Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joan the Maid
Which is the best film Joan of Arc is one of those questions that film buffs reserve for a good long discussion. I found this one pretty good but not I think the best (for my sins I like the Messenger, so I'll apologise now). However, this manages to give us a pretty believable Middle Ages (everyone is covered in as much clothing as possible) although the American accents...
Published on 15 Mar 2010 by Charles Vasey

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Joan d'Arc
This is not a bad film and can be recommended to anybody who does not know much about this story and would like to get a visual picture of it.

It is well filmed, and the director and the actors clearly respected their subject and tried to do their best.

However, the real story of Joan d'Arc is so astonishingly unique and so full of religious,...
Published on 3 Dec 2006 by Olga A. Baird


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Joan d'Arc, 3 Dec 2006
By 
Olga A. Baird (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a bad film and can be recommended to anybody who does not know much about this story and would like to get a visual picture of it.

It is well filmed, and the director and the actors clearly respected their subject and tried to do their best.

However, the real story of Joan d'Arc is so astonishingly unique and so full of religious, spiritual, historic, local, personal, etc. messages, that it hardly can be explained without great diffulties.

The work of Peter O'Toole (bishop Cochon)is very impressive. Because of the story itself, and because of Peter O'Toole, the fill well can be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joan the Maid, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Which is the best film Joan of Arc is one of those questions that film buffs reserve for a good long discussion. I found this one pretty good but not I think the best (for my sins I like the Messenger, so I'll apologise now). However, this manages to give us a pretty believable Middle Ages (everyone is covered in as much clothing as possible) although the American accents will seem out of place to British ears. The female lead manages to be both weak and powerful (as befits the Maid) and held her own in what is a most remarkable (and very sad) story against even Peter O'Toole in full flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best version of Joan of Arc....., 5 May 2005
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this original 2-part production of Joan Of Arc on the Hallmark channel. Around the same time I also saw the big budget movie "Joan Of Arc: The Messenger", and there is no dispute for me, THIS 2-part version is by far the better one!
Leelee Sobieski plays Joan very well indeed, and the supporting cast are also excellent. The fact an actor as distinguished as Peter O'Toole is involved certainly adds favour to this version. He's fabulous as the Bishop Cauchon.
This is a very enjoyable movie, and everything is developed in a way that allows you to get to know the characters, even if they sometimes appear a bit "fairytale" at times. The other movie in comparison, appeared to go for the gruesome violence factor instead and totally lost any humanity.
The DVD is a little disappointing as it has been edited and cut down in length from that of the televised version. There are no extras to speak of either. But in terms of viewing and enjoyment this is the best Joan Of Arc produced so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Portrayal of History, 13 April 2009
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
This film is artistically beautiful, contains superb acting, and represents the life of Joan of Arc in an appropriately compelling and much more historically accurate manner than does the more or less contemporaneous Joan of Arc film entitled "The Messenger", (which is replete with misrepresentation). While this film does take some artistic license with a few historical facts, this is done respectfully, effectively, and in keeping with the spirit of truth represented. A truly wonderful and powerful film. I have watched it repeatedly and been moved by it each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Well done. A very good true story. Quite sad in places when she was burnt at the stake. Very well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie with a history lesson., 14 Jun 2002
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie, opposite to the other versions that have twisted a little too much on the original stories.
I was feeling the chill down my back while watching, and had a tear in my eyes for about the whole movie.
Leelee Sobieski must be doing some of the best acting I have seen in a long time. Could almost been taken for an historical documentation from 1400. Would not missed it for the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent version of the events, 11 May 2010
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
I do not say I have read any books on the subject of the patriotic martyrdom of Jehanne D'Arc so that well read specialists may well quibble with details but I have to say the actress Sobieski is absolutely excellent,offering a well nuanced performance and all the support players are very good,too...This is a film not a live video and so of course it is only more or less true but it is also biography as entertainment and entertain it does...O'Toole is super here in a plum role,adding some pompous gravitas and pathos to the tragedy and all of the military scenes are quite skillfully done,also,although no early handgunners are shown,only a bombard,so,a technical omission there but thematically irrelevant,of course...There have been rumours or slanders of a perverse witchcrafty or Satanic aspect to the causes of her trial perhaps in relation to Gilles De Retz but on balance she seems to have undergone the betrayal worthy believers often do who advance by their enthusiastic merits yet whose success make them jealous enemies amongst their lofty sponsors-Inheritance has little taste for revolution except as directed,so Joan went the victims way to the stake...I imagine she would have been strangled first before she underwent this wickedly cruel death after a tough rabbinical trial,given she was only nineteen years old...Long but well worth the watch but for me,I thought a French dub choice would have been rather more authentic,No? So I went and bought the French version from amazon.fr which has some trifling and negligible extras,although the French dub lacks English subtitles,however-A great film and if it's your area of historic interesse or you like biographical drama,get it and it's not even dear and doesn't really need extras as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Joan of Arc biopic made so far., 9 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Joan of Arc is a difficult subject for a film because everyone knows the ending and so many other films of Joan's life have been made. This film deals with the ending problem by putting it as the begining as well as the end and showing Joan's life between the parentheses of her martyrdom at the stake. Lee Lee Sobieski brings a youthful freshness to the role of Joan and skillfully manages to convince as someone who the soldiers would follow but someone who is human enough to be terrified of death at the stake and to cry out in terror and pain when the fire reaches her. Some slight historical inaccuracies but overall a well directed and brilliantly acted film that is the best of all the Joan biopics I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tv-film, 25 Oct 2013
By 
A. Nilsen "Anki" (Kristiansand, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Liked it better than the one With Milla Jovowich. Leelee Sobieski has got a lot of presence and charisma. A few very disturbing and horrible scenes, but they go with the story. The film fitted well for educational purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joan of Arc DVD, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Great film. Good quality DVD's. The film is slightly untrue in places but most Historical films are ? Fell in love with Joan :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joan of Arc [DVD]
Joan of Arc [DVD] by Christian Duguay (DVD)
£49.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews