Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the original but well worth the money
Although it's obviously not Phil Lynott doing the vocals (which was part of the Thin Lizzy sound), John Sykes still does a fine job (but "not best Lynott Vocal impersonation"). Being live recordings, there is plenty of opportunity to talk and John dedicates "every second of every show" to Phil, which makes me frimly believe that they are doing this...
Published on 8 Jan 2001

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the same without the Big Man
This version of Lizzy, whilst containing notable ex-members Scott Gorham, John Sykes and Darren Wharton, just ain't the same as when big Phil was around. In fact, it's kind of strange to hear a version of Lizzy with no Irish guys in it, even though the members (including veteran tub-thumper Tommy Aldridge and capable Mexican bassist Marco Mendoza) are all superb...
Published on 30 Sep 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the original but well worth the money, 8 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: One Night Only (Audio CD)
Although it's obviously not Phil Lynott doing the vocals (which was part of the Thin Lizzy sound), John Sykes still does a fine job (but "not best Lynott Vocal impersonation"). Being live recordings, there is plenty of opportunity to talk and John dedicates "every second of every show" to Phil, which makes me frimly believe that they are doing this "for the love of music and in memory of Phil, not just for a quick buck." Although I was apprehensive at first, I am extremely glad that I took the risk. It is definately well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys Are Back, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: One Night Only (Audio CD)
The Boys are Back In Town.... a great return to Classic Lizzy material, albeit, without Phil
This albums got true vintage Lizzy feel, and the vocals work well, paying homage to the man himself
buy it, you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one for the fanatics, 26 Aug 2000
This review is from: One Night Only (Audio CD)
This live CD is one for the die hard Lizzy fanatic, an almost perfect replica of the real thing. All the power and passion of the material is reproduced by five of the most experienced musicians in the bizzieness, in fact three of them were actualy part of Thin Lizzy's final lineup.All the favourites are there as well as superb renditions of 'Black Rose''Bad Reputation' and 'waiting for an aliby'. I take it this album has been released as a showcase for an up and comming world tour by what is probably one of the finest tribute bands in the world, as such it does them proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total joy to rediscover all these great songs, 9 Aug 2000
By 
Muhren is god (Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Night Only (Audio CD)
I love Thin Lizzy, would anew album from them minus the amn that was Thin Lizzy be worth it? I have to say ..YES YES YES ! John Sykes does the best Lynott Vocal impersonation I have heard, So far I have fooled alot of friends who have listened to it? How did Phil record this? All the goodies are there. And they sound sooo powerful and vibrant as they always did. This band would kick many new bands firmly into touch purely with the power and brilliance of the material. Thin Lizzy.still relevant? Yes more than you realise .....BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the same without the Big Man, 30 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Only (Audio CD)
This version of Lizzy, whilst containing notable ex-members Scott Gorham, John Sykes and Darren Wharton, just ain't the same as when big Phil was around. In fact, it's kind of strange to hear a version of Lizzy with no Irish guys in it, even though the members (including veteran tub-thumper Tommy Aldridge and capable Mexican bassist Marco Mendoza) are all superb musicians. And even though John-boy does a good vocal imitation of Phil, you just can help feeling that this sounds like a covers band. My head tells me that it's a good CD, well worth your money, but my heart says that the legend of Thin Lizzy would better be left in peace in the graveyard in Sutton, County Dublin, where Phil Lynott lies in peace. I just hope that the members of the band are doing this for the love of music and in memory of Phil, not just for a quick buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Night Only, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Only (Audio CD)
Bought it cos Sykes is on it, well worth the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Night Only
One Night Only by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews