Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic
This movie is a classic, a must own for all the "computer people". It's the Nostradamus of computer movies. It talks about hacking at a time where the internet was science fiction and the average computer was half as powerfull as a Game Boy. It has some old school phreaking (tampering phone lines) in there as well but all information is just of historical value. All the...
Published on 13 Dec 2002 by Andrew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars where r the advertised extras?
says it has a few featurettes on it but goes straight into film with no menu.tried updating my blu ray players firmware but this did not help.so not sure if no extras on disc or problem specific to my blu ray player.thats why only given 3 stars.
Published 3 days ago by dean hedges


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 13 Dec 2002
This review is from: Wargames [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This movie is a classic, a must own for all the "computer people". It's the Nostradamus of computer movies. It talks about hacking at a time where the internet was science fiction and the average computer was half as powerfull as a Game Boy. It has some old school phreaking (tampering phone lines) in there as well but all information is just of historical value. All the things that you see in the movie is a common thing of todays computers, like speech, but when you watch this film have in mind that it was produced in 1983! It's also the movie that inspired programmers to write War Dialers (well known type of software among todays crackers used to find phone lines connected to computers). If you are not interested in classics and historical values but you want some computer action try something like "Hackers", "SWORDFISH" and "Antitrust". But if you are interested in classics also check "Tron".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 80s, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Wargames [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I have to disagree with the Amazon review:

"After that, it's not hard to predict what's going to happen: government agents swoop in, but the story ends up in the "hands" of machines talking to one another. Thus we're stuck with flashing lights, etc."

You have to remember this film was brought out during the cold war and the era of the ZX Spectrum. Square blobs on a screen were impressive enough, but the idea of playing out multi-screen global nuclear war was enough to blow any 13 year old's mind at the time. This was combined with the fact that the computer software in question was named after the programmer's dead son and played the same kind of games, tic-tac-toe, that a child would. So, the final scene is not just about flashing lights, it's about a father teaching his son about life and the futility of war - and in so doing teaching every adult present in the US Army bunker the same lesson. This amounts to a very tense and touching finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good film that could have been a classic, 26 Aug 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Seeing this again, 30 years later, I’m of two minds. There’s still a lot to enjoy in this slightly Disney version of an end-of-the-world thriller. There’s a lot of clever twists in the plot, some lovely performances, some real tension.

But it also all feels a bit light and softened to make it more audience friendly. That was probably the right decision commercially, but maybe not artistically. If original director Martin Brest had been allowed to finish the film, with the somewhat darker original script I read back then, I wonder if this could have been a bit of a minor classic, in the family of great nuclear war films like Dr. Strangelove and Fail Safe, instead of an entertaining, intelligent thrill ride. There are also, on reflection some big logic holes you could fly missiles through.

But at the end of the day, I still enjoyed re-seeing it, smiling a good deal of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spectacularly entertaining film, 15 May 2014
By 
bob burns aka Batman "Bob" (Luton,Beds or Gotham City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wargames [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
It may be an old film now but its still a cracking good story that has stood the test of time very well.We are so used to computers now that its a bit easy to forget we didn't always have pcs,we may have had some sorts of computers but nothing like we have now so its a gentle reminder of how far we have progressed in technology.The U.S. DO play wargames,as do the Russians,as did we when we were a significant nuclear power.Now we are but a shadow of our former slightly aggressive and distinctly prickly selves,its somewhat reassuring to know that such wargames are practised by the one power in the world that is not totally without honour,they do at least have the sense to put themselves first and to hell with trying to please everyone,its a damn shame we don't have the courage to follow suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still holds up., 3 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wargames [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This was one of my favourite movies of the '80s, but which I had somehow neglected adding to my DVD collection until now. I expected to find it juvenile, and rather naive regarding technology, but in fact found that it still holds up surprisingly well as a thriller. I had no problem believing in any of the characters or their motivations. I enjoyed it so much that I watched it again with a friend the following evening, both of us enjoying a bit of movie nostalgia.

Listening to the excellent commentary even answered one of my old minor objections to the movie: you see I was then (and still am) a computer programmer. I could see that most of his equipment was years obsolete even when the movie came out, but the commentary pointed out that this was deliberate, after all this was a schoolkid - no income, so all his kit was hand-me-downs that others were throwing away.

My personal standard for a 5 star movie is, will I still want to be watching this in a few decades time? Since this movie has already met that test the score must be automatic! So 5 stars it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still enjoyable and awesome on bluray, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Iain West - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Specs

Region Code; A only (will not work on standard UK players)
Full Widescreen 1:85:1 (full use of your screen)
Audio; DTS HD MA 5.1

To appriceiate this movie you would've needed to see it the year it came out, the worlds changed...alot, and so has the way we make movies, I seen this on VHS when it was released on video in the mid eighties and it was amazing....kind of lost it's qualities abit but for me it was a great watch especially as it's now in full HD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT Anamorphic!! A great movie though., 20 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wargames [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
The 2001 MGM Home Entertainment issue for Region 2 is not anamorphic, so you will get a letterboxed display if viewing on a widescreen TV. Even the 2008 UK release is the same! You will need to get the 2008 25th Anniversary Fox edition to enjoy the movie in widescreen with full resolution without bars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still worth watching., 20 Jun 2004
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wargames [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
When this movie was released it was very up to date with the technology it featured. In this day of laptop computers and internet access to mobile phones it certainly looks dated but put that aside and you are still left with a really good movie with a plot idea that still works today.
The story revolves around an underachieving, bored teenager (played by a very young Matthew Broderick) whose main interest in life is his computer. From his bedroom he can alter his school grades, reserve flights, download software, all by hacking into other computers. While searching for new games from a software company he comes across a set of titles he assumes are games and decides, with his girlfriend, to play Global Thermonuclear War. Unfortunatly it isn't a software company he has hacked into but a military system and he is playing against NORAD's computer. When the realisation hits that the NORAD computer, when it's turn comes round, will launch atomic missiles for real the race is on the stop the game.
This is still a gripping film that can still raise the tension levels even after several viewings. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Wargames [VHS] [1983] (VHS Tape)
This is one of those films that many of us grew up with in our youth - you know what i mean, it falls into the same category as The Goonies, BMX Bandits and the Indiana Jones and Star Wars trilogies. This was the first film that brought Matthew Broderick to the fore in a relatively simple role. A young computer nerd accidently hacks into the mainframe defence computer in charge of the Defending the USA - nearly beginning World War three. The story may be simple but in many ways like all great films that is what makes it effective. I unreservedly love this film and the scene where Matthew Brodericks dad uses bread to spread butter onto his corn on the cob is a priceless moment in cinema - if you would like a nice Sunday afternoon film then this is the film for you! Hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most memorable films of the 80s, 4 Feb 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wargames [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Looking back on my formative years, several theatrical releases stand out above all others, films such as the Star Wars trilogy (of course), E.T., Grease, and - yes - Wargames. Back in 1983, this film was incredible. Home computers were still mysterious contraptions I knew little about (I doubt I even had my Commodore 64 yet), and here was a guy hacking into other computers to change his grades, play cool new games, and who knew what else. And if that weren't enough, his computer actually talked. Looking back now, I have to wonder how many hackers became hackers because of Wargames. I know the film produced plenty of kids just like me who suddenly wanted a computer more than anything else in the world. Younger generations might not appreciate Wargames as much as I do - many will never have seen an old school computer room, computer tapes, an external modem that actually holds the phone receiver, gigantic floppy disks, or even an old-timey command prompt, nor will they know what it was like to grow up in the shadow of a possible full-scale nuclear was between America and the Evil Empire - but I have to believe they will enjoy this film nonetheless. It had been many years since I last watched Wargames, and I'm actually a little surprised at how well the film holds up all these years later.

In the event of a first strike nuclear attack by the Soviet Union, response time is of the essence if you want to live up to your end of the mutually assured destruction bargain, so it makes sense to let a computer handle as much of the response action as possible - especially when that computer is the W.O.P.R. (War Operation Plan Response). After all, the W.O.P.R. spends all of its time calculating different nuclear war scenarios, and - more importantly - it does not fall subject to the fallibility of human beings, the kind of unpredictability that sees 22% of nuclear launch commanders failing to release their birds during the most realistic of tests. Unfortunately, the W.O.P.R. has a secret backdoor that no one knows about - until, that is, a geeky teenager manages to get in through that backdoor. While trying to hack into a software company's computers to sneak a peek at their upcoming games, David Lightman (Matthew Broderick) manages to gain entry into a much more interesting game server. He and would-be girlfriend Jennifer Mack (Ally Sheedy) get a kick out of targeting American cities for destruction in a game of Global Thermonuclear War, having no idea that the folks at NORAD are staining their shorts over reports of incoming missiles from the Soviet Union - not until the three-minute scare makes the news the next day. When the W.O.P.R. actually calls back, David realizes that the game he started is still running - and that it is much more than just a game.

There's plenty of excitement and suspense as the wargame races toward an end-game scenario which could well result in the very real deaths of hundreds of millions of people. It's going to take more than a kid to convince the brass at NORAD that the incoming missiles they see on all of their screens are actually illusory, especially when that kid is suspected of treasonous espionage. Broderick, Ally Sheedy, and Dabney Coleman turn in excellent performances, but my props have to go to Barry Corbin, whose character, the eminently quotable General Jack Beringer, gets all the best lines, such as "I'd piss on a spark plug if I thought it'd do any good!" and "after very careful consideration, sir, I've come to the conclusion that your new defense system sucks."

Man, I love the 80s - and Wargames is one of the true classics from that greatest of decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wargames [DVD] [1983]
Wargames [DVD] [1983] by John Badham (DVD - 2000)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews