Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Believable Characters, Excellent Directing
This film is, I must admit, my introduction to Egoyan's works. He is a director who comes highly recommended by a friend whose taste in films I admire.
There is, indeed, much to admire about Felicia's Journey. The cinematography is excellent, with many memorable frames. One that particularly sticks in my mind is a shot of a nuclear power plant, brilliantly...
Published on 24 July 2003 by Bruce Kendall

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars presented in 1,33:1
the back cover states the aspect ratio as 2,35:1 (that's in fact how the film was shot), while the film itself is presented in 4:3. It's only the first three minutes (credits opening sequence), when you can admire the original aspect ratio. After that the DVD turns to heavily "censored" 1,33:1 throughout the movie.
I mean: this is not a talk show, this is a piece of...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Ralf Bader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Believable Characters, Excellent Directing, 24 July 2003
By 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is, I must admit, my introduction to Egoyan's works. He is a director who comes highly recommended by a friend whose taste in films I admire.
There is, indeed, much to admire about Felicia's Journey. The cinematography is excellent, with many memorable frames. One that particularly sticks in my mind is a shot of a nuclear power plant, brilliantly photographed, that captures the emptiness of the landscape, as well as being a harbinger and symbol of the roiling emotions that lay beneath the surface of the main character's (Hilditch's)calm exterior. There are many such nuances in the film. Egoyan is clearly a director with a sure hand.
We know from the outset of the film that there is something not quite right about Hilditch (Bob Hoskins). What makes the character interesting and keeps us in suspense for a time, is that the character can go either way. Early on, it looks as if he may just be a mild mannered eccentric who has a compulsion about the proper preperation of food. We see him comically standing at the prep table in his elaborate home kitchen, carefully mimicing the step by step instructions of a rather ditzy French Lady Chef on a small screen TV.
The same is true of Felicia (Elaine Cassidy), who arrives at the customs desk in England, having come over by ferry from N Ireland. She is the ultimate rube, not even realizing that Northern Ireland is part of the UK, when the customs officer explains that that is why she doesn't need a passport. We are set up to expect very little out of naive, lost-girl Felicia.
The first indicator that something is not right with Hilditch is conveyed very subtly. Directly after the characters first meet and Hilditch has directed Felicia to a factory where she might possibly locate her boyfriend (the object of her visit), the camera shows Hilditch stopping his car and checking Felicia out in his rear view mirror for a fleeting moment. We know from that moment that there are ominous things on the horizon. We just don't know how onminous or how severe. As the plot and the characters develop, we gradually come to learn the sordid truth.
Excellent preformances from the leads and several supporting characters (particularly from Egoyan's wife, Arsinée Khanjian). The Lost Girl scenes (as viewed from a secret video camera planted on the dashboard of Hilditch's car) were fairly effective in the final edit. Yet the extended scenes in the DVD extras showed just how painfully amateurish these young actresses actually were. First year drama class material. The East Indies Bible lady was also playing to stereotype and her expressions consisted more of mugging than acting.
In the final analysis, the film was satisfying enough to make me want to seek out more Egoyan films. I think The Sweet Hereafter will be next on my list.
BEK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bob Hoskins is outstanding in a fine, disturbing movie, 15 Mar 2008
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] (DVD)
The Sweet Hereafter is such a first-rate movie that I wanted to take another look at this one, which Egoyan made two years later. It's not in the same league as Hereafter, but it is an excellent, disturbing movie.

Bob Hoskins plays Joseph Hilditch, who runs a big kitchen operation to feed the employees of a factory. At night he cooks elaborate dinners in his own gadget-filled kitchen while watching old video tapes of a cooking show. The star of the show had been his mother, an enveloping presence who completely dominated young Joey. Then he eats his meals alone, listening to Mantovani and other standbys of the Fifties. He also occasionally helps out young women when they are in distress.

Felicia (Elaine Cassidy) has come to his city from Ireland to look for her lover, who left to find a better job and promised to write regularly. He never wrote and she found herself pregnant.

They meet. He takes her in. Through flashbacks and circumstance we learn that Hilditch is a disturbed and violent individual. The movie sets all this up in an uneasy, quiet, almost sympathetic way, and then deals with how these two deal with each other.

This isn't some sort of murder or horror story; Hoskins doesn't jump out of closets. It's about two damaged people in which more damage can happen. I liked it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars presented in 1,33:1, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Ralf Bader (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] (DVD)
the back cover states the aspect ratio as 2,35:1 (that's in fact how the film was shot), while the film itself is presented in 4:3. It's only the first three minutes (credits opening sequence), when you can admire the original aspect ratio. After that the DVD turns to heavily "censored" 1,33:1 throughout the movie.
I mean: this is not a talk show, this is a piece of art by the highly respected Atom Egoyan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film but DVD labelled widescreen though in fact 'TV' format, 4 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb film, especially when seen the way it was intended to be seen.

The low rating is for the item itself not the film and is intended to provide information for potential buyers in the belief that it may materially affect their decision to purchase said item.

Unfortunately for this purchaser the DVD I ordered turned out to be presented in the severely cropped 4:3 format despite being clearly labelled Widescreen on the back cover.

Disappointed, I raised the issue with Amazon.co.uk customer service and they were great about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good revision aid, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Yvonne Goldsworthy (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as my daughter is studying this book for her English GCSE. It is not the most inspiring text and she was finding it very difficult to relate to the story. The DVD is a fairly accurate version of the book although it deviates slightly at the end (I read the book as well to try and help my daughter understand it!). Anyway having a visual representation of the story has certainly helped her to empathise with the characters and, of course, Bob Hoskins is a wonderful actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At the end everything becomes uncertain., 14 Feb 2010
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the language of 'cinema', pictures over dialogue, albeit there is plenty of words hiding a secret, then this movie is your cup of tea. The story lies under the skin and conveys its emotions so delicately and threatening Hitchcock couldn't have done it better. At the end of this (internal) journey each and every detail becomes a weighing element on the balance of fiction and reality. Egoyan shows again to be a master of mysterious 'plays'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things - happen. Things take a turn., 15 Jan 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first (and only) film by Atom Egoyan that I've ever seen, for some reason I've never really fancied his work, but after this I'll certainly be looking out for some more.

The story of a Irish girl who gets pregnant and comes to England to find the soldier father becomes a study in loneliness and quiet understated menace. She is `helped' by a catering manager who has some, er, problems shall we say.

Egoyan's vision of England is rather strange but yet seems to fit the film perfectly. When is the film set? Hoskins factory could have come straight out of the 60's or 70's but in other ways the film seems bang up to date - or as up to date as any film that was made in 1999 may seem to us now.

Hoskins gives easily his best performance since `The Long Good Friday' and, as the young girl, Elaine Cassidy is astonishing (who is she? why isn't she incredibly famous?). Together the two make for very uneasy viewing.

Hoskins `conversion' at the end is a little too pat and may show a slight lack of courage in taking the story to a more natural conclusion, but this is a fine film and well worth seeking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raw liver reminded him of his mother, 24 Feb 2008
By 
Michael D (Spalding, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I watched this film for the third time yesterday. Certainly worth buying a copy, for it's very subtle and quite comical in a black humour kind of way. In fact, I've only just realised what made the character, Mr Hilditch, played by Bob Hoskins, so full of hatred and a desire for revenge against women. It was the liver.

In one shot, when the boy Hilditch was being used as a prop by his cookery-show mother during a presentation to camera, he messed up while trying to squirt some stuffing into a prepared turkey, and to punish him, she feeds him a little slice of the raw liver from the stuffing, forcing it into his mouth. Another scene shows the boy in the garden outside as his mother just finishes off a take. The mother rushes up to the lad and makes as if to kiss him on the mouth - but then moves her lips up to give him a peck on the forehead instead. This implied "sexual" kiss, plus the liver episode (a metaphor for her tongue, perhaps), plus much nose-rubbing Eskimo-style between mother and son, and the way Hilditch now a grown man who never married still has flashbacks while eating that make him choke and throw up, suggests that all this deviant behaviour is the result of severe, long-term abuse in childhood.

Elaine Cassidy as the Irish girl over in England to search for her boyfriend to tell him she's pregnant with his child delivers a tremendous performance, and it is excruciating to be one step ahead of her in the story as Hilditch wheedles her to do this and that, eventually persuading her to have an abortion.

The one thing that wasn't explained was what happened to all the other bodies? Since Hilditch is a catering manager and fascinated by food, I reckon he may have disposed of the softer parts in many, many meat pies and sausage rolls. There is a shot of him trying out a new "double" sausage roll that one of the canteen ladies has prepared for him, and he rushes into his office, barely able to spit out the food before gagging on it. So what's wrong with a sausage roll, one might ask? Well, it depends on what previous sausage rolls may have contained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Felicia`s journey review, 3 Oct 2009
By 
R. J. Chippendale (Nottinghamshire.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] (DVD)
A hidden gem. Beautifully filmed. The two main characters played by the inimitable Bob Hoskins and the up and coming Elaine Cassidy is superb.
A story line that starts off at a slow pace, and you wonder where it is going to lead you. Then the film starts to gain momentum. To go into detail would give the outcome away. It is not a long film, so it does not get tedious, but it does keep you wanting to watch the next scene. Definately worth watching, and one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hair-raising Movie But Great Acting, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Felicia's Journey [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This movie is definitely not a feel good movie. As with the other movies by the same director, Exotica and The Sweet Hereafter, this movie causes great distress. To me watching it feels like somebody's trying to strangle you. Can we still call this entertainment or are we watching art? That said, the acting is great. I guess the price is about right as you probably may not want to view this movie more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Felicia's Journey [DVD] [1999]
Felicia's Journey [DVD] [1999] by Atom Egoyan (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: 0.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews