Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A CLASSIC 'EASTWOOD' WESTERN'
'Jed Cooper' (Eastwood) is going about his legitimate business driving
a small herd of cattle he'd purchased.
He is stopped by 'Rancher' along with a crooked 'Lawman' and a band
of vigilante's, 'Jed' is accused of rustling the cattle and the murder of
the legal owners of the cattle, they will not listen to what 'Jed' has to say
on the matter, they...
Published 4 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is much more of a traditional Western than a spaghetti Western
Despite the title, Hang 'Em High, starring Clint Eastwood, is not a particularly violent movie; in fact, it contains some moral scenarios that seek to capture the pioneering spirit (and the pioneering justice system) of the old Wild West.

The basis of the plot is that Jed (Clint) is hanged by an enthusiastic lynch mob of vigilantes who mistake him for a...
Published on 4 Nov 2008 by LXIX


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is much more of a traditional Western than a spaghetti Western, 4 Nov 2008
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hang 'em High [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the title, Hang 'Em High, starring Clint Eastwood, is not a particularly violent movie; in fact, it contains some moral scenarios that seek to capture the pioneering spirit (and the pioneering justice system) of the old Wild West.

The basis of the plot is that Jed (Clint) is hanged by an enthusiastic lynch mob of vigilantes who mistake him for a murderer and cattle rustler. Miraculously, he survives and is cleared of all charges when brought before a proper court of law. The poacher then turns gamekeeper as Jed becomes a Marshall and sets out for vengeance.

As well as being hanged, he is also gunned down at one point and is even attacked by an alsation dog - so, it's quite unusual to see Big Clint as vulnerable (and human) as he is here compared to many of his other offerings.

This is not a gritty tale. Hang 'Em High is actually rather wholesome (it includes romance, honour and a disillusionment with violence). This makes the film much more of a traditional type of Western rather than an alternative, or spaghetti, Western.

Moral undertones permeate this film (capital punishment, prison conditions, summary justice) and neither the acting or the soundtrack is particularly memorable.

Still, it's watchable, and if you're an Eastwood fan you'll find it to be a mildly amusing 110 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocking !!, 9 July 2011
I rarely write reviews but having just seen this awful transfer I felt compelled to put finger to keyboard. This is probably the worst picture quality bluray I have ever seen. I'm not a huge fan of the film but as a Clint Eastwood die-hard this was essential to my collection. I already own a standard def copy and thought this would have been a good upgrade (it came as part of the Clint Eastwood bluray set along with the Dollars trilogy).

Sadly, and even from the opening scene of the film you can see from the grain and the dirt present in abundance that this transfer is left severely lacking. It gets worse - more times than I care to remember motion shots were ruined by colour trails, the whole depth of colour itself often wavers and the picture throughout is permeated by a softness not befitting the medium.

Okay folks it was made in 1968, fair enough. And it does have some good points - close up scenes reveal more detail, and darker indoor scenes show greater contrast and depth of colour palette. BUT, having watched "The Searchers", (1956)on bluray and been bowled over by the latter's virtually flawless transfer quality, I suggest Eastwood fans should in this instance save up their cash for a good upscaling dvd player and buy this film on standard def.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A CLASSIC 'EASTWOOD' WESTERN', 11 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Jed Cooper' (Eastwood) is going about his legitimate business driving
a small herd of cattle he'd purchased.
He is stopped by 'Rancher' along with a crooked 'Lawman' and a band
of vigilante's, 'Jed' is accused of rustling the cattle and the murder of
the legal owners of the cattle, they will not listen to what 'Jed' has to say
on the matter, they elect to string up and leave him dangling on the end
of a rope.
They really should have made sure he was dead.
A Marshall happens by and cuts barely alive 'Jed' down, he is taken to
the prison wagon the Marshall is using to carry prisoners to 'Fort Grant'
to stand trial.
'Judge Fenton' of 'Fort Grant' has the reputation as a 'hanging-Judge.
The Judge knows of 'Jed' who was once a lawman, and offers him a job
as a Marshall to help round up criminals bringing them to trial.
'Jed now wears a badge again, he seeks revenge, he intends to hunt down
those that had wronged him.
When one of those present during the incident gives himself up, a list of
names is assembled, now 'Jed' has a warrant to go after them.
In Town Shop-Keeper 'Rachel Warren' checks out all prisoners brought into
'Fort Grant' she seeks vengeance for the killing of her husband some years
earlier.
'Jed' is instructed by the Judge to bring those who'd strung him up in alive
to face trial.
It's not really what 'Jed' has in mind.
This is an 'Eastwood' Classic-Western, perhaps minus the level of gun-play
we'd seen during 'Clint's' Spaghetti movies, however it's a sound story-line
with some action-sequences with and without gun-play as it leads toward it's
ultimate climax.
(I bought this Blu-ray, a region 'A' some while before it's HD release in the U.K)
Many films of yester-year are because of the way they are filmed are more
difficult to upgrade to a good HD standard, many of course benefit greatly by the
process, the picture quality is O.K maybe not what you'd hope for, however that
doesn't affect ones enjoyment of what is a good western.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rare: a somewhat ordinary Eastwood film?, 5 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Hang 'em High [DVD] (DVD)
This is another collaboration for Clint Eastwood with director Ted Post.
It"s not bad,but I do wonder just how magnificient a job Eastwood would have made of it had he directed the film himself.But of course this was made in 1968 and he was still learning his trade.
The moralistic story flows along slowly,with a strong suporting role from Pat Hingle as the judge.
Hanging is the key element of the film (both as legal punishment and as a mechanism used by lynch-mobs).I believe the tone of the film shows a stance against capital punishment,a subject later explored by Eastwood and Post in Magnum Force - Special Edition [DVD] in the Dirty Harry series.
A good film but not as strong as Eastwoods work under Sergio Leone in his spaghetti westerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... western after the Dollars films this movie deserved a better bluray relase, 25 Aug 2014
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For Clints first major western after the Dollars films this movie deserved a better bluray relase. Bereft of any extras the film is in dire need of a newly struck print from which to master the disc. The films picture lacks any punch and the contrast is way off. Looking at his other films of the same era on bd is revelatory. This movie is not his best but deaserved a far better transfer. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic western.... with Clint, 30 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hang 'em High [DVD] (DVD)
I decided to put up a review of this film after purchasing it from Amazon, at just under 7.00GBP.
To be honest, their cannot be many people who have not seen the movie before, although, perhaps like me, it has been quite a while. DVD special features (or lack of them) don't really concern me, and this review concentrates on the film.
Basically, Eastwood is hung in error by a posse in search of a murdering cattle rustler. Eastwood is found by a passing Marshal, while still alive. After being cleared, he takes a position as a Marshal himself. While "vengeance" is to some degree in the film, Cooper (Eastwood's character) does not actively go in search if this for most of the film.
Anyway, to the main question: satisfaction and value for money. At around the price I paid, 7.00GBP, the film is worth every penny, although I would be less inclined to pay more. For the viewer, the film is a very good watch indeed, save perhaps for the conclusion of the story, which, although told clearly, may leave some wanting more. Of course, judging it by more modern "revenge" movies may be a factor, but in it's genre, it certainly delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spagetti light, 5 Mar 2010
By 
T. Spitzer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hang 'em High [DVD] (DVD)
I caught his on tv recently, I'm a big fan of Clint Eastwood westerns, such as the "Dollars" trilogy, "High Plains Drifter", "Pale Rider", and "Unforgiven". But I'd not seen "Hang 'Em High" before, and it's fairly enjoyable , but not in the same class as Sergio Leone. Ted Post does a reasonable job of directing, though sometimes I felt some scenes overlong, and the music particularly annoying. Good supporting cast however, I enjoyed Pat Hingle's rather over zealous judge, Bruce Dern was good as an outlaw, nice cameo by Ed Begley too, though the Inger Stevens 'love' sub-plot just got in the way and also, like the score, was annoying. All in all a decent effort, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Clint, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another early classic western from Clint, I don't need to tell you how good he is so I won't, if you like Clint then get this blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hang 'em High, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hang 'em High [DVD] (DVD)
Eastwood carries the film with his performance as a wrongly accused (and hung) cowboy who is saved when a sheriff cuts him down after he's been left for dead hung in a tree. Not a strong film but a must for any Clint fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hang em high, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hang 'em High [DVD] (DVD)
I happy with the dvd I am looking forward to watching the movie I would recommend this site to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hang 'em High [DVD]
Hang 'em High [DVD] by Ted Post (DVD - 2000)
£5.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews