Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songwriter extraordinaire... the proof is all here.
I'd just like to add, to the sentiments of the other reviewers here, that Nik Kershaw is simply an amazing songwriter. If you know anything at all about writing music, you will know that it takes a special talent to write pieces as complex as Bogart, Drum Talk and Don Quixote, and make them gel so convincingly. He does simpler stuff brilliantly too - as the big singles...
Published on 28 May 2003 by JC

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Handful of good hits - terrible recording
There's a lot of filler here - the lesser hits/album tracks all sound quite samey, but it would be worth buying for the big hits if this wasn't such an awful recording - muffled, unclear and distorted in places. Shocking really!
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by New Kid in Town


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songwriter extraordinaire... the proof is all here., 28 May 2003
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
I'd just like to add, to the sentiments of the other reviewers here, that Nik Kershaw is simply an amazing songwriter. If you know anything at all about writing music, you will know that it takes a special talent to write pieces as complex as Bogart, Drum Talk and Don Quixote, and make them gel so convincingly. He does simpler stuff brilliantly too - as the big singles attest (and did you know he wrote number one single 'The One And Only' for Chesney Hawkes?) - but overall Nik knocks spots off the pap that Guy Chambers churns out for Robbie Williams, for example. This collection is a good record of his craft and talent, so put it in the player and appreciate an underrated master at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the price tag put you off!!, 23 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
Like the rest of these reviews, I will say that this album reflects the difference of song writing and music production from the 80's, from the efforts of what we are subjected to today. For the price of a large McDonalds meal you can get your teeth into something alot more fulfilling by getting this Nik Kershaw album! Even if you don't recognise a certain track on the album, you will find yourself listening through instead of skipping to one of his more popular numbers.
I LOVE 80's MUSIC! This album is a bargain!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Handful of good hits - terrible recording, 19 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
There's a lot of filler here - the lesser hits/album tracks all sound quite samey, but it would be worth buying for the big hits if this wasn't such an awful recording - muffled, unclear and distorted in places. Shocking really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best compilation for Nik Kershaw, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
So far, this is the best compilation for Nik Kershaw. Only track 'Faces' is missing. All other tracks is here. Evergreen 'Wouldn't it be good' & 'Riddle' and great pop tracks Shame on You & Bogart. Must have for every 80's fan. I hope that in the future maybe will be released first four albums with bonus materials of that great 80's pop singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 6 Oct 2009
By 
High Speed (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
I bought Nik Kershaw's The Riddle back in '84 in LP format, and decided to buy this for nostalgic reasons after seeing Nik live at Cropredy in August 2009.

The best of his early work is all here - Wouldn't It Be Good, I Won't Let The Sun Go Down On Me, Wide Boy, The Riddle, Don Quixote, etc.

18 tracks in all - great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thorough set of early Kershaw, 12 Mar 2008
By 
Margus Lattik (Estonia, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
Buying this CD like me, as a reminder of my teenage days, you might now find
some of the lyrics primitive and a few tracks outdated in soundscape. However,
including Kershaw's debut album Human Racing almost in its entirety
and a good half of the second release, The Riddle, this CD is a particularly
good option to get also the less known tracks (the contemplative Human Racing
or Save the Whale, the futuristic Drum Talk or Dancing Girls that might be
difficult to come by on a digital release nowadays. If you like the 80s futu
pop stuff, Kershaw Essential is a place to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Artist, 30 April 2005
By 
B. J. du Cille (West Bromwich, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
Poor Nik was swept away with the other 80s artists and has been overlooked ever since. He has produced albums of a high standard musically and lyrically since he first hit big.He is an excellent guitarist and arranger and this collection shows his talents. His later albums "15 minutes" and "To Be Frank" are not featured here and thats a pity. He is a very underrated artist. Buy this and enjoy. Check out the rest of his catalogue too and come to him with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nik Kershaw, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
A blast from the past, reminds me of Blackpool ice rink every Friday night in my youth. Really enjoying hearing the music again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
love it takes me back to my youth so glad that i got it and it came in good time and was well wrapped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential (Audio CD)
for someone who had 'dancing girls' randomly pop in my head one day, this was the perfect cd to buy, love it and I can't stop playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential
Essential by Nik Kershaw (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews