Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Randall & Hopkirk a partnership that is heaven sent.
Meet the detective partners with a differance one of them is dead. Randall and Hopkirk can solve crimes like no other private detectives can. When doors are closed , Marty simply walks right through them. This is one partnership that is heaven sent. The bad guys in these stories don't stand a ghost of a chance. Randall and Hopkirk (Deceased) appearing for the first...
Published on 12 Aug. 2000 by Andrew Kirk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Film print OK but not great but a great series.
Published 7 months ago by Brian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Randall & Hopkirk a partnership that is heaven sent., 12 Aug. 2000
By 
Andrew Kirk "Andy Magic" (Kidderminster,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Randall And Hopkirk (Deceased): Episodes 1-2 [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Meet the detective partners with a differance one of them is dead. Randall and Hopkirk can solve crimes like no other private detectives can. When doors are closed , Marty simply walks right through them. This is one partnership that is heaven sent. The bad guys in these stories don't stand a ghost of a chance. Randall and Hopkirk (Deceased) appearing for the first time on dvd at this great price is a must buy for anyone who enjoys this type of show. Find out how the series began with the first two ever episodes of this great series form the late sixties, which is far better than the recent remake of the series starring Vic and Bob. Mike Pratt and Kenneth Cope work brilliantly together as Jeff Randall and Marty Hopkirk and watching this with the excellent quality of the dvd format brings a whole new life to this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This show has a ghost of a chance. (Lame joke, or what?), 14 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
If you're sick of the Avengers, are bored by the Persuaders and want to tell the Saint to go to heck, try this show! After catching Randall And Hopkirk (Deceased) on Nick-At-Night, I was dissapointed to find out that (1) it's not on video in Austalia (2) They only made 26 episodes. Well, now that it's arrived on DVD over in the UK, I'm afraid I'll have to multi-region my player and buy the discs! Mike Pratt is brilliant as Randall, the detective who always looks like he's been up all night, and Kenneth Cope (who has a VERY big filmography!) plays Hopkirk, who is the comic relief as the detective with one defective - he's a ghost...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats is all about then?, 22 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Well what can I say, Im only 20 but this show is a classic and anyone who thought Reeves and Mortimers was good, well you havent seen nothing yet! This programme is not just good because it stars a talented cast, its also because of the time it was set,in the late 60's and early 70's! The scenes and cars on show add to the classic, nostalgic feel of the programme. You have to see this!! I am hooked and after you see this, I guarantee you will be coming back to get all the other videos!!
"classic viewing!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annette Andre is a hottie, 24 Jun. 2007
By 
Martin Grams, Jr. "cowboyrider" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One aspect of the series is Annette Andre, the co-star of this television program. She is definately eye candy and I recommend the series. Even better, I get to meet Andre personally at the Mid-Atlantic Nostalgia Convention in Aberdeen, Maryland in September. I plan to get an autograph and have my picture taken with her. If you are not familiar with this talented and beautiful actress, this TV series shows just how good she is. Amazon.com has a great price so grab your copy today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detectives aint what they used to be !, 18 Jun. 2002
By 
Mr. Steve Blair "r2driver" (East Neuk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD includes four fantastic episodes from a true classic of TV detective shows.
This original (for its time) format cannot fail to entertain, as Jeff Randall (Mike Pratt), the gumshoe that looks like he has a permanent hangover, is joined by his dearly departed ex-colleague Marty Hopkirk, who helps him solve a series of quirky, sixties-esque mysteries.
Hopkirk, played brilliantly by the wonderful Kenneth Cope, is now a ghost forced to wander the earth for 100 years with only his former partner as company.
Pratt and Cope compliment each other perfectly with, Pratt's dead-pan/sarcastic dialogue countered by Cope's childlike jokes and want for attention. Here in episodes 7-10 both actors are at ease with each other and the plots flow well.
This really is a refreshing change from the run of the mill detective shows from the 60's to present day and is highly recommended.
Reeves & Mortimers remake series pales badly in comparison - if it aint broke, don't fix it.
I hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original and best, 21 Dec. 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't get this confused with the Reeves and Mortimer remake. I'm talking about the original Randall and Hopkirk. Made way back in the '60's, it has built up an almost cult following thanks to reruns. This video contains the first ever episode(1)and the best ever episode(2). Of course, the quality is a bit poor, the acting kinda wooden and the special effects quaintly amusing but c'mon, this was the sixties! If you enjoyed the remake, watch the original! I'd recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic TV that (almost) never dies!, 12 Oct. 2000
In my opinion, this is one of the best shows of the 60's and it's about time it was put on video. If you've never seen it before, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Annette Andre is a hottie, 24 Jun. 2007
By 
Martin Grams, Jr. "cowboyrider" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One aspect of the series is Annette Andre, the co-star of this television program. She is definately eye candy and I recommend the series. Even better, I get to meet Andre personally at the Mid-Atlantic Nostalgia Convention in Aberdeen, Maryland in September. I plan to get an autograph and have my picture taken with her. If you are not familiar with this talented and beautiful actress, this TV series shows just how good she is. Amazon.com has a great price so grab your copy today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Annette Andre is a hottie, 24 Jun. 2007
By 
Martin Grams, Jr. "cowboyrider" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One aspect of the series is Annette Andre, the co-star of this television program. She is definately eye candy and I recommend the series. Even better, I get to meet Andre personally at the Mid-Atlantic Nostalgia Convention in Aberdeen, Maryland in September. I plan to get an autograph and have my picture taken with her. If you are not familiar with this talented and beautiful actress, this TV series shows just how good she is. Amazon.com has a great price so grab your copy today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!!!!, 22 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
Another couple of excellent episodes from Jeff and Marty. The first, 'That's how Murder Snowballs' is a top notch theatre set murder mystery. Highlights include Jeff (with a little help) performing a mindreading act, Marty enjoying a dance on stage with some dancing girls and a young David Jason in a small role. The second, 'Just for the record' is a very silly pretender-to-the-throne episode set around a world beauty contest, though its still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Randall And Hopkirk (Deceased): Episodes 1-2 [DVD] [1969]
Used & New from: £1.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews