Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Special System
The Sega Dreamcast is simply wonderful. Sega's 128 bit console was released in 1999 in Europe, and took the gaming world by storm. Its graphics were astonishing, and still are even by today's standards. The console was innovative and unique in that it was the first games console to have online features, (the Dreamcast has a built-in modem) where you could play Dreamcast...
Published on 29 Jun 2007 by Desireandshop

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good console but very few still work.
It's a good console with great games, but buyers beware, because it is so old, it's hard to find a console that actually works!
Published 4 months ago by DaniLC87


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Special System, 29 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
The Sega Dreamcast is simply wonderful. Sega's 128 bit console was released in 1999 in Europe, and took the gaming world by storm. Its graphics were astonishing, and still are even by today's standards. The console was innovative and unique in that it was the first games console to have online features, (the Dreamcast has a built-in modem) where you could play Dreamcast games online with other Dreamcast owners from across the world. It set the standard for the future of online gaming to come, with every next-gen console now having online features.

The controller is extremely comfortable, though you may not feel used to it straight away. Using it feels natural, however, and it suits the games perfectly, making for very pleasurable gameplay.

The console has a very unique memory card called the Visual Memory Unit (VMU). The VMU is not just a memory card, but also a little handheld game. It doesn't come with games on it, however, but most Dreamcast games allow you to download mini-games from the disk onto the VMU. Not quite a Game Boy advance, but fun nonetheless, and should keep you going when spending time away from your Dreamcast. The only small set-back is that downloading games onto the VMU does require a lot of memory space, so you may need a lot of free blocks. Memory space is good however, with a standard VMU holding 200 memory blocks of free space. On average you should be able to store a good 4 or 5 saved game files, depending on how many blocks they take up. The VMU also interacts with the gameplay in a creative and fun way, which you'll see for yourself. VMU's are also cheap, you should get one for 6-12 new here on Amazon.

Now, onto the most important part - the games. The Dreamcast was only on the European market for just over a year, but in that short time a very large collection of must-have classics were released. Some of those titles include Sega GT, MSR, Shenmue 1 & 2, Skies of Arcadia, Grandia 2, Sonic Adventure 1 & 2, Soul Calibur, Dead or Alive 2, Virtua Tennis, Resident Evil: Code Veronica, Headhunter... just to name a few. The list is too long to include them all. The games are awesome and the graphics are mind-blowing, even now. There is no slowdown in the framerate, and the games are just an absolute pleasure to play. That's all I'll say, as I'm not reviewing each individual game. You'll find out.

If you wonder why the Dreamcast was only on the market for under two years, the Playstation 2 stole a lot of interest. The Dreamcast was initially the console everyone wanted to own, but since the original Playstation was so successful (compared to Sega's Saturn which didn't do too well), the news of a Playstation 2 naturally aroused interest. Probably the main attraction, however, was that the Playstation 2 is also a DVD player - at the time of its release, it was cheaper than a DVD player, which were very expensive at the time. The Dreamcast cannot play DVD's (though can obviously play CD's). The Dreamcast unfortunately didn't end up getting the recognition it deserved, which is a shame because it truly is one of the best gaming systems ever produced.

A Dreamcast can still be picked up brand new if you're willing to search online for it, but expect to pay in excess of 100. A second-hand one in new condition can be picked up for 40 or less right here on Amazon. I can promise you will love it, and will not tire of it. If you've got a bit of spare cash and want to spend it on something that will last you for many years, the Dreamcast is it. You won't regret buying this exceptional system from Sega.

To sum up, the Dreamcast is a diamond that continues to sparkle in the gaming world, it is nothing less than brilliant. Get one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOODBYE DEAR FRIEND, 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
First regardless of the future this has been the best console i have ever owned and i am now looking forward to a catalogue of triple A bargain titles some of which beat anything on the PS2 portfolio.Some of the games such as SHENMUE ,CRAZY TAXI,RESI EVIL have been brilliant and its demise is a result of brand name over content.The fact that the PSone is outselling the Dreamcast is testament to the lack of knowledge the average shopper has if they are buying a new machine to play six year old titles and sequels.If you enjoy gaming this console is a gem, forget PS2 and this machine will match it while you wait for truly next generation hardware to appear.As i say i have no regrets about this purchase and it has and will continue to be a cutting edge gaming gem.If you like lukewarm sequels and lazy movie tie-ins i would recomend PS2 anyday.Just coz McDonalds is the most popular doesnt make it the best food ?? Thanks for trying SEGA its been a hoot !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quake 3 was made for Dreamcast!, 11 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
The 33.6KBPS modem is no match for Quake3 so you would think? Well think again!!!
This is how it works. All DC Quake players have the same modem, connected online to the same server and what you get is a dream come true!! Man it flys! Read again. "It the dog`s online!!"
What makes it king over its PC brother is we all have the same version of the game. No cheating or hacks, so the best players can show off their skills and this is one big buzz! Forget PS2 for quake3 as it`s not worthy to even own the name of the game!
All you need is a Dreamcast, Keyboard, Mouse and Quake3 which will cost you less than a 150 sponds.
Last of all Dreamcast will become the collectors item of the near future. You dont buy now your suffer big time because this baby is gona sell for big money!! It`s Sega`s last machine... If you dont understand what I`m saying here then wake up because now it the time to buy one. Make sure you have copys of all Sega`s arcade ports and classic stuff made for DC and you could own a nice nest egg. Hehehe I know more about Sega related stuff than most and all I will say is, 10 years from now "eBay here we come........"
<snif> SEGA RULEZ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experience the Best - Dreamcast!, 25 Feb 2001
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
I could order a PS2 right after writing this - no problem at all. Why am I not going to? Because at the moment there is absolutely nothing going for it, and I do not want over-priced, under-performing versions of games that are already available. It has potential and I may get it one day (when Sega has some games on it) but as yet no-one has delivered the promises made in spring 1999.
However, the Dreamcast is incredible: it generally has better graphics than PS2, internet access, email, fantastic online gaming (Quake III, Phantasy Star...) and four player capabilities as standard without paying out for a ... multitap. But it's the games that matter.
There are so many DC games that just ooze quality and have clearly had so much attention lavished upon them during development (MSR, Shenmue, Jet Set Radio, Quake III, RE Code: Veronica etc). PlayStation developers just can't seem to put the same soul into PS games. PS2 DVD playback has been getting average ratings in DVD magazines - if you want to watch DVD films - get a DVD player! I did and it's great.
Basically anyone who gives the Dreamcast 3 stars or lower simply has not played it properly or just does not know what really good quality games are. I own a PSone and I am fairly fond of it but very few of its games stand the test of time, whereas DC games do and will.
Every time I power my DC up whether on my own or with friends I know I am playing the best games available. It has a least a couple of top quality games in nearly every genre. Don't worry about production ceasing - there are still loads of great titles to come and the prices will drop soon after release.
Dreamcast is the best console I have ever bought and I hope you make the right decision - to experience the best graphics, environments, gameplay, innovation and FUN that videogames can provide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SEGA STRIKES BACK, 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
Anyone who is fortunate enough to have seen 'THE GREAT ESCAPE' will remember the scene when Steve McQueen and James Garner were making ale for the 4th July celebrations. After each of them had a drink of the potion they were making they made one small comment...WOW.
The Sega Dreamcast is brilliant, excellent, an amazing piece of technology that every Tom, Dick and Harry should own. I was fortunate to buy one when they first arrived on the scene and all I can say is...Sony, shove that piece of grey rubbish up your rear and cry because you are finished, long live SEGA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best console EVER, 1 Jun 2004
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
The Sega Dreamcast is the best console ever!
Graphics - 10/10
The graphics are superb! They beat the PS2 any day of the week with 128 bit graphics power!
Games 10/10
There may not be as many games as the PS2 or X-box but the games are so much better-- Sonic Adventure, Sonic Adventure 2 (Both SUPERB games) Crazy Taxi 1 & 2, F355 challenge, Virtua Fighter 3TB, GTA2, Metropolis street racer, Toy Commander, Sonic Shuffle, Sega Rally, rayman 2, Virtua Striker, Mortal Combat gold, Jet set radio and House of the dead 2 plus many more...
Acssesories 9/10
The dreamcast has the most origanal memory card - it has a screen! it can be used to play stand alone mini games. The also the dreamcast gun, Vibration pack, Arcade stick, Race controller and keyboard.
Other 8/10
The dreamcast has the most confertable controler! Also, the dreamcast alows u to surf the internet!
Forget PS2, Xbox and cube get a DC and wait for the true next gen consoles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How little some people know., 13 Jun 2001
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
Angel demon hunter is either a.) An idiot or b.) badly informed. Although sega are not producing games for other companies and not their own machines, they have admitted that they are going to be working closer to Nintendo than to Sony. They have no plans of moving saturn games and it is unlikely that they would now port over 100's of games to a 6 year old console (when most have finished their life at about 4). As per usual with sega, they get the best games but nobody buys them. Be different. Buy a dreamcast, it's worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sega's Dreamcast: First - On Merit!, 27 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
Back in 1994 I purchased a Sega Saturn instead of the, then new, Playstation from Sony. Each time I switched on the Saturn I knew my mistake all too well. Two years later the Saturn was history and the Playstation had stolen my heart. With the announcement that a PS2 was coming, I eagerly awaited its arrival. Yet, my past experiences have taught me to judge a machine on its individual merits - not on the success of previous consoles. The PS2's increasingly questionable reviews are providing me with sufficient warning about it's technical drawbacks. Saga has stolen a march on Sony and the Dreamcast now looks set to beat the PS2 in every possible department. On merit, I am purchasing a Dreamcast and would encourage others to support this beautifully powerful machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sega Dreamcast, 27 May 2005
By 
JOHN R DEVLIN (GALASHIELS, SELKIRKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
More powerfull than the Playstation 2 and more AAA games than any CD-Based 128bit games console on the market...even though now off the market it still remains as a piece of brilliance for its power and inspiring online/offline games that still tower over any games console today...buy 1 and feel the force of Sega`s last games console,u wont reget it ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget PS2, 13 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Dreamcast Console (Video Game)
Sega have shown over the past year that they are capable of producing a top quality piece of hardware. Furthermore, they have lined up AAA titles which, while not available in the first 6 months from release, are now making their way to the store shelves.
Titles such as Metropolis Street Racer, Ferrari F355, Jet Set Radio, Crazy Taxi, Tony Hawk's, MDK2, and QuakeIII Arena, literally wipe the floor with the competition.
If you're considering a console for this Christmas, I would strongly recommend Dreamcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sega Dreamcast Console
Sega Dreamcast Console by Sega (Sega Dreamcast)
Used & New from: 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews