Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Franchise That Should Have Been..
Utter God damn classic. From the rip-roaring music, to funky special effects, to the cheesy acting to the cracking idea of the whole thing itself. See it and ignore the cynical critic in you. OIt's just great to see Batman go hand in hand with Indiana Jones and actually have a film that lives up to that tag for once.
Published on 23 Jun. 2006 by Treadstone

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shadow
I have loved this film for many years now. I first saw it when i was young and now im in my teens years and i still find it great fun to watch. Its not the most action-packed film but the story carrys you through the film nicely and i think this film is very under rated! you could do alot worse than to see this fantisy filled film.
Published on 24 July 2004 by ferrari__mad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want the Blu-ray? Read On..., 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I'm reviewing on the DVD because Amazon.co.uk does not list the blu-ray...but there is a blu-ray out there!

I love this film. It's silly and fun with some great, over-the-top performances. Oh, and an incredible score by Jerry Goldsmith. So, because I love it, I really wanted a blu-ray.

I was really surprised to find that the only country this was released to blu-ray was Germany. I searched the 'net and finally found blu-ray.com where I learned that there was an English DTS HD Master 5.1 audio track. I took the risk and ordered it from Amazon.de.

I've just watched it and can honestly say that it looks great. It's not up to the standard of modern films by any standard, but it looks a million times better than my DVD version. There are moments where the image is grainy; but it's nothing to get worked up about. The audio is great too with no forced/burnt in subtitles!!! The extras are in SD, but there's a fair amount; including Taylor Dayne's excellent video for Original Sin.

All in all; an excellent release that anyone in the UK can order fine because Germany is Region B also.

Here's the link to Amazon.de: http://www.amazon.de/The-Shadow-Blu-ray/dp/B004Q8IYTG?SubscriptionId=AKIAIY4YSQJMFDJATNBA&tag=bluraycom04-21&linkCode=xm2&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B004Q8IYTG&m=A3JWKAKR8XB7XF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ive been looking for an original sin!!!, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved this film when it first come out and had to get it on blu-ray. The transfer to HD 1080p has went well and still love the film to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brillent example of the traditional hero, 6 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The shadow was the first super hero to be on the radio. The film keeps that tacky originality like that of the original series of Batman.Really enjoyed it as we are presented with a not perfect hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars but it didn't deserve to tank like it did, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not exactly a forgotten gem or anything, but it didn't deserve to tank like it did. It makes almost no sense, the story is largely unmemorable and a pre-superstardom Ian McKellan seems baffled to be part of the whole affair, but it's an aesthetically pleasing throwback to the 40s pulps that has a decent movie buried somewhere under its surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just like the comics, 13 Jun. 2011
By 
Ph Nijman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The movie looks and 'feels' like the comicstrip. In this it's a good movielysation (is this UK-englisch? ;-)) It's also a movie that tries to hook up to the first Batman-movie and it falls way behind. But, all 'n all, slow pace, over the top story and my son (8) and I have watched it for 3 times in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film - really enjoyed, 6 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
A great film which I really enjoyed after buying it for my dad's birthday after recently buying the pinball. It was great fun to hear the quotes from it in the film.

It was a most unusual film that is very original from my point of view.

A good watch for people who want to see something unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 July 2012
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This film is brilliant for comic film fans. I have seen this film many times and i still laugh at it. All the actors are excellent in a slightly overtop way, giving the film a deliberate cheesy feel. If you haven't seen it and like films such as The Phantom (with Billy Zane), this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a blast!, 23 Jan. 2008
By 
TOONMAN67 (Prudhoe, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Simply a classic, one for your comic book hero collection. The perfect menu of hero, villain, and the dame. Alec Baldwin plays the shadow with perfection......... mean, moody and mysterious. Stand back batman.... the shadow will sort it. There really should have been a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this film, 1 Feb. 2013
By 
Jackie Brown "Mum" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I saw the film at the cinema when it was originally released, and it is nice to finally have it on DVD so I can watch it when I'd like to instead of when it's being broadcast. This isn't great ground-breaking cinema, but it is a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Classic, 15 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Shadow [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
What can be said: It's a Classic.
The Shadow was one of the first hero/anti-hero movies I saw when I was a teen. And Alec Baldwin as the main character was the right choice. No-one else could have played the part. An absolute Classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shadow [DVD] [1994]
The Shadow [DVD] [1994] by Russell Mulcahy (DVD - 2009)
£24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews