Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accidents can and did happen
When former child actor Anthony Newley spoofed Elvis for a movie called Idle on Parade he ended up opening the gates to a succesful career as a singer.
He covered American hits and America covered some of his eg Do you mind (Andy Williams) and Bee Bom (Sammy Davis Jr.) What kind of fool am I was covered by dozens and is heard here in its American version...
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by Richard

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Newley
Not as good as i hoped, but there are some good tracks on this cd, and because of the price it's still worth buying
Published 2 months ago by MEY100


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accidents can and did happen, 14 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
When former child actor Anthony Newley spoofed Elvis for a movie called Idle on Parade he ended up opening the gates to a succesful career as a singer.
He covered American hits and America covered some of his eg Do you mind (Andy Williams) and Bee Bom (Sammy Davis Jr.) What kind of fool am I was covered by dozens and is heard here in its American version
Probably given more control over what he recorded than many others he charted with a nursery rhyme (Pop goes the weasel) and drawing room ballads from the turn of the century (I'll walk beside you).
His real forte though was the Musical and in 1992 he played Scrooge in a new stage adaption based on the Albert Finney movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
I bought this mainly because it had tracks from Stop the World I Want to Get Off. I was lucky enough to see this show (twice!) when it played at the Queens Theatre in London in the sixties. Amazingly I am still almost word perfect in most of the songs :) You could say that Anthony Newley was my first crush, and I probably failed a lot of my school exams because I was so star struck! Anyway, the songs in this album sounded just as good as they did back then. Thanks for the memories, this album will be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Decca Years Anthony Newley, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
This is a CD of some of the songs by the very talented actor, singer, song writer, Tony Newley. I have always thought of him as one of the greatest talent's this country has ever produced and when you listen to the music on this CD you will understand, expecially as it features the music from the big hit show "Stop the World I want to Get Off"
which he co wrote and starred in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
a snapshot of my youth - a trip down memory lane - lots of stuff from stop the world i want to get off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Newley, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
If you enjoy this artist, then this double-cd is just what you need to add to your collection. So many tracks....such a wide range of songs, well recorded....buy it with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Newley, 1 May 2010
By 
J. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
I have always enjoyed Anthony Newley since I was very young and most of the tracks on this CD are from albums I had in the 60s so I'm very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
The Decca Years 1959-1964This really is the very best of Tony Newley - buy it while you can. A wonderful talant and well recorded in this version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Newley, 13 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
Not as good as i hoped, but there are some good tracks on this cd, and because of the price it's still worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boxed set?, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Years 1959-1964 (Audio CD)
Enjoyable...brings back old memories...but sadly this is not a 'boxed set' it is only 2 cds in a regular jewel case.Disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Decca Years 1959-1964
The Decca Years 1959-1964 by Anthony Newley (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews