Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Christys Best!
The Traveller album by Christy is as good if not better than anything he has brought out in the past. I can understand how it might upset the hardcore fans but its a very brave album and a refreshing departure where he has the balls to try something new by teaming up with the genius that is Leo Pearson who produced and engineered all the unique sounds you'll hear. 'The...
Published on 28 July 2006 by Johnny Jump Up

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing!
When I saw that there was a new Christy CD that i had missed, I had to get it! Unfortunately, i was very disappointed. The vocals on the CD are okay, but its all set to tacky drum beats and "edgy" echoes, unnecessary for such an incredible singer and guitar player. This new way of recording seems like they are trying to be too flashy and "techno-age", which is not what...
Published on 9 Jan 2009 by Mr. K. Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Christys Best!, 28 July 2006
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
The Traveller album by Christy is as good if not better than anything he has brought out in the past. I can understand how it might upset the hardcore fans but its a very brave album and a refreshing departure where he has the balls to try something new by teaming up with the genius that is Leo Pearson who produced and engineered all the unique sounds you'll hear. 'The Rocky Road to Dublin' will make the hairs stand on the back of your neck when you hear the energy emitted. 'The Edge' from U2 guest solos on 'Whats the story git'? In general it's a great and very respectable treatment of the classic songs like Raggle Taggle Gypsy and One last cold kiss where I find it very refreshing to hear in a new and adventurous way. The album is dedicated to the memory of Christys Father Andy Moore. The sleeve artwork even seems to captures the atmosphere of the music somehow and is very impressive. This Album is in my opinion one of Christys finest and he deserves the recognition where it's due. Approach it with an open mind and the listen will do the rest as you'll soon discover how brilliant this album actually is, buy with confidence. . . . 5*+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, but great!, 15 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
I just had to write this review to try to up the average number of stars this album got :-)
Christy Moore revisits much of his older material in a dynamic new style. This won't appeal to the purists, but I reckon it's one of his best - it conveys more of the atmosphere of his (sadly missed) live performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraterrestial high quality magic music, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
This latest Christy Moore CD is very different from his others but among his best! His voice is very mature and sometimes whispering. The sound is close to modern rock but very distinctly Christy's. It's music you get mystified by. Very powerful music. But beware - not everyday folk -. I hope he'll continue to produce this kind of CDs now that he retired from performing live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, tho' not his usual style., 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
Yes, it's quite different from his older stuff. Christy draws on Leo Pearson's experience of contemporary electronic dance music & in doing so, creates something new! Well worth picking up - I've had this playing in my car since it was released. It seriously grows on you. Get it even if it's just for the Siren's Song. - Pete C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another to my chrisy moore collection, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
The product arrived on time and was functional, packaging was good and protected the product, good value for money spent, I will use this supplier again. good to have this addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Differently brilliant!, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. G. Fleming (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
I feel compelled to write this just to to try and help anyone who may be interested in buying this CD and may be a bit confused or put off by the very mixed reviews.
Firstly I must stress that this album is not like any other Christy Moore album.
I can understand why a lot of the purists hate it, and each to his own!
I have probably all of Christy Moore's musical output and I enjoy it all, some maybe a bit more than others.
Just because this is totally different doesn't make it a bad album! Personally I love it, it is a bit like Afro Celt Sound System
or even a sort of left field rock album. It is quite dark in parts, as is the brooding cover!
If you approach it with an open mind and set the wonderful catalogue of tradional/Folk music aside for the moment, you might just get to enjoy it as much as I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black was the new green.., 14 Jun 2014
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
Christy recorded this down in his shed after his doctor advised him to stop gigging. A fine playlist of songs from his book of story. Leo Pearson's magic box gives us a neofolk or pop-industrial programme. Quite spacey too. Would love to hear another album like this from one of the kings..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing!, 9 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. K. Green "kgreen366" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I saw that there was a new Christy CD that i had missed, I had to get it! Unfortunately, i was very disappointed. The vocals on the CD are okay, but its all set to tacky drum beats and "edgy" echoes, unnecessary for such an incredible singer and guitar player. This new way of recording seems like they are trying to be too flashy and "techno-age", which is not what the beautiful voice of Christy needs.
There are a couple of new tracks on the CD, but they are very uninspiring, and are as dwarfed by the background noise as the older tracks. Every track could be at least a minute shorter, if you cut all the repetitive backing that goes on for a long time after the singing stops.
I hoped that "Raggle Taggle Gypsy" would be the saving grace: a classic that hasn't been recorded very much (and is very rarely played at concerts) but instead it's not only Christy's voice that suffers, now its the uilleann pipe playing of Liam O'Flynn. The pipe cant be heard enough over the backing. Worse still, its not even a complete recording, as the unique transition into the pipe solo "Tabhair Dom Do Lamh" does not happen on this one!

In all, It seems that Christy could do SO much better. His charisma in singing and guitar playing is enough to keep an audience mesmerized (as demonstrated in his concerts) and therefore the technological additions are useless to true fans of Christy Moore.
Spend your money on "Live at the Point" i would suggest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Traveller, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
Christy Moore has released some fantastic CDs, unfortunately this is not one of them. I cant believe a great artist like Christy would stoop to record this awful cacophony of noise. There is not one redeeming track. I am sure there is a following for this kind of thing but this was just a complete disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst Irish album ever to be commited to record., 24 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Traveller (Audio CD)
Oh my God. What was he thinking.It really is painful to listen to. To hear Moore's purcusive mutter drowned out by drumbeats and keyboards is pure torture for anyone who has known and loved "Live in the Point", "The Iron Behind the Velvet" and "Prosperous".Where is the integrity and the craftsmanship so highly prized prior to this? I know Christy has had more than his fair share of troubles in the past while but that really is no excuse.
If you were unfortunate enough to have bought this album, I suggest you bury it in the garden, buy one of the albums mentioned above, lock yourself in a room and play it constantly for a week. Only then will the damage be undone.Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traveller
Traveller by Christy Moore (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews