Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the N64 classics
If you like traditional platforming games, then you must get this game if you haven't already. Banjo-Kazooie is as good as Super Mario 64, but contrary to popular opinion it is not just jumping on the Mario bandwagon - it can easily hold its own as one of the best games for the N64. The story is basically a spoof of Snow White: during the first cutscene Gruntilda the...
Published on 31 Oct 2008 by Zelda

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars N64 for President!
I first got my N64 when i was about 7, ohh thats 10 years ago now! lol, and the first game i got for it was Mario, the gold stars one. So that got me into the whole adventure games to begin with. I remember renting Banjo Kazooie every weekend from the video store and LOVED it. The video store then closed down, and by then i wasnt even playing the 64 anymore. Sony had...
Published on 6 May 2007 by Laura W


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up!, 5 Jun 2005
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
This game has some of the best graphics on N64 and some pretty good tunes too, which will have you humming and whistling along! You will fall in love with this game, unless your heart is made of stone and you have no sense of humour. With a decent learning curve and alot of imagination put in to the worlds, you will be banjo and kazooie's best mate in no time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
I remember playing this game as a child and absolutely loving it. The game itself was really huge for it's time and even today it's still quite a sizeable adventure. The characters are endearing, the humour is legitimately funny, the game controls very smoothly, the environments are very colourful, the levels are a lot of fun to explore and the music is just incredible. This platformer is arguably one of the best games out there for the Nintendo 64, one you shouldn't be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional game for a great console, 27 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
I recently set up my N64 for the first time in around 12-13 years. The exact date was 06.12.13. My interest in this game had been re-awakened by the complete lack of enthusiasm I was showing for modern consoles.

Technically speaking, for its time it is a great looking game with very crisp visuals that clearly pushed the N64 to its limit. It's use of a significant number of textures to create more realistic worlds is well documented. The music is incredibly catchy and really tailor made to each level. You can feel a particular level's theme through
it's music. Very good indeed. Clearly a lot of time went into creating this game.

Still on a technical stand point this game does have one particularly frustrating flaw. The sometimes jumpy and un-predictable camera angles which by their quick switching have caused me to plummet a long way quite a few times! But this really is a minor flaw, and it is rather hard to fault this game further. Admittedly the visuals may seem dated
but for those who grew up with them, it's easily forgotten. The gameplay and variety are all that's needed!

And that's the thing I love about this (and many other Rare/Nintendo titles of this generation) game. The creativity. This is a platform game, but it constantly re-invents itself along the way, requiring shooting, racing and flying. The levels are all
brilliantly designed, each with their own theme (i.e. Deserts, Islands, Winter, swamps etc) and are very impressive to look at. The huge snowman in Freezeezy Peak that dominates the scene is fantastic in particular. Each level is large enough to offer variety and the initial sense of 'Where am I? What do I do?' but small enough to still be realistically conquer-able by your average gamer.

Through these nine levels that are laid out before you, you must venture collecting jigsaw pieces (the game's main 'currency') and musical notes amongst other things. The learning curve is very well judged, but beware: Some of the later puzzles are particularly tricky! And with each new level you are met by different foes each requiring a different way of taking them out. Add into this the very funny and immediately loveable (in some cases!) characters and this really becomes a standout game and in my personal opinion, the finest that the N64 had to offer.

And to my mind, this is why I love the old games so much. They were more like games. Less like movies. Less epic but with plenty more charm. Some of the puzzles are fiendishly difficult and you will get yourself rather flustered in the process of completing this game, but it's worth it. I am not totally against the latest generation consoles, but I really feel that platforming in particular belongs on Nintendo. And not really new Nintendo either. I just feel that many games have become too big and too complex. A smaller game like BK lovingly crafted by Rareware programmers in their heyday is just what the doctor ordered. Get your old N64 out of the cupboard and get gaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super game, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
this is a game witch i loved from the first time i got it. its a game witch the whole family can play as its simple and funny. i reccomend giving this game a try or any rareware games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Banjo Kazooie, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
I loved playing this game ever since I was a little kid. I brought this game because I missed my childhood and wanted to play this game because I love playing adventure games and this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Banjo-Kazooie (N64), 10 Jan 2013
By 
B. W. M. Evans (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
This game was bought for a friend who reports it is excellent and kept his interest for ages. He says it has good graphics and plenty of action. I was told to give it 5stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars banjo lot of fun, 26 Dec 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
Bought game as a present. They have really enjoyed playing this game. It has given them hours and hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Platforming Perfection, 28 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
I have been rien on platformers throughout my life. I have brief recollections of playing Super Mario 64, Sonic Adventure and Crash Bandicoot; but one game has always tood out in my memory more than any other, and that game is Banjo-Kazooie. After a re-ppurchae of a N64 last summer the first game i bought was this, and i wa not disapointed becaue over the past few months, this game has become my favourite game of all time; it if fun, humourous with brilliant level design and some of the most catchy tunes ever implemented into a video game.

Whilst i know of people who have simply dismissed this as a 'mario 64 clone', i disagree, because whilst super Mario 64 layed the foundations for 3D platforming, calling one 3D platformer a SM64 clone would be basically saying that almost every one of them is. Benjo-Kazooie just took the formula of SM64 and perfected it by adding better controls, better stage design, better music and better characters. I guarantee that if you are a fan of platformers then you will love this game because unlike many N64 games, this is has aged brilliantly and in my opinion, shall always remain the greatest video game of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outdoing Nintendo, 9 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
if you have never played this game then do so,look Nintendo bought Rare because this game wiped the floor with Mario 64,yes its that good,Rare out Nintendo ,Nintendo,I still can't get the music out of my head,even though its the teddy bears picnic tune with a different slant for the different worlds,the sequal ,Banjo Tooie,was a great game too,your kids will love it and so will you even if you will not admit that you played it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banjo-Kazooie (N64) (Video Game)
Very pleased. Good quality and great price & service. Very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Banjo-Kazooie (N64)
Banjo-Kazooie (N64) by Nintendo (Nintendo 64)
Used & New from: £11.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews