitigated. However, I must say that having almost come to the end, I am really enjoying it. The 'human' actors do not take themselves too seriously and the programme contains quite a little humour. The masks that the 'alien' creatures wear are superb in my view - each is different and allows for eye movement and facial expressions that almost make you forget you are watching 'a man (or woman) in a suit' and the characters have a distinct personality.

Some say the story lines are a little corny, perhaps so but they are entertaining and allow for the car chases and explosions and superb models (such as the robot Slomo) that we associate with other Anderson productions. There is even a little suspense - will Officer Haldane finally get the girl (Officer Castle)? One wonders what on earth (or should I say on Altor) is the man waiting for! It is true that the commercial break 'bumpers' can be somewhat frustrating every few minutes but you get used to them. One regrets no subtitles and no bonus features but the five discs fit nicely in plastic case only 1 times as thick as a normal one. This set is well worth taking the risk - I think you'll probably succumb to its charm (and certainly that of Simone...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It really took off!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first watched this series a few years back now, I fell in love with it. Gerry Anderson has been thrilling kids of all ages for years, with his various puppet series, Thunderbirds, Stingray,etc. Now he is thrilling a more teenage audience! There are some great stories in the series, and the special effects and make up are fantastic! Look forward to many more of them, but sadly I dont think there will be! Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space Precinct: Volume 1 - Double Duty/Protect And Survive [DVD] [1995]
9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews