Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rarity -- a movie ALMOST as good as the book
I think most people would agree that MOST movies-made-from-books don't even come close to the books themselves. Orders of events are changed, minor characters are deleted, even entire sections of the plots are left out for "artistic reasons" (or simply because it costs too much to include them in the film). If you're lucky, you see the movie and THEN read the book;...
Published on 2 Dec. 2003 by Jennifer Stevens

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully shot, Law is astonishing, but pretty much misses the point and the second half is lame.
**Spoiler Warning** From the opening montage of Tom Ripley in New York (expertly directed - to contain the lengthy (and largely superfluous) intro to the novel within the title sequence) to the lustrous beaches of an Italy beginning to find new resplendence from post-war decline (and later Rome, San Remo and Venice) this is a film that is glittering with the class and...
Published on 24 May 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] (DVD)
good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class film - not many like this anymore, 7 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
When this film first came out and i saw the trailer, i thought it looked rubbish. Everybody said it was good, so i thought i watch it.
Boy was I surprised! this is SUCH a good movie. Jude law deserved an oscar for his role as Dickie. Hes so natural. Matt Damon also comes in to his own. The plot is quite obvious, but still very interesting to watch.
DVD extras are very good too
i wish they would make sequels to this, with Matt as Ripley.
Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] (DVD)
exellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
Aurea (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Even though I am not a big Jude Law fan and I absolutely dislike Gwineth Paltrow, I did honestly find the film entertaining. I would not watch it again despite Matt Damon's great performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the talented mr ripley, 2 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film- cinematography very impressive - Italy and the lives of the protagonists really brought to life. Would highly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
Victoria (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting film - great plotline, very cleverly done. You really start hating Matt Damon's character though! Great start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Damon and PS-H, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] (DVD)
I've already watched and enjoyed this movie but wanted to enjoy the performance of the late Philip Seymour Hoffman again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic DVD! Perfect for a gift for my friend - so good thinking of getting a copy for myself! Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good movie with a new way of explaining the theory ..., 10 Aug. 2014
A good movie with a new way of explaining the theory of the sun system in the form of the human kind .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] [2000]
The Talented Mr Ripley [DVD] [2000] by Anthony Minghella (DVD - 2001)
£6.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews