Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a touch of nostalgia
I think this film is worth cult status. On the one hand it is quite awful but is also quite watchable. For me it does really conjure up those days of 'never had it so good' though it is also pretty overdone. I still have a copy of a the VHS tape that was given away as a freeby on something or the other and the sound quality even on my copy is still remarkable - much...
Published on 25 May 2011 by spotty

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't blame the novel!
I have to agree with the author of the "Absolute Turkey" review of this film. I spent a while wondering if the film is so bad, it's good -- but eventually ending up thinking it's just plain bad. It does have one or two moments though. If you want an impression of what it might have been like to be a teenager in 1950s London (the decade which invented teenagers), the...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by 'Arry Viewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't blame the novel!, 30 Oct 2009
By 
'Arry Viewer (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the author of the "Absolute Turkey" review of this film. I spent a while wondering if the film is so bad, it's good -- but eventually ending up thinking it's just plain bad. It does have one or two moments though. If you want an impression of what it might have been like to be a teenager in 1950s London (the decade which invented teenagers), the Colin MacInnes novel is much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a touch of nostalgia, 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
I think this film is worth cult status. On the one hand it is quite awful but is also quite watchable. For me it does really conjure up those days of 'never had it so good' though it is also pretty overdone. I still have a copy of a the VHS tape that was given away as a freeby on something or the other and the sound quality even on my copy is still remarkable - much better on this digital capture, unfortunately.

If you were in Soho when Carnaby Street was in its infancy, this will rewaken old memories: if you were too young but are a fan of the Beatles, this will give you a taste of the climate and background against which they came to stardom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Beginners (1986), 25 Oct 2010
A musical adaption of the book (which I`ve never read) that flopped commercially and critically on release in 1986. I saw this years ago at a screening at my boarding school which had a lecture room with a small cinema. I loved and still do the underrated musical score, singing and dancing which includes music from David Bowie, Sadie and the Style Council amongst others however what lets it down for me is the dull acting from the main cast especially Patsy Kensit and the script.

It`s set in London in 1958 a boiling hot summer of racial tension in Notting Hill, social changes and the emergence of teen rock and roll and jazz. There`s a lot of blink and your miss them celebrity cameo`s and a few real life 50`s stars putting in an appearence like Jess Conrad and Lional Blair playing a sleazy record producer!

The transfer is good quality and the German dvd (its out of production now)I received has a English soundtrack where you can remove the subtitles, Absolute Beginners title song video from David Bowie, film trailer and other film trailers plus a phone interview with the films Director that you listen too with the dvd`s cover art to look at for it`s 22 minute length! A proper making of, and deleted scenes would have been good but maybe one day we will get that on a re-release who knows.

I`d have given it four stars if the acting and script was better but I knew what the fim was like before I got it and still loved the soundtrack, dancing and incidentally the opening scene in a 1958 recreated Soho which looks terrific. I think it would make a great stage musical if they could improve the script and get better actors in but I don`t think it is popular enough for that which is a shame. Well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars german version, not declared in description, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
not happy, sticker on outside german version...can play in english . no advance warning of foreign version. very not happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a bowie fan, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
Great if you love bowie and everything he does. Interesting story line and songs, but it is all good fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Film, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
Great expose of life in post war Britain. Great acting. Great music. Great singing. Never a dull moment. A must for Bowiephiles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to see this available in the UK!, 2 Oct 2013
By 
H Spooner (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present for my Dad, he loves it, and hasn't been able to find it before! He thought I'd bought it from America. Thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as quadrophenia., 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
For being well known i did not remember it so hence i bought it, not my cup of tea a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars COULD OF BEEN SO MUCH BETTER, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IN THE RIGHT HANDS THIS COULD OF BEEN A CLASSIC.ALL THE IDEAS ARE THERE BUT IT JUST DOSNT GEL.NEUERTHELESS EVE FERRET STEALS THE SHOW.I REMEMBER HER FRM BLITZ IN LATE 70S AND SADE SINGS A GREAT SONG,BUT ON THE WHOLE AN OK FILM THAT COULD OF AND SHOULD OF BEEN GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not To Everyones Liking, But I Loved It, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Absolute Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with the dvd, came within five days of placing the order, although a foreign import, you have the option of swtiching to the original english audio (Mono), plus there's bonus interview with Julain Temple, original European theatrical trailer and the Absolute Beginners music video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Beginners [VHS]
Absolute Beginners [VHS] by Julien Temple (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: £30.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews