Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I saw this film when it was called "A Town called Bastard"
I saw this western in the cinema when it first came out. Then it was titled "A Town called Bastard", a much better title than the one it is going under now. A town called Bastard sounds brilliant, and would have me visiting the place straight away. I loved the film at the time...it was quite different from a lot of westerns...more atmospheric, very mysterious, very...
Published 24 months ago by Nabil Shaban

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Hybrid Misfire.
Originally released as "A Town Called Bastard", this film is one of those strange western hybrids which is co British/Spanish financed. We therefore get the odd casting of Brits, Spanish and American actors all working together in that favourite western location, Almeria, Spain. I decided to watch the film on the strength of it's cast and director. A western film that...
Published 17 months ago by Bob Salter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Hybrid Misfire., 4 Nov 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
Originally released as "A Town Called Bastard", this film is one of those strange western hybrids which is co British/Spanish financed. We therefore get the odd casting of Brits, Spanish and American actors all working together in that favourite western location, Almeria, Spain. I decided to watch the film on the strength of it's cast and director. A western film that boasts Robert Shaw, Martin Landau, Telly Savalas, Stella Stevens and supporting actors like Fernando Rey, Al Lettieri and Michael Craig just had to be worth watching. The American director Robert Parrish made two fine westerns with "The Wonderful Country" and "Saddle the Wind", which gave it a strong CV. Sadly it did not turn out to be particularly good!

The story is set during the Mexican revolution. A mysterious woman arrives in town to find the killer of her husband. She is willing to pay a shed load of money to find the almost mythical revolutionary leader Aguila, who was the supposed culprit. Given the original title of the film there are a lot of bandits in this little den of iniquity who are happy to help. In this quest lots of people get killed. The collateral damage count goes through the roof! A mysterious priest played by Robert Shaw watches on impassively and comes out with a few pearls of wisdom which nobody understands, including him I suspect. It is all a bit muddled and hard to follow at times to be honest, and given this I found my attention span waverering. Shaw and Landau certainly strive manfully with a silly script. Perhaps given a major doctoring by someone like the Coen Brothers, Sergio Leone or Tarantino we might have had something worthwhile. Now it is simply an oddity floating around the film ether. Another weird misfire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I saw this film when it was called "A Town called Bastard", 20 April 2012
By 
Nabil Shaban (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this western in the cinema when it first came out. Then it was titled "A Town called Bastard", a much better title than the one it is going under now. A town called Bastard sounds brilliant, and would have me visiting the place straight away. I loved the film at the time...it was quite different from a lot of westerns...more atmospheric, very mysterious, very haunting...and I don't if it isn't action-packed. In fact, too much action, and noise can be just as tedious as inaction. I feel sorry for people who can't sit still for more than half-an-hour, and need a lot of flashy special effects, explosions, quick short edits to keep their attention, and get bored with dialogue. Sadly, too many Hollywood movies pander to these numb-skulls. Actually, I would give two stars just for the title "A Town called Bastard" alone. Pity the distributors had to be boring and rename the town "Hell".A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like westerns, but this one failed to grab my attention, not helped by the lacklustre picture and audio quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars r2 a town called hell, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
2.35.1 ratio mono,aka a town called bastard strange film and mixed revues love dudley sutton.robert shaw priest or is he trying to find redemption for past sins telly savalas more as a cameo as the local bandit and al lettieri as his right hand man into this mix comes stella stevens with dudley sutton something of a mute gunfighter as the angels of death,and eventually martin landau.and a strange cameo by michael craig.stevens is there to find out who killed her husband.shaw and landau had been alies during one of the many mexican revolutions and is now a colonel in the fedarales all these people have their own agendas which culminates with a high body count.i don,t want to give to much away i admit the film is clunky and some of the editing leaves you wondering whats going on sometimes,i like it because when miss stevens does find out the truth she still wants revenge its as most of these people no they are going to die and are world weary and in some cases welcome death.and at the very end that it is going to start all over again.i know i am talking in riddles see it and understand this is not the turkey that some have made it out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars original title was better., 9 Aug 2011
By 
Mrgvase - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
ok,this is not the best western ever made,and really after the first 30mins when telly and al are no more,it goes down hill,but one of the better dubbed euro westerns and any movie with lettieri in it is worth having,still plays the horrible bandit as in most of his films but is subservent to telly in this one,the two actors are in great form in this flick,still think the original title A TOWN CALLED BASTARD was a better choice,certainly would garner more admissions at the cinema and more rentals at the video shop,trying to get the original poster,as I already have the cd soundtrack of the movie.Used tobe shown late at night on tv,but like most 1970`s movie`s gone out of fashion with the programers,this ntsc copy is one of the best,but it`s out on vhs and other dvd`s as it was a favorite at the video store years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting misfire, 30 Oct 2002
This review is from: A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
i am big fan of robert shaw (if you only know him from 'jaws' check out 'taking of pelham 123') and am not adverse to telly savalas either, so i watched this out of interest rather than expecting it to be good. It wasn't. Shaw is ok as the enigmatic priest of the titular town and savalas holds his end up as the local bandit, but it just goes on and on. There are some good ideas floating about but they get lost in the endless talk and confusing flashbacks. The little action on show is well done but cannot salvage this messy film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Town Called Hell, 8 Sep 2009
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
I know alot of people really dislike this film but I found it very enjoyable.

The story kept me very entertained and the acting from its great cast include, Robert Shaw, Telly Savalas, Fernando Rey and Al Letterri were all great. The twist in the story I guessed mid way through but I was very impressed overall.

The music score and lively action scenes were a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a town called hell, 6 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
i saw this originaly in the far east - it is still a fasinating film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3c21eac)

This product

A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD]
A Town Called Hell [1971] [DVD] by Robert Parrish (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: 3.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews