Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars65
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2012
This film is brilliant for comic film fans. I have seen this film many times and i still laugh at it. All the actors are excellent in a slightly overtop way, giving the film a deliberate cheesy feel. If you haven't seen it and like films such as The Phantom (with Billy Zane), this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2008
Simply a classic, one for your comic book hero collection. The perfect menu of hero, villain, and the dame. Alec Baldwin plays the shadow with perfection......... mean, moody and mysterious. Stand back batman.... the shadow will sort it. There really should have been a sequel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I saw the film at the cinema when it was originally released, and it is nice to finally have it on DVD so I can watch it when I'd like to instead of when it's being broadcast. This isn't great ground-breaking cinema, but it is a good story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
What can be said: It's a Classic.
The Shadow was one of the first hero/anti-hero movies I saw when I was a teen. And Alec Baldwin as the main character was the right choice. No-one else could have played the part. An absolute Classic!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Highly Underrated screen version of the classic Radio show voiced by Orson Welles and Vincent Price to name but Two. Atmospheric, Exciting and Brilliantly Directed and with A Great performance from the Charismatic Alec Baldwin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
I always watch this film when it's being broadcast on the TV, so solved that by buying my own copy. Now I can watch whenever it suits me! Love Tim Curry in these types of roles. It suits him so well. Definitely a good buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
Loved it when it first came out. Alec Baldwin plays suave superbly. The plot is a bit far fetched but the art deco backddop makes up for the general lack of intelligent script. The Shadow is on my must own list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Adam Baldwin at his cheesiest best... Plot may be a little thin but the actings not bad but you really feel you've in the 1940's. Love this film to death and hubby loved it for our anniversary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Although one for the hard core Comic Book fan it is entertaining and Baldwin plays it with just the right of menace and tongue in cheek wit to keep the plot boiling over nicely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
A famous long-dormant character of the 1930s gets a 1990s update, primarily fitting in the mold of other crime-fighting superhero efforts like Batman, the look of this film reminded me very much of Tim Burtons Batman, Through it's dark moods and it's sweeping vistas of a very Gotham-esque New York. The Shadow was apparently primarily popular through radio programs, as well as in pulpy novels, comics from various publishers, a few films, and on television to a lesser extent. The problem with this film is that we never really feel like there's more to know about the mysterious figure that we aren't already introduced to, primarily because the film itself never seems particularly deep enough to handle a richer characterization.

If all you're looking for is a diversion, I suppose you could do worse than The Shadow. Of course, these days, you could do a great deal better, as once you scratch the one-layer surface of this film's visual appeal, you'll find nothing underneath to draw your interest. Special effects, nice retro costumes, and plenty of moody lighting dazzle the eyes, and yet, at no point did I ever feel a connection to any of it. For what it is, it isn't bad, but it lacks any true distinction, which makes it a rather disposable form of entertainment for just about all audiences.

The story , just never is able to bother with such things as characters to identify with and a tale worth following. The only place left to go is into the humor department, as there are a few quips here and there that might be funny if they were set up properly, but the delivery tends to favour gunfire and mayhem much more than dialogue, so these jokes do little but languish noticed but unappreciated. Silly items like vacuum tubes that run all over the metropolis just never catch the eye of anyone, but when a whole town doesn't recognize that there is an invisible high-rise hotel in their midst, perhaps the entire city of New York is under a perpetual hypnotic spell of wide scale inobservance.

After a film like Batman, a flick like The Shadow feels more like second-hand goods. Ironically, resembling its namesake.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)