Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Adventure
It's been a long time. After a hugely successful carrer on the Mega Drive, Sonic mysteriously dissapeared. He never properly showed up on Saturn, only turning up in a racing game, a few Mega Drive conversions and a dodgy 3D platformer which creator Yuji Naka ordered to be scrapped.
Now, with the arrival to Dreamcast, Sonic the Hedgehog finally makes his big...
Published on 12 Jan 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Old Favourite
Anyone who - like myself - used to play this years ago will love this game. I'm glad I have it back! Although, now that I am used to modern console graphics the glitches are far more irritating and noticeable than they used to be. I'm not convinced those new to Dreamcast or this particular game would appreciate it as much...
Published on 12 Nov 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Adventure, 12 Jan 2002
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
It's been a long time. After a hugely successful carrer on the Mega Drive, Sonic mysteriously dissapeared. He never properly showed up on Saturn, only turning up in a racing game, a few Mega Drive conversions and a dodgy 3D platformer which creator Yuji Naka ordered to be scrapped.
Now, with the arrival to Dreamcast, Sonic the Hedgehog finally makes his big comeback, and rest assured Sonic fans will not be dissapointed with his new game.
Sonic Team have tried to do something different with the Sonic gameplay. There are now six playable characters, some you'll recognise (Sonic, Tails, Knuckles and Amy), others you won't (Big the Cat and E-102). All characters now play in a distinctly different style, with a unique plot to each of them. Sonic contains the classic "peg it as fast as you can" levels, Tails plays a racing mode where he has to reach the goal before Sonic/Robotnik. Knuckles has to explore his surroundings for broken Emerald shards. Amy has to escape from a rampaging robot. Big has to fish for his froggy friend, and E-102 blasts his way through whatever mission he is given.
Unlike pervious Sonics this new game is now heavily story driven, showed out via story scenes. Dr.Robotnik has unearthed a creature called Chaos, who absorbs the power of the Chaos Emeralds to grow bigger and stronger. If Robotnik finds all 7 emeralds, he can use chaos to take over the world.
Also new are the inclusion of "hub stages", areas where you can freely explore to find the entrance to the action stages, or unearth cool secrets. Sonic Adventure also includes A-Life, brought in the form of the lovable Chao, cute little virtual pets that you care and look after, as well as taking it into your VM to play the cool Chao mini-game.
Graphically this shows what 128-bit games are going to give us, fantastically detailed environments with awesome speed. Sure, the camera can at times be an idiot, but it doesn't distract from the main game.
Plus the hundreds of extras are well recieved. Mini-games galore, 130 Sonic Emblems to find, and some really cool downloads from the internet are all here.
Sonic Adventure is a classic. It may be a bit too short, but thi is pure class. Sonic, welcome back my blue, spiky friend. It's been a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Adventure (for Sega Dreamcast), 1 Mar 2003
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
This game is, to put it shortly, brilliant. You get to follow one story with each character's own version of it, with a choice of Sonic, Knuckles, Tails, Amy Rose and two new characters, Big the Cat and one of Robotnik's robots called e-102 Gamma. Each character meets another and by selecting different charcters to play as you get a wider view of the entire plot, which, quite frankly, is spectacular. The only downfall I felt as the control system. It does take a bit of getting used to, and the RPG elements of the game can get a bit tedious at times. It is a great addition to the range of Sonic titles, but if you want better, try Sonic Adventure 2 on Dreamcast or Gamecube, or even this game's update on Gamecube, Sonic Adventure DX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but bold!, 22 Dec 2003
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
sonic adventure was probably the best game on Dreamcast & some people still think so,Stepping into the shoes of a hegehog remodled into 3D,you begin your adventure to recover the 7 chaos Emeralds. I became a fan of this game just after they stopped selling Dreamcast products altogether but managed to buy a Dreamcast & copy of the game. The graphics & deatail aren't the heights of say golden sun but overlap PS1's like hellfire! The tunes are fantastic & I'd love to meet the guy who plays the electric gutar like that! The Gameplay is fun & The adventure fields are big but the action stages are like you find in a sci-fi movie with the effects & all! You can choose beetween 6 different characters in which you must unlock. They are Tails,Knuckles,Amy,Big,E-102 & of course Sonic in Which you can be at the start. Theres also super sonic but to be him you've got to beat the game with all the characters first. The objective of the game is to stop Robotniks creation "Chaos" from absorbing all seven Emeralds power & destroying the world. The rate your going to completing the game depends how good you are at gaming. For example My life is basically revolved around Video-games & took me 3 days to complete it,Whereas my friend who usually watches Tv took 3 years to complete it & is still at it!Buy this game now! If you can't get the Dreamcast version get it on Gamecube,Though I havent seen what that versions like though I think it's practically the same except they've called it Sonic adventure DX. YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sonic in 3D, 5 Nov 2003
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
although its not sonics first foray into 3D (sonic world on the saturn-it was a bonus mini game on the sonic collection game cd, and sonic R) its one of sonic's best games. with the megadrive sonics standing out because of there amazingly fast gameplay and richly coloured graphics and good effects, sonics first incarnation into real full 3d is a very good one. sonic's stages are frightenly fast-and also you can play as many other new sonic charecters-as well as the classic charecters of tails and knuckles. this game is a very good platformer, solid, great graphics and good voice actors to make sonic's first words you ever hear him speak actually sound pretty good. all sonic fans should get this, and even if you didnt like sonic, this game should convert you. keep a look out for sonic adventure 2, as its another great sonic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 3D face for an old hero., 11 Jun 2003
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
Having previously owned most of the older sonic titles on the megadrive, I was somewhat interested as to how well the series could be transitioned into a 3D environment. I was initially worried that the game might lose all of the original platform factors that the older titles displayed so well, this was not so.
My first impressions of the game were overall good, the control system was well though out and the graphics seemed fluid. It was not until I started to advance into the game that I realised quite how amazing this title was though. The level design is clever and exciting, and some of the pre-constructed scenes (whale chase etc.) truly make this a top game for me.
Te life expectancy of the game is good as there is a range of characters to play, and a great deal of mini-game opportunites, although the in game pet thingy is a bit dull. I imagine that once the game has been fully completed most players will not be too keen to play it through again, as there is a fair share of tedious sections that have to be completed to progress in the game.
I am very impressed that the sonic team managed to do so well with this game, the gameplay and style are some of the most original and entertaining I have come across for a good while. I would reccomend it to anyone who is interested in genuine sega style games. this game is probably not suited to the type of person who likes racing and beat 'em up style games as a stereotype...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 19 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
This game is great. I brought the dreamcast soly for the purpose of playing sonic adventure. I had played all the other and loved them all (except sonic cd as i didn't have a mega-cd player). I was shocked at how well the game had been made. I wasn't expecting talking characters, and a story line. This game has the most indepth story line to date for a sonic game (not including sonic adventure 2 which ships today in the US). Granted, not all the words matched their dubbing, but hey, it was amusing! hehe.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Adventure, 27 July 2004
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
As always Sonic The Hedgehog is back to stop Doctor Roboknic from taking over the world, only this time it's with great graphics and gameplay, a team to help him ( 6 playable characters) a large number of great levels, (all creative) and good attacks. You can walk around either the city, the ruins or manage your own virtual pet. The game is brilliant and once you get this one, you'll be hooked onto a long line of buying Sonic The Hedgehog games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT game, 26 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
This is a very short review , id just like to say how much i like this game and what for, rthis game is ace , considering it was one of the first dearmcast games the grapics a just fabulas.Whle you may complete the game with most charecters in a week it lasta for ages and has great replay value.My favriote little feture is choas a cute little virtual pet with you can put onto your VM.Overall this is a ace game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The downfall of the Dreamcast had nothing to do with this., 16 Nov 2008
By 
J. Beesley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
'Sonic Adventure' is a game that enthralled me for god knows how many hours when it was first released. From an early age I've been captivated by the well loved Hedgehog and this game only increased that depandancy i had upon the games of the Sega masterpiece.
The game uses a walk-through environment of cities, landscapes and mini-games to connect the newly crafted stages to the storyline. This doesnt sound an all too appealing idea when first considered, due to the original Sonic games simply following a 'point and run' strategy, however it immediately becomes a well loved aspect of the game allowing hidden areas, clips and cameos to be discovered.
The stages are essentially the same as the respected 2D levels, however, the jump between dimensions has been crafted spectactuarly creating such a visually entertaining adventure that i have, on many occasions, simply stopped to admire my favourite characters from different camera perspectives.
I cannot emphasise fully how fabulous this game really is. For any gaming fan, this small add-on to your collection may become the most treasured. It certainly is mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Old Favourite, 12 Nov 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Adventure (Video Game)
Anyone who - like myself - used to play this years ago will love this game. I'm glad I have it back! Although, now that I am used to modern console graphics the glitches are far more irritating and noticeable than they used to be. I'm not convinced those new to Dreamcast or this particular game would appreciate it as much...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sonic Adventure
Sonic Adventure by Sega (Sega Dreamcast)
Used & New from: £3.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews