Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange editting but still worthwhile
This is billed as a "live" DVD - but in reality its a combination of live recordings, matched up to live footage from a variety of different concerts. You dont immediately notice, but every so often Bill Ward appears with his shirt on, then in the next shot he's got his shirt off!!! A bit strange.

The quality of the DVD and the sound is excellent though...
Published on 10 Aug 2006 by Macca

versus
39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic performance - Dreadful editing
This re-union concert is fantastic to say the least. The original band performs all the classics to great ovation. The sound and picture is crystal clear. Now for the bad part - Duering most of the songs (and guitar solos) the producers have included interviews by the band to spoil the gig, and it's REALLY annoying. I hope we'll get a new DVD version of this...
Published on 7 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic performance - Dreadful editing, 7 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
This re-union concert is fantastic to say the least. The original band performs all the classics to great ovation. The sound and picture is crystal clear. Now for the bad part - Duering most of the songs (and guitar solos) the producers have included interviews by the band to spoil the gig, and it's REALLY annoying. I hope we'll get a new DVD version of this incredible concert VERY soon. If it wasn't for the dreadful editing this DVD would get a 5 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music - dreadful editing, 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
Why put interviews with the band during guitar solos??? I do not believe that anyone buying this would appreciate such a thoughtless piece of editing. I am sorry but it completely ruins the otherwise flawless performance for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars shabby editing, 21 Feb 2003
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD shows fantastic footage of Sabbath at a reunion concert. The image quality and sound is spectacular not to mention the live performances. As mentioned in the other reviews, due to poor editing, the enjoyment factor for this DVD lowered so much. Mainly because a lot of the songs are drowned out in parts and interviews of the four members are added in. However some songs have been left untouched but the tracks Sweet Leaf and Snowblind are absolutely slaughtered. there are only a few seconds of running time for these songs. The other extras are good, but never make up for what could have been an easy 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange editting but still worthwhile, 10 Aug 2006
By 
Macca "Macca" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
This is billed as a "live" DVD - but in reality its a combination of live recordings, matched up to live footage from a variety of different concerts. You dont immediately notice, but every so often Bill Ward appears with his shirt on, then in the next shot he's got his shirt off!!! A bit strange.

The quality of the DVD and the sound is excellent though.

There are some very interesting/amusing interview sections too - but they're editted in amongst the songs. Would have been better to have a separate section for these really.

Overall its ood stuff though - great live band Sabbath, and a chance to see Iommi up close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The editor should be fired., 7 Jan 2008
By 
M. C. Dickinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
I remember waiting for this to be released on VHS back in 1999. When it appeared after a couple of delays, I literally ran out of the store to get home to play this. Upon playing I became very disappointed extremely quickly. The editing is absolutely terrible. Interviews appear in the middle of songs! This happens several times and ultimately ruins the whole viewing experience. Why interrupt a classic song with an interview?? Shouldn't these segments be included in a separate section like 99.9% of concert DVDs? The DVD does not improve on the old VHS version in this respect. One day, hopefully, we will see an extended, no interruptions version of this otherwise classic release without the crap edits! Minus points aside, this is a definite purchase purely because it shows the greatest band ever formed in sublime form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT NOW!!!, 28 Feb 2001
By 
Sam Browne (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This video is a fantastic production. The interviews slipped in between the live performances add that little something to this. It's great to hear from the members of one of the greatest, if not the greatest, rock bands ever, it is a shame that you don't hear more about their antics on tour and the like, but it doesn't matter that much. I didn't go to any of the dates on the reunion tour, but this video just shows you how great they still are after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great sound visual mismatch - Video editors fault not band(not that helps the DVD lol), 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
Mixture of feelings about this one, great sound, picture clear, great shots etc but let down by really poor audio sync and general editing. I can't believe that some 'professional' that was involved in this didn't notice that the sync was out. The drummer hits a cymbal and you hear it a second afterwards afterwards & with everything else. Amazing footage great sound but the whole thing is out of sync(well certainly the music side - though I think some of the interviews are out). The talk over during songs is really annoying to, but it being out sync really hacks me off - how do these editor guys get a job. If it wasn't for the poor job of getting the audio in time with the music and randomly voicing over the songs I would of gave it 6 stars!! - think a campaign for a re-edit is called cause I can't see them doing another live Sabbath DVD soon if at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The founders of metal, 3 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD hoping to see what sabbath were like live, and have to say i was not disappointed. The whole thing is fairly well edited, well shot, and the emphasis on the crowd, and Ozzy's interactions with the crowd add to "live" atmosphere. Also, it contains plenty of interesting interviews (although it is annoying when they are played over songs, as we miss parts like the fast ending to "Sweet Leaf" for example). Only a few ommitances (i.e. there is no "symptom of the universe" or "sabbath bloody sabbath"!!! WHY?) spoil an otherwise excellent live DVD. If you, like me, ever wondered how Sabbath's songs would sound if played today with todays equipment and amplifiers, then look no further, (the version of "Children of the Grave" really, really rocks!). 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Personalised account of the band's well documented reunion, 24 Dec 2000
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
When Black Sabbath, the founders of heavy metal, reformed to play War Pigs, N.I.B., Children of the Grave, Paraniod et. al., some of which had not been played since the 70s it needed something special to maintain memories of a truly remarkable rock band. This dvd is a personalised, well crafted account of the reunion tour. Classic tracks are interspersed with interviews and recollections from the bands past. A truly excellent package with the added benefit of tour photos and the Renunion EPK. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A REAL DISCAPIONTMENT, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] (DVD)
I WAS DISCAPIONTED WITH THIS DVD AS THE CONCERT IS INTERUPTED SEVERAL TIMES AND BITS OF INTERVIEWS ARE PUT IN - IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF THE CONCERT WAS RECORDED IN IT'S ORIGINALITY THEN THE INTERVIEW BE PUT IN THE SPECIAL FEATURES AS ONE LONG INTERVIEW.
BUT A MUST HAVE IF YOU ARE A SABBATH FAN .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD]
Black Sabbath: The Last Supper [DVD] by Monica Hardiman (DVD - 2003)
9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews